We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think run-down Petticoat Junction”
Review of Fossli Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fossli Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2007

We stayed here because the Quality Inn in Eidfjord was booked and we heard the view was beautiful. Realistically the view is beautiful everywhere in Norway. The hotel was not clean, is extremely old, and way out of Eidfjord even though it comes up under Eidfjord hotels . It is at least a 1/2 hour away. The construction is so poor, the walls are so thin, we could hear the people in the next room talking with low voices and we heard them snoring all night as if they were in our room. I am not exaggerating. We complained and the owner chuckled and said he knows, but they can't make any improvements because they have landmark status. The food in the restaurant is bad. We sent most of it back. There is nowhere else within 20 minutes to eat. You wouldn't want to drive this very curvy mountain road at night to go somewhere else anyway. I would never spend another night there even if it was free .

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank mlading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 92 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Norway
18
Reviewed 21 July 2005

The hotel is quite nice and simple - clean & cosy - but the atmosphere and the surroundings are just stunning! The view of Vøringfossen is spectacular. The hotel is not too big (30 rooms), so you get that "feel like home"-feeling. The staff is friendly and helpful and the food is good. Enjoy your stay at Fossli! We loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank chkari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlfredoFirenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: arrivare prima delle 19:00 e prenotare la cena
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ric1957pavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ottobrerosso79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: לבקש חדר עם נוף למפל.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miki_Glaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eidfjord Municipality
6.8 mi away
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel
#1 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
143 reviews
7 mi away
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss
#2 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
290 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hardanger Gjestehus
Hardanger Gjestehus
#1 of 2 in Ulvik
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Utne Hotel
Utne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Utne
134 reviews
15 mi away
Strand Fjordhotel
Strand Fjordhotel
#2 of 2 in Ulvik
70 reviews
4.5 mi away
Eidfjord Gjestgiveri
Eidfjord Gjestgiveri
#2 of 4 in Eidfjord Municipality
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fossli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fossli Hotel

Address: Voringsfossen, 5783, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Hardanger > Eidfjord Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Eidfjord Municipality
Price Range: £132 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fossli Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fossli Hotel is situated at the innermost end of the Hardanger Fjord. The hotel affords a magnificent view over the Mabo Valley and the 182m Voringsfoss Waterfall. The hotel is tastefully and comfortably designed by the famous Norwegian architect Konow Lund. It was build in 1891, which was 25 years before the road was build, and all the materials were carried on horseback to the top. Edvard Grieg used to be a regular guest at Fossli Hotel and wrote his Opus 66 here. Fossil Hotel today offers 60 rooms, a nice restaurant, a café, and a fully licensed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fossli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fossli Hotel Eidfjord
Fossli Hotel Norway/Hordaland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing