We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
£151
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
CMP

Cozy and quaint

Review of Straand Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Oct 2023
Although a little dated it is cozy and quaint with fantastic views of the lake and mountain across the street. Good buffet breakfast. Bed and pillows very comfortable. Relaxing and quiet location away from the hustle and bustle of any city/tourist.
Date of stay: September 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Vrådal Panorama
Lol.travel
    0.0 miles from Straand Hotel
    Free parking
    hytterne
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    0.2 miles from Straand Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View from our cabin
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    1.4 miles from Straand Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Living room
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    0.5 miles from Straand Hotel
    Tripadvisor
    £151
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      £151
    0.0 miles from Straand Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Tripadvisor
    £169
    Fully refundable
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      £169
    10.8 miles from Straand Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Tripadvisor
    £126
    Fully refundable
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      £126
    11.9 miles from Straand Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Dronebilde av seljordsvannet
    Vio.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £132
    11.9 miles from Straand Hotel
    Flotte rom
    Tripadvisor
    £118
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      £118
    15.1 miles from Straand Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Vradal
    Reviews (328)
    Filter reviews
    328 results
    Traveller rating
    52
    108
    91
    47
    30
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    52
    108
    91
    47
    30
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews bread dining room cakes lake terrace february clock surroundings
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 328 reviews
    Reviewed 28 September 2023

    Spent night here in the Telemark area of Norway on our tour. This is a rustic family run hotel. It is on a very picturesque lake and has lots to do around it. Much outdoor activities to suit your content. Room was decent and fit the bill for what you get, I had good sleep and bathroom was clean and decent. We had a great prepared meal buffet they gave us and a selection of very good deserts! Couples or other guests not in a tour, might not get this. Breakfast next day was your standard Scandic fare and did the trick to get going for the day. Staff all seemed helpful and good. I can't complain about stay.

    Date of stay: September 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Dalrx
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 22 August 2023

    We phoned and the receptionist told us a price/night/room. When checking out, we were presented for another price. Apparently, the receptionist in the morning had told us the "autumn-price", which was about 100 NOK higher than the summer-price. The hotel insisted on receiving the summer price for a few minutes, changing a more or less nice visit into a embarrassing situation - for the greedy receptionist. Even though she admitted the mistake from the hotel, she continued to push me to pay.

    Date of stay: August 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Matthias S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 23 July 2023 via mobile

    What a charming old style hotel. We used the hotel as a base for hiking in the mountains above lake Nisser. The room was spacious and clean and provided a comfortable nights sleep. The staff were friendly and welcoming. There is a good breakfast buffet.

    Date of stay: September 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank NLaursen
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 8 July 2023

    Straand hotel might be a good stay if you arrive in a big group!
    We booked a demi suite for a comfortable stay but ended up in a group of football players and bicyclists:
    - the corridor was filled by smelly shoes and gear
    - the pool was reserved for on of the groups
    - you need to reserve a table for the breakfast, we were informed and was therefor asked to leave our table …

    Room tip: The system is set up for groups. As an individual you don’t get any treatment.
    Date of stay: July 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Janicke A
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Katrine Straand, General Manager at Straand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2023
    Google Translation

    Takk for din tilbakemelding og synd at dere fortsatt er misfornøyd med oppholdet deres hos oss. Vi har mange individuelle gjester som er fornøyd med sine opphold hos oss og har kun fått hyggelige tilbakemeldinger fra våre øvrige gjester under dette oppholdet.

    Vi satte pris på at du informerte oss under ditt opphold med de tingene dere var misførnøyde med slik at vi hadde mulighet til å rette opp i de tingene. Vi både byttet rom og frokostbord til dere for at dere skulle få ett hyggelig opphold og vi trodde dette ville gjøre oppholdet deres i tråd med deres forventninger. Beklager så mye. Ønsker dere en fortsatt fin ferie.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 July 2023 via mobile

    We visited the Staand Hotel as part of a Norwegian coach tour from England. The staff were very friendly especially in the restaurant. The food was plentiful with a large choice available. Our room was comfortable and pleasant.

    The whole experience was excellent and it is a shame we didn’t have more time there.

    Date of stay: June 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Culture65075944365
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Katrine Straand, General Manager at Straand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2023

    Thank you so much for your good feedback.
    We wish you a good day and we look forward to see you again.
    Best regards Katrine

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews