We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£150
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
£151
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Dalrx
London, Canada

Rustic charming family run hotel in Telemark

Review of Straand Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Sept 2023
Spent night here in the Telemark area of Norway on our tour. This is a rustic family run hotel. It is on a very picturesque lake and has lots to do around it. Much outdoor activities to suit your content. Room was decent and fit the bill for what you get, I had good sleep and bathroom was clean and decent. We had a great prepared meal buffet they gave us and a selection of very good deserts! Couples or other guests not in a tour, might not get this. Breakfast next day was your standard Scandic fare and did the trick to get going for the day. Staff all seemed helpful and good. I can't complain about stay.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
hytterne
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
0.2 miles from Straand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£150
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
    £151
  • Priceline
0.0 miles from Straand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£169
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £169
  • Hotels.com
    £169
  • Tripadvisor
    £169
10.8 miles from Straand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£85
Fully refundable
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    £85
10.9 miles from Straand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £59
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £59
11.2 miles from Straand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Fossum
Booking.com
£55
  • Agoda.com
    £55
12.3 miles from Straand Hotel
Garvikstrondi Camping AS
Booking.com
£59
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    £59
11.3 miles from Straand Hotel
Beachfront
Restaurant
Booking.com
£113
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £113
11.8 miles from Straand Hotel
Booking.com
£132
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £132
  • Expedia.com
    £126
  • Priceline
11.9 miles from Straand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £132
11.9 miles from Straand Hotel
View more hotels in Vradal
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveller rating
52
108
91
47
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
52
108
91
47
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bread dining room cakes lake terrace february clock surroundings
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 328 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2023

We phoned and the receptionist told us a price/night/room. When checking out, we were presented for another price. Apparently, the receptionist in the morning had told us the "autumn-price", which was about 100 NOK higher than the summer-price. The hotel insisted on receiving the summer price for a few minutes, changing a more or less nice visit into a embarrassing situation - for the greedy receptionist. Even though she admitted the mistake from the hotel, she continued to push me to pay.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Matthias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 July 2023 via mobile

What a charming old style hotel. We used the hotel as a base for hiking in the mountains above lake Nisser. The room was spacious and clean and provided a comfortable nights sleep. The staff were friendly and welcoming. There is a good breakfast buffet.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NLaursen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 July 2023

Straand hotel might be a good stay if you arrive in a big group!
We booked a demi suite for a comfortable stay but ended up in a group of football players and bicyclists:
- the corridor was filled by smelly shoes and gear
- the pool was reserved for on of the groups
- you need to reserve a table for the breakfast, we were informed and was therefor asked to leave our table …

Room tip: The system is set up for groups. As an individual you don’t get any treatment.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Janicke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katrine Straand, General Manager at Straand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2023
Google Translation

Takk for din tilbakemelding og synd at dere fortsatt er misfornøyd med oppholdet deres hos oss. Vi har mange individuelle gjester som er fornøyd med sine opphold hos oss og har kun fått hyggelige tilbakemeldinger fra våre øvrige gjester under dette oppholdet.

Vi satte pris på at du informerte oss under ditt opphold med de tingene dere var misførnøyde med slik at vi hadde mulighet til å rette opp i de tingene. Vi både byttet rom og frokostbord til dere for at dere skulle få ett hyggelig opphold og vi trodde dette ville gjøre oppholdet deres i tråd med deres forventninger. Beklager så mye. Ønsker dere en fortsatt fin ferie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2023 via mobile

We visited the Staand Hotel as part of a Norwegian coach tour from England. The staff were very friendly especially in the restaurant. The food was plentiful with a large choice available. Our room was comfortable and pleasant.

The whole experience was excellent and it is a shame we didn’t have more time there.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Culture65075944365
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katrine Straand, General Manager at Straand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2023

Thank you so much for your good feedback.
We wish you a good day and we look forward to see you again.
Best regards Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2023

the Straand hotel is a historic hotel. You can see that by decorations and all kind of object from before. By entering the hotel we went to the reception. The staff didn’t seem very interested. Our travel agency had booked two nights including dinner. The (unexperienced) employee asked us if we wanted to have diner. My wife mentioned
the reservation, including dinner. Another employee corrected and said: she means: at what time do you want dinner. Immediately she mentioned that the first possible time was 19:00 hour. We got our key and went to our room. The room was ok but outdated. The shower leaked and the toilet seat wasn’t fixed properly. An upgrade would have been nice. The surroundings of the hotel were beautiful. A garden with nice seats and a terrace where you could get food and drinks.
The second day at about 9:30 we went to the reception and asked at what time we could have dinner. The first possible time was eight’o clock. The reason was the arriving of two busses. Apperently they were m9re important than a party of two. The meals that were served was a buffet. Having eaten twice I. The same hotel the only difference in the buffet was a piece of meat one could get. Staff in the dining room were very friendly. Eating breakfast after the bus clients had breakfast meant: boiled eggs weren’t available until you asked. There was very little bread and we also had to ask to get some more. Salmon was poor quality etc. etc.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hfeijer2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews