We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy rooms, but in need of a refurb” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Skaergaarden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quality Hotel Skaergaarden
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langesund
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comfy rooms, but in need of a refurb”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

I've been staying in 5-6 different rooms at Skjærgården during the last couple of months, most of which were just okay.

Bathrooms are very tired, with chipped tiles, stained toilets and rotten sinks where new porcelain ones haven't been retrofitted atop the old composite ones. The only bathroom amenities available are two plastic cups and two ugly soap dispensers with cheap smelling soap more on par with what you'd get in a hostel. This is sadly the same in all but the most exclusive Choice Hotels, and one of the reasons I use this chain only when absolutely necessary.

The rooms are quite large, and has a properly sized desk, which is great. The decor is dated, and a couple of the rooms I've stayed in had a stale smell to them. The dusty and stiff curtains are hard to completely close, specially in the rooms where one or two curtains seem to be missing altogether.

Bed quality varies from average to great, and pillows are lumpy but comfortable. A few odd things; instead of a good-night treat on your pillow, they've placed a crumpled card with a picture of a tribal girl with a stick through her nose on it, proudly claiming "By staying one night at a Nordic Choice Hotel you will save 100 m2 of rain forest for one year". On the bathroom mirror there's a sticker saying "If mom's angry, I don't dare telling anyone about it (Marius, 8 yrs)" and the weblink to some save-the-children organisation which Choice Hotels apparently support. I don't get it. They're good causes, but I prefer to decide whether to support them or not myself. When I'm staying at hotels I like to relax and forget about what happens elsewhere in the world.

The minibar is now just an empty fridge, if you're lucky enough to get one. The front desk ladies told me they were throwing them out one after another when they malfunction. I usually ask for a room with a fridge and bring my own beer since I don't particularly like paying the exorbitant NOK 85 they charge for a small bottle of Carlsberg, the only beer available in the hotel, in the microscopic makeshift bar which has been erected during the refurb of the 1st floor conference and bar area. The ladies have always arranged a fridge for me, or offered to bring ice to my room if they were unable to.

Breakfast is mostly standard Choice fare, complete with the mandatory eco-food-selection gimmick. Good choice of breads, but I've had to go through 2-3 crispbreads a couple of mornings before I found some that were actually crisp. I haven't seen the egg station which last year's reviewers talk about, the pulpy powdered eggs now available seem like a sad substitute. Coffee is great, but i would love to see some espresso cups. Service could be more attentive, drinks dispensers are often empty, and a few mornings there haven't been any butter available at all, only diet margarine. The dining room itself is very run down. Large patches of carpet have completely disintegrated under the most popular tables by the window, chairs look old and tatty and the tables have been cleaned so many times the lacquer on them have gone ugly and sticky.

Annoyances aside, I find the rooms comfortable, and have always had a good night's sleep at Skjærgården. Maybe it's the fresh sea air and overall laid-back feeling of the place that works it's magic?

The staff is very friendly and helpful, and apart from somewhat overgrown gardens at the back and front of hotel, the general upkeep of the property seems good. Cleanliness is top-notch. I hope the upcoming renovation runs smoothly, and will probably be back with my kids when it's done.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are cooler in the summer, and offer fantastic views. There are usually a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KnutH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_admin, Leder  at Quality Hotel Skaergaarden, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear KnutH,
Thank you for your detailed review on Skjærgården. I see we have a lot of things to improve. I am sorry for the things that makes your stay a mediocre one. I am greatful that you are pointing out where we can mprove ourselves. Some things will take time, but some we can do something about stright away. It is correct about the Mini bars. We will instead have a service at reception. According to time of refurbishment, this will be in place around Christmas. I am happy you heard about the renovation taking place. I hope most of the bathrooms will be included. Conference department, kitchen, restaurant, bar and reception. Outdoor terrace and access to the sea. According to plan everything should be ready for next summer 2015.

I wish you welcome back with your son next year.

Sincerely
Caroline Laurhammer, General Manager at Skjærgården
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    133
    84
    37
    15
See reviews for
193
46
6
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We live in a nearby city and our family of three needed some time off and do things together. We stayed one night, came around 1400 and strolled from the hotel room to the waterpark in the same builing. Obviously, any kids love waterparks. Not too much specialized activities for a 2-year olds, but they have a great time no matter what. We went there sunday morning too, before checkout. The waterpark is old, but I guess they did something right all those years ago. We feel good!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_admin, Leder  at Quality Hotel Skaergaarden, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Ole M,
Thank you so much for posting a review on our page. I greatly appreciate it. I am happy you had a good time with us, and I wish you warm welcome back any time!

Yours Sincerely,
Caroline Laurhammer, General Manager at Resort Skjærgården
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandefjord, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Very good service from the staff, the location that is within walking distance to langesund with conserts is good. The location of the resort it self rigth next to the sea. Good food, the rooms where large as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 201ROJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_admin, Leder  at Quality Hotel Skaergaarden, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear 201ROJ,
Thank you for your visit and for your great review on TripAdvisor.
I am happy you took your time to write us, your feedback is important.
I wish you welcome back to Langesund!

Sincerely,
Caroline Laurhammer, General Manager at Skjærgården
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonsberg, Norway
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My experience were mixed. On the negative side, the building lacks maintenance. On the positive site, the closeness of spa facilities is positive.

I enjoyed the breakfast, and free parking outside. I will come back after they have renovated the building.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank RuneOverland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_admin, Leder  at Quality Hotel Skaergaarden, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear RuneOverland,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. It is much appreciated.
I am happy you know we are renovating, and we are all very happy for the changes we are making. Follow us on Facebook to see photos of the process!

Welcome back next summer!

Sincerely,
Caroline Laurhammer, General Manager at Skjærgården
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Lots of frem parking space and big, clean rooms. Very nice breakfast. Did not try the pool area, so cannot give my opinion on that. Polite and serviceminded staff. Rooms are in good condition, but common areas looks a bit dagen, but not so much that it's something that bothers you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank travelingnorwegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_admin, Leder  at Quality Hotel Skaergaarden, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Travelingnorwegian,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I much appreciate your positive comments on your stay with us.

Welcome back any time!

Sincerely,
Caroline Laurhammer, General Manager at Quality Resort Skjærgården
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Nice hotel with swimmingpark and lots to do for kids. The kids got free icecream in the front desk, so they were very happy :) Good service, but the hotel is very worn, and needs a lot of renovation!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Kristin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_admin, Leder  at Quality Hotel Skaergaarden, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Kristin J,
Thank you for your review on Skjærgården. We appreciate your kind feedback.
We are aware that the Hotel seems a bit worn, and we are doing something about it. We started renovation work this July and will finish summer 2015.
I hope we will see you again, and that you will appreciate the changes we are making.

Sincerely
Caroline Laurhammre, GM at Skjærgården
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Very nice hotel for children families. The ventilation could be better. The room had poor and warm air quality. The bathing was super the day we left, but I was disappointed no pools were open in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Christian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_admin, Leder  at Quality Hotel Skaergaarden, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Christian O,
Thank you for visiting us and for writing us a review. I am happy you had a good stay.
Regarding the ventilation. It is difficult for the system to cool down all the rooms when we have so many days with warm weather as this summer. Thank you for making us aware of the problem.

Wish you a great summer!
Sincerely, Caroline Laurhammer, General Manager at Skjærgården
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langesund
10.1 mi away
Farris Bad Hotel
Farris Bad Hotel
#1 of 5 in Larvik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
16.8 mi away
Kragero Resort
Kragero Resort
#1 of 2 in Kragero Municipality
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
14.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hotel Wassilioff
Hotel Wassilioff
#2 of 5 in Larvik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
14.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Hoyers
Thon Hotel Hoyers
#2 of 5 in Skien
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotell Fritidsparken
Hotell Fritidsparken
#4 of 5 in Skien
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Skaergaarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Skaergaarden

Property: Quality Hotel Skaergaarden
Address: Stathelleveien 35, Langesund 3970, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Telemark > Bamble Municipality > Langesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Skaergaarden 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the 161 pleasant rooms in the hotel have a shower. TV, telephone and minibar. Special family and handicap rooms. The hotel with all facilities hav a lot to offer both family and buisness guests - whether the purpose is recreation, events or conferences. Your room key allows access to all the facilities the large indoor and outdoor park of 4000 m2 - swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam bath, saunas,solariums and waveball. Imagine a swim in 31 C - outdoor - midwinter, when the frost mist surrounds the Langoytangen lighthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Nordic Choice Hotels so you can book your Quality Hotel Skaergaarden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing