We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay”
Review of Thon Hotel Saga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thon Hotel Saga
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Haugesund
Reviewed 16 August 2008

I was booked into this hotel when I was in town for a job interview. I really liked the hotel. The staff were so nice and the place had a great atmosphere.

I stayed in a single room on the top floor. The room had a great view of the main shopping street and down to the sea. The room could have been in better condition but it was clean and had everything I needed. They also provide (or provided at least) free wi-fi access.

As for location, the hotel is right in the middle of Haugesund so everything you could need is within a few minutes' walk.

I would recommend that anyone stays here although the other hotel in the chain (the Rica Marit) is right down on the water and looks really nice. My guess is that it's more expensive though.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank david1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2008

We decided to book a deluxe-room at this hotel, and payed NOK 1.860 for one night. The deluxe-room was a huge room (altogether ca 50 sq.m.) with large windows, carpet on the floor, sofa and two chairs, conference-table for eight people and a desk. The bedroom was separated from the large room, but had no windows. It seems to me that this room normally is used in connection to the conference-section, which was very close to the room - e.g. for group-meetings. The luxury-part of the deluxe-room consisted of more space than in a ordinary room. We didn't sleep well, due to the lack of fresh air, and the heat of the bedroom (but the bed itself was good). The bathroom was nice-looking, but small. Luxury-part consisted of some vanity-stuff on the shelf. The shower seemed to have an annoying water-saving-device on it - something that shouldn't be necessary in this part of the world. The breakfast was good. All in all, a disappointing stay, mainly due to the lack of value for money. We had expected more for this price and for the luxury-tag they had put on the room - at least we would want a bedroom with a window or with air-conditioning.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ragnhild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Minneapolis, Minnesota
25
Reviewed 17 June 2006

We stayed at the Rica Saga in Haugesund on June 9 & 10, 2006. We couldn't find any reviews on the hotel so weren't expecting much. The staff was so friendly and the room was very nice. It had hardwood floors and a great glass shower and heated bathroom floors. The staff was so helpful and answered all of our questions. The continental breakfast was very good--had lots of variety.

The hotel was in a nice location---only a block or two away from the harbor and right in the downtown shopping area. We did a lot of our souvenir shopping there---it had a very small town atmosphere with lots of people in the shops on a Saturday morning.

We had a rental car and drove from Oslo to Haugesund in one day. A most harrowing experience on very winding, narrow roads. I would not recommend putting on so many miles in one day. We are used to freeway driving in the U.S. so didn't know it would take so long. But what a beautiful drive----Norway is awesome!!!

We visited long lost relatives in nearby Etne. It was a trip we will never forget.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gkvam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Silje B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haugesund hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Haugesund
Scandic Haugesund
#2 of 8 in Haugesund
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Maritim
Scandic Maritim
#4 of 8 in Haugesund
418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Neptun Haugesund
Hotel Neptun Haugesund
#5 of 8 in Haugesund
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Banken Hotel
Banken Hotel
#3 of 8 in Haugesund
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Amanda
2.2 mi away
Radisson BLU Hotel Haugesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Saga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Saga

Address: Skippergata 11, Haugesund 5527, Norway (Formerly Rica Saga Hotel Haugesund)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Haugesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Haugesund
Price Range: £76 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Saga 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thon Hotel Saga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing