We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! From the reception to the room and beyond....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Amanda
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Haugesund
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The first impression was of a well maintained, well presented and much cared for hotel. The second impression supported the first impression and things just improved. The room was spacious, clean and in our case a treat! We had a corner suite with views, a decent TV and a HUGE very comfortable bed. All the rooms are named after films which add a certain level of interest, whether you know the film or not. I would have loved to poke my head into all the rooms to see how they varied, but perhaps next time!
Included in the price is a delicious Norwegian style breakfast. I can recommend the home-made crispbread for instance. In the afternoon, waffles, soured cream (rømme) was served to stave off the afternoon hunger. (PS - the recipe was not quite right). This was followed by supper included in the price, which at times was excellent and on other days OK.
The underground garage is safe as houses and a bit of a challenge, but get there mid day and it is easy
Probably not the last time we visit :-)

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

Pleasant location on the harbour and we had been allocated underground parking for our classic cars. We stayed in Casino Royale, a nice enough room with an unexciting outlook. It had disabled access and a large shower/wetroom. The staff were extremely helpful and charming. Breakfast was OK and the free 24 coffee and tea and the light evening buffet and afternoon tea were a nice touch. There was great emphasis on welcome and service. I celebrated my birthday while there and asked if I could have a drinks party - the Clarion in Bergen had rung ahead to arrange it for me and when I arrived I was shown a room which had lots of balloons as a table centre. I thought it had been left over from a previous event and didn't inspect it. It was only when the staff mentioned it that I realised it was a present for me, attached to a small bottle of wine with a birthday card. Nibbles were provided and the chef who was shorthanded was very apologetic about the need for us to serve our own fizz. We all had a very pleasant time. I was also very grateful to the hotel manager who, when we returned from a meal at the Italian restaurant just a few doors away, learned that I had been unable to download a document which was on my memory stick. The receptionist had already tried hard but the hotel's system was designed to prevent the introduction of unapproved material. The manager used his personal computer to download my document and printed it for me. It was an estimate for work on a house in France which I needed to approve by signing before posting it with a cheque to ensure the work would start at our chosen time. Staff helped with an envelope and a stamp and directed me to the post office the following morning and I was much relieved. They also provided me with a cinnamon bun with a candle on it at breakfast - my birthday was actually on that day which may have been given away by the hat decorated with candles which my friends insisted I wear! We left with a very high opinion of the staff who made every effort to make us feel at home. The manager also introduced us to the hotel's loyalty card.

Room Tip: If you want a view you should ask for one when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XKSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

A two-day stay at this greatly located hotel in Haugesund had my girlfriend and I deciding to revisit both Haugesund and the hotel again soon. The staff proved welcoming and friendly, service-minded and always smiling. We even had the Hotel-manager serving us at the front desk! From the receptionist at the front desk to the kitchen staff cleaning tables in the dining area, everyone shared a smile and a polite greeting. The hotel provided parking for our car in their cellular parking area which made it easy to access the car when needed, and only a short walk to the check-in with our luggage. The hotel has a newly renovated part, which we were lucky to stay in. A large modern room overlooking the inner pier and seaway passing underneath the Risoey bridge. The bed were immensely comfortable, the room smart and modern equipped with a large bath with both a tub and shower. (The hotels' older rooms certainly deserve having the older rooms refurbished to the standard we experienced.) The evening meal included in the room fee, was a full warm meal with optional choices and even dessert. The atmosphere at the hotel was impeccable; calm, relaxing and inviting. Enjoying a glass of wine at the roofed outside area during the evening, watching the city life after the evening meal, is a great starting point for a night out or a walk in the city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttorable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed here for a weekend with the family. Very friendly and helpful staff. We had a nice movie themed room on the 5th floor.
The included breakfast was very nice, with a good selection of everything you'd desire in the morning. Also had umbrellas for borrow during the occasional rainfall.

Room Tip: Movie themed ones on the 5th floor were very nice! Inwards facing rooms were nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The location is excellent: right by the harbor, and a nice pedestrian street alongside, and right in the city center (the main shopping street is right behind). The service was excellent and the room very spacious and very clean, although it does need some updating. The reception area is very nice and cosy, and the little cafe area outside in front of the marina too. You can rent DVD's for the night for free and the whole hotel is themed on movies, in honor of the Film festival that takes place in the town each year.

Room Tip: Request for a view of the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaThomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This hotel is really nicely situated by the water in Haugesund. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast and complementary evening buffet are both good. It is getting a bit old and the TV in particular brings back memories of the 1990s.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David190479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Can't say enough good things about this hotel !! Clean, friendly, staff could not do enough for us! Buffet brekkie and supper were varied, fresh, and great choice. Home-made breads out of oven made it extra special. We had bikes and big bags, and they did all they could to help. Ideal location for tourism, boat rides, walking the city, etc. Make your own waffle bar was a pure treat and special addition... Tea/Coffee and fruit available all day, with a filtered water station to keep us all hydrated!! Amazing views from our window, but the night life made it a bit noisy on the weekends. That would be my ONLY complaint, but the other things were so good I could only rate this place as my #1 destination of travel over the years!! The Norwegians are amazing people, the city itself full of happy helpful people!! Defo coming back!!

Room Tip: View over Quay is spectacular, but can be noisy... A/C in rooms was lovely, as it kept it fresh
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malla H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Amanda, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thank you so much for your great review. This really warms a managers heart.
Hope to see you next year!

Sincerely
Malla Holden
Hotel Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haugesund hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Haugesund
Scandic Haugesund
#2 of 8 in Haugesund
245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banken Hotel
Banken Hotel
#3 of 8 in Haugesund
90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Maritim
Scandic Maritim
#4 of 8 in Haugesund
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Saga
Thon Hotel Saga
#6 of 8 in Haugesund
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neptun Haugesund
Hotel Neptun Haugesund
#5 of 8 in Haugesund
71 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson BLU Hotel Haugesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Amanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Amanda

Address: Smedasundet 93, Haugesund 5527, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Haugesund
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Haugesund
Price Range: £104 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Amanda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Amanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Haugesund
Haugesund Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing