We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eidfjord Municipality
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vik Pensjonat og Hytter
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great choice”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed here for one week and had a very good experience. Nice room, nice people, excellent food, good breakfast. You won't go wrong with staying at this hotel. Especially food was beyond our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
214 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012 via mobile

This B + B is well situated and a good choice in Eidfiord. Eidfiord itself is a beautiful area with great walks and hikes in the area not to mention the spectacular views that abound. We stayed in a family room which actually had 2 bedrooms and a small kitchen and it was much more space than we had anticipated. At around $250/ night is is quite expensive but certainly in line with other accommodations in Norway. Breakfast is excellent. The hosts though somewhat reserved are very accommodating. The restaurant is adequate though expensive with entrees around $30 each and of acceptable quality.
All in all I recommend this hotel and I especially recommend a visit to Eidfiord.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
Thank smallface1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coruña
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Cosy and familiar hotel, very well located to visit the norwegian fiords and waterfalls. Good breakfast.Very clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cricrisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed here with the intention of visiting the nearby fjords and waterfalls. The location was excellent, right on the harbour, with supermarkets and the bank only a minute's walk away. We stayed in a lovely double ensuite room (room 1) with a balcony. Generous buffet breakfast but expensive restaurant in the hotel (there are very few restaurants in Eidfjord). The room itself was very pretty but overall we considered the guesthouse to be expensive. It seemed that a large driver of the price was the location. Given how expensive Norway is, in retrospect we should have booked something in Ovre Eidfjord, which is only a few minutes drive away but appeared to have cheaper B&Bs.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

An extremely cute pension in beautiful Eidfjord. We had room 1, which has a balcony and a view of the mountains. Amazing! It's also (1) a short distance from the boat dock where the tourist ferries drop you off, (2) across the street from the grocery store for cheaper lunches and great for picking up something before a hike, and (3) its restaurant is very good (although pricey like all restaurants in Norway) and you have to eat early for a hot meal -- common across all Norway. Hot meals are eaten around 5-6pm, although restaurants in cities are open later (some only until 8pm).

Aside from the great views and locations, the breakfast is included and is quite good--you eat in a separate room from the cafe which is quite cozy.

The family who run the pension speak excellent English and are very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jande_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

We stayed at the Vik Pensjonat for one night and thoroughly enjoyed it. The small apartment was lovely. The location is great, right in the centre of Eidfjord village. We ate at the restaurant downstairs and the food was delicious. It felt very homely.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cailin-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eidfjord Municipality
0.2 mi away
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel
#1 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss
#2 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
8.7 mi away
Strand Fjordhotel
Strand Fjordhotel
#2 of 2 in Ulvik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Fossli Hotel
Fossli Hotel
#3 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
15.6 mi away
Utne Hotel
Utne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Utne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
3.5 mi away
Eidfjord Gjestgiveri
Eidfjord Gjestgiveri
#3 of 4 in Eidfjord Municipality
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vik Pensjonat og Hytter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vik Pensjonat og Hytter

Property: Vik Pensjonat og Hytter
Address: Simadalsvegen 10, 5783, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Hardanger > Eidfjord Municipality
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Eidfjord Municipality
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Vik Pensjonat og Hytter in the centre of Eidfjord. We have cosy cabins and rooms for 2-6 persons. We serve breakfast, lunch, and dinner in the cafeteria with seats for 50 persons. There is also a large outdoor area where we serve food and refreshments. Short distance to various services. Eidfjord can offer several activities by the fjord or in the mountain. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vik Pensjonat Og Hytter Norway/Hordaland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing