We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair nights sleep” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thon Hotel Saga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thon Hotel Saga
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Haugesund
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Fair nights sleep”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stopped for two nights in march for a business trip. Rooms nice, clean and comfortable but not for the claustrophobic. In general the staff were friendly and helpful but did not have an adapter when I asked, but to be fair this was my fault for forgetting mine, however in other hotels I have known them to hold a few just for such eventualities.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    43
    27
    10
    0
See reviews for
4
19
9
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Perfetctly okay hotel, nice rooms, with a pretty good size for one person. Probably a bit narrow for two people in a standard DBL. VERY nice staff, and a good breakfast buffet. Good, quiet location. Nice exercise facilities.
My biggest issue with this hotel, is that I had to keep the water running for AT LEAST 5 minutes, before I got hot water in the shower! This was every day, for FOUR DAYS! The other people I was travelling with, experienced the same thing.
There was also a lot of dust in the room, especially on the hair dryer, for some reason..
I stayed on the 5th floor, wich has a lot of smoking rooms. For a non smoker, this was not very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a non smoking floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oleanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

This hotel is a bit like an old lady... showing some wrinkles, but still going strong. I stayed at the hotel perhaps a dozen times. I especially like the friendly staff are.Central location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper_Stefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

I really stayed here in june last year, but that option was not available for me to choose. I stayed her solo as I was attending a course in Haugesund. I stayed for 2 nights. The staff greated me very nicely and helped me any way they could. The room was clean and well kept, as was the rest of the hotel. And the beds were great, cant remember sleeping that well anywhere else. I had an excellent view to the water. The only downside I can think of is that it was quite som noise at night, but thtas what you get for a good location. You could see that the hotel kept the original style from when it was buildt, but I found that cozy. The breakfast was great and I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: View to the water. 3rd floor or up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viccy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostfold, Norway
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed here one night because I had a one day treatment at the local hospital and it was very important to have a good night's sleep. Our room was separated from the lift by one room and still we could hear noise from the old-fashioned elevator. We checked in around 18:00 and could hear it would be a problem right away and called the front desk to change, but no other rooms were available. We were woken up several times until 12:30 and then again starting at 04:45. Breakfast was just ok. Our room faced a brick building which may have been a school. Location was good for us because it is close to the hospital.

Room Tip: several rooms away from lift, front of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ontheroad5056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2008

I was booked into this hotel when I was in town for a job interview. I really liked the hotel. The staff were so nice and the place had a great atmosphere.

I stayed in a single room on the top floor. The room had a great view of the main shopping street and down to the sea. The room could have been in better condition but it was clean and had everything I needed. They also provide (or provided at least) free wi-fi access.

As for location, the hotel is right in the middle of Haugesund so everything you could need is within a few minutes' walk.

I would recommend that anyone stays here although the other hotel in the chain (the Rica Marit) is right down on the water and looks really nice. My guess is that it's more expensive though.

  • Liked — The staff and the view.
  • Disliked — The room could have been in better condition but this wouldn't put me off.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank david1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
159 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2008

We decided to book a deluxe-room at this hotel, and payed NOK 1.860 for one night. The deluxe-room was a huge room (altogether ca 50 sq.m.) with large windows, carpet on the floor, sofa and two chairs, conference-table for eight people and a desk. The bedroom was separated from the large room, but had no windows. It seems to me that this room normally is used in connection to the conference-section, which was very close to the room - e.g. for group-meetings. The luxury-part of the deluxe-room consisted of more space than in a ordinary room. We didn't sleep well, due to the lack of fresh air, and the heat of the bedroom (but the bed itself was good). The bathroom was nice-looking, but small. Luxury-part consisted of some vanity-stuff on the shelf. The shower seemed to have an annoying water-saving-device on it - something that shouldn't be necessary in this part of the world. The breakfast was good. All in all, a disappointing stay, mainly due to the lack of value for money. We had expected more for this price and for the luxury-tag they had put on the room - at least we would want a bedroom with a window or with air-conditioning.

  • Liked — Good bed.
  • Disliked — Bedroom with no window, poor value for money.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ragnhild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haugesund hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Haugesund
Scandic Haugesund
#2 of 8 in Haugesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Maritim
Scandic Maritim
#4 of 8 in Haugesund
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Neptun Haugesund
Hotel Neptun Haugesund
#6 of 8 in Haugesund
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Amanda
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Banken
2.2 mi away
Radisson BLU Hotel Haugesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Saga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Saga

Property: Thon Hotel Saga
Address: Skippergata 11, Haugesund 5527, Norway (Formerly Rica Saga Hotel Haugesund)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Haugesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Haugesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Saga 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Thon Hotel Saga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing