We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Hotel, well decorated, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Amanda
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Haugesund
Certificate of Excellence
Haugesund, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Central Hotel, well decorated, but...”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

+Room was very clean and nicely decorated and well equipped.
+Bed was very comfy.
+They do include free supper and snacks/waffels/tea/coffee throughout the day.
+The hotel is central in town centre and next to the fast boat that travels to Stavanger.
+Has a good gym.
+Helpful and friendly reseptionist.
-As vegan business travelers, we were very dissapointed with the choice of food available. -Basically if you are vegan you could have jam on bread, cereal or fruit. (They did have soymilk)
-The supper had alot of salad choices with rice and potatoes, but again not any organic signs were visable.
-Vegan vegetable soup could have been offered at supper time.
-Vegan waffels could have been offered throughout the day and during supper time. This way everyone benefits.
-Room was very nice with a view of the waterfront, but we slept only 3 hours because of club music until 03 in the morning on a Thursday night.
-The buffet was small, there was hardly any organic signs even thou the hotel prides themselves on offering organic options.
-They had 3 different chicken hen period eggs: fried, scrambled and boiled, but no vegan options like beans or potatoes. Granted they did have some fried vegetables, but everyone was using the same spoon that was used for hen period scramble eggs, which grossed us out.
-The morning staff in the restaurant did not seem like morning people :)
-When the breakfast restaurant was busy, we felt cramped.

Room Tip: If you want a goodnight sleep, ask for a room away from the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EthicalEngineers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    129
    38
    11
    4
See reviews for
46
101
23
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

it was a good hotel, very clean, staff was very friendly and it`s location on the river was great for walking or running. not sure how great it would be on the weekend as the promenade is all night clubs but on a Monday it was really good

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Tripping59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillesand, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Came in late and was asked if I wanted some food although the resturant was closed. Good service. Served waffles when I got back from work. Close to restaurants. Gym is small but usable. One tip is to enjoy some fresh air on the balcony of the gym in between sessions. Great view of the canals from there. Remember to ask the staff to heat the sauna if you want to use it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyCappNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Very nice hotel in a stunning waterfront location in the center of Haugesund city. Good and varied breakfast. The room was clean and nicely decorated. I slept very well in the bed that had a good size. Enough pillows and towels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank MeretheBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is the hotel that I have received the best service on.
Had to Wade up during the night for work, and they mada me sandwiches on very short notice. Even when their parking garage was full, they made arrangement for me anyway. Will definetly come bak here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Herman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Great rooms, fantastic food for everyone, excellent service and not expensive at all. Stayed for three days, and it was an absolute pleasure. This is my 6th year in a row at Amanda, and it just keep getting better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank 8832014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The Clarion Collection Amanda is still a very good hotel, this time around I got a newly refurbished room. Beautifully done, lovely high ceiling giving the room volume. Sadly a few minor details were not as expected, this was pointed out to the management, and I hope they will fix it. My main disappointment this time was the breakfast buffet which was well below expectations. Slow or no refills on the different food items and on top of that a limited selection all together. Disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnt78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haugesund
0.2 mi away
Scandic Haugesund
Scandic Haugesund
#2 of 8 in Haugesund
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Maritim
Scandic Maritim
#4 of 8 in Haugesund
374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neptun Haugesund
Hotel Neptun Haugesund
#5 of 8 in Haugesund
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Saga
Thon Hotel Saga
#6 of 8 in Haugesund
100 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson BLU Hotel Haugesund
4.9 mi away
Park Inn Haugesund Airport
Park Inn Haugesund Airport
#1 of 2 in Avaldsnes
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Amanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Amanda

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Amanda
Address: Smedasundet 93, Haugesund 5527, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Haugesund
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Haugesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Amanda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Amanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Haugesund
Haugesund Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing