We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£150
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
£151
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
£151
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Matthias S
Odder, Denmark

Greedy receptionist

Review of Straand Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Aug 2023
We phoned and the receptionist told us a price/night/room. When checking out, we were presented for another price. Apparently, the receptionist in the morning had told us the "autumn-price", which was about 100 NOK higher than the summer-price. The hotel insisted on receiving the summer price for a few minutes, changing a more or less nice visit into a embarrassing situation - for the greedy receptionist. Even though she admitted the mistake from the hotel, she continued to push me to pay.
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£150
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £151
  • Expedia.com
    £151
  • ZenHotels.com
    £150
0.0 miles from Straand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£169
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £169
  • Hotels.com
    £169
  • Vio.com
    £169
10.8 miles from Straand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£85
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £85
  • ZenHotels.com
10.9 miles from Straand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£59
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £59
  • Agoda.com
    £59
  • Vio.com
    £59
11.2 miles from Straand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Fossum
Booking.com
£55
  • Agoda.com
    £55
12.3 miles from Straand Hotel
Garvikstrondi Camping AS
Booking.com
£59
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    £59
11.3 miles from Straand Hotel
Beachfront
Restaurant
Booking.com
£113
  • Agoda.com
    £113
  • Priceline
11.8 miles from Straand Hotel
Booking.com
£132
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £132
  • Expedia.com
    £126
  • Priceline
    £132
11.9 miles from Straand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vio.com
£132
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • ZenHotels.com
    £132
11.9 miles from Straand Hotel
Vio.com
£74
Fully refundable
    12.8 miles from Straand Hotel
    View more hotels in Vradal
    Reviews (328)
    Filter reviews
    328 results
    Traveller rating
    52
    108
    91
    47
    30
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    52
    108
    91
    47
    30
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews bread dining room cakes lake terrace february clock surroundings
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    3 - 8 of 328 reviews
    Reviewed 23 July 2023 via mobile

    What a charming old style hotel. We used the hotel as a base for hiking in the mountains above lake Nisser. The room was spacious and clean and provided a comfortable nights sleep. The staff were friendly and welcoming. There is a good breakfast buffet.

    Date of stay: September 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank NLaursen
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 8 July 2023

    Straand hotel might be a good stay if you arrive in a big group!
    We booked a demi suite for a comfortable stay but ended up in a group of football players and bicyclists:
    - the corridor was filled by smelly shoes and gear
    - the pool was reserved for on of the groups
    - you need to reserve a table for the breakfast, we were informed and was therefor asked to leave our table …

    Room tip: The system is set up for groups. As an individual you don’t get any treatment.
    Date of stay: July 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Janicke A
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Katrine Straand, General Manager at Straand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2023
    Google Translation

    Takk for din tilbakemelding og synd at dere fortsatt er misfornøyd med oppholdet deres hos oss. Vi har mange individuelle gjester som er fornøyd med sine opphold hos oss og har kun fått hyggelige tilbakemeldinger fra våre øvrige gjester under dette oppholdet.

    Vi satte pris på at du informerte oss under ditt opphold med de tingene dere var misførnøyde med slik at vi hadde mulighet til å rette opp i de tingene. Vi både byttet rom og frokostbord til dere for at dere skulle få ett hyggelig opphold og vi trodde dette ville gjøre oppholdet deres i tråd med deres forventninger. Beklager så mye. Ønsker dere en fortsatt fin ferie.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 July 2023 via mobile

    We visited the Staand Hotel as part of a Norwegian coach tour from England. The staff were very friendly especially in the restaurant. The food was plentiful with a large choice available. Our room was comfortable and pleasant.

    The whole experience was excellent and it is a shame we didn’t have more time there.

    Date of stay: June 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Culture65075944365
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Katrine Straand, General Manager at Straand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2023

    Thank you so much for your good feedback.
    We wish you a good day and we look forward to see you again.
    Best regards Katrine

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 June 2023

    the Straand hotel is a historic hotel. You can see that by decorations and all kind of object from before. By entering the hotel we went to the reception. The staff didn’t seem very interested. Our travel agency had booked two nights including dinner. The (unexperienced) employee asked us if we wanted to have diner. My wife mentioned
    the reservation, including dinner. Another employee corrected and said: she means: at what time do you want dinner. Immediately she mentioned that the first possible time was 19:00 hour. We got our key and went to our room. The room was ok but outdated. The shower leaked and the toilet seat wasn’t fixed properly. An upgrade would have been nice. The surroundings of the hotel were beautiful. A garden with nice seats and a terrace where you could get food and drinks.
    The second day at about 9:30 we went to the reception and asked at what time we could have dinner. The first possible time was eight’o clock. The reason was the arriving of two busses. Apperently they were m9re important than a party of two. The meals that were served was a buffet. Having eaten twice I. The same hotel the only difference in the buffet was a piece of meat one could get. Staff in the dining room were very friendly. Eating breakfast after the bus clients had breakfast meant: boiled eggs weren’t available until you asked. There was very little bread and we also had to ask to get some more. Salmon was poor quality etc. etc.

    Date of stay: June 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank hfeijer2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 11 February 2023

    Straand Hotel in Vrådal is an old venerable hotel with buildings of old and newer category that one would expect for a hotel of that vintage in Vrådal. The check-in, check-out and restaurant staff are very nice and accommodating. We arrived on Thursday, February the 9th and reserved a table to have dinner at the restaurant that evening. See photo taken from the attached menu.
    Our plans were to stay two nights and check-out on February the 11. Unfortunately, our experience in the restaurant on Thursday night was so bad that we decided to check out again already on Friday the 10th. The served Rib Roast was not thoroughly baked and/or roasted properly so the meat was simply difficult to cut and consequently chewy as old "dog meat" to chew. Obviously the unprofessional chefs at work in the kitchen had managed to ruin our dining experience. The coffee they served for dessert was cold. We asked for another hot coffee but that was also cold so we just gave up, paid and left the restaurant. We give the Restaurant the rating "POOR"

    Straand Hotell i Vrådal er et gammelt ærverdig hotell med bygnings masse av gammel og nyere kategori som man kan forvente av et hotell i Vrådal. Betjeningen i innsjekking, utsjekking and restauranten er veldig hyggelige og imøtekommende. Vi ankom torsdag 9. februar og reserverte bord for å spise middag i restauranten samme kveld. Se bilde tatt av vedlagte meny. Våre planer var å være to netter med utsjekking 11. februar. Dessverre ble vår erfaring i restauranten torsdag kveld så dårlig at vi bestemte oss for å sjekke ut igjen allerede fredag 10. Den serverte Ribbe Steken var ikke gjennom stekt og/eller stekt ordentlig så kjøttet var rett og slett vanskelig å skjære opp og følgelig seig som gammelt "hundekjøtt" å tygge. Tydeligvis uprofesjonelle kokker på kjøkkenet som klarte å ødelegge vår middagsopplevelse. Kaffen som de serverte til desserten var kald. Vi ba om å få ny varm kaffe men den var også kald så vi gav bare opp, betalte og forlot restauranten. Restauranten får terningkast 1 eller "DÅRLIG"

    Date of stay: February 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Finn F
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews