We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, beatifully placed down by the docks”
Review of Scandic Maritim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Maritim
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Haugesund
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel is very central, looks nice, has entrance right by the canal, and a view over said canal. Good breakfast, lots to choose from. This hotel chain is known for good food. I can stay here again :)

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the seaside, you have something nice to look at in the evening..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astrid Helen O, Front Office Manager at Scandic Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Hi Glenn

First of all we would like to thank you for taking your time to write a review after your stay at Rica Maritim Hotel.
We are very proud over the hotel's location and it is very nice to hear that you had a nice stay with us and enjoyed the view. To serve a good and healthy breakfast with a wide sortiment is something we have in our heart, so very nice that you liked it.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to us, Glenn.

Best Regards,

Astrid Helen Ove
Front Desk Manager
Rica Maritim Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed here many many times as the company i work for is just around the corner ( but i still live in the UK ).
Very nice hotel with some great rooms with views ( they also have older rooms which could do with an update )
The bar is nice enough and breakfast is 2nd to none.
The local area has lots to do and your right in the heart of things in this hotel !!!! Really nice in the summer as winter can be a little quiet.
The bars dont get busy till after 23.30...so dont look for a early drink if your going to make a night of it.
The price for a local beer in a bar can cost around £7 "be aware" but this is Norway and this is a great Hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pspeed19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astrid Helen O, Front Office Manager at Scandic Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear guest

First of all, we would like to thank you for using som of your time to give us feedback after your stay at Rica Maritim Hotel.

It is so nice to read that you enjoyed our breakfast which we are very proud off. I see you refer to the bars in Haugesund generally when they are getting busy. Our bar depends on what guests we have at the hotell. Sometimes it is quite busy allready at 7 pm and sometimes it is later, it all depends on what groups we have. And, don't forget that we have a live pianoplayer six nights a week :)

We are looking forward to welcome you back to us.

Best Regards,

Astrid Helen Ove
Front Desk Manager
Rica Maritim Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed here before the Ironman 70.3 and was amazed by the hotel's great location. They even opened the buffet early the day of the race so that competitors could eat something before racing. The room was comfortable even though we were given a twin instead of double room. I also find the pillows they use I Norwegian hotels a bot weird. All in all a very comfortable hotel. Perfect for the race. Next I me I a up from Australia I will stay here. Tusen takk

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tford14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astrid Helen O, Front Office Manager at Scandic Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear guest.

First of all we would like to thank you for using your time writing a review about us after your stay at Rica Maritim Hotel.

The Ironman 70.3 is an excellent race, and I'm happy to hear that you were one of the racers last year. We know how important it is to eat correctly before a competition, so we make many exceptions in both breakfasttime and sortiment on raceday.

A tip for doubleroom; Write a note to the hotel when you book that you would like a doublebed. If you had given the front desk a heads up with the twin bed they would have tried everything to change your room. In all Rica Hotels, we actually have a pillow menu. We have five different pillows to choose from if your not satisfied with the one you have. Next time you are at a hotel - call the front desk if there is any problem at all. They will love to make your stay even better.

We are loooking forward to welcome you back another time. Velkommen :)

Best Regards,

Astrid Helen Ove
Front Desk Manager
Rica Maritim Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The breakfast is excellent. A lot of healthy food, fruits, and everything you need to have a good beginning on the day.
Friendly and helpful staff. The hotel and the rooms are old, not too pleased with the shower. Very good bed, and it was easy to get a good nights sleep.
Walking distance to shops, the bridges and viewing points.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AGV-Bergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astrid Helen O, Front Office Manager at Scandic Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear guest.

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay at Rica Maritim Hotel.

You are correct, some of our rooms are older then others. We recently renovated one floor in one wing and there is more to come. It would have been mostly helpful for us if you said what you didn't like with the shower -in that way we could have looked into it.

Nice to read that you had a good night sleep. We use the best quality in beds and yes, they are very comfortable. We are proud of our breakfast - and our staff - so very nice to hear you experienced the quality we have at our hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you back to Rica Maritim Hotel.

Best Regards,

Astrid Helen Ove
Front Desk Manager
Rica Maritim Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The hotel is very well maintained and rooms look quite new. Very comfortable bed with extra pillows available ;) Big flat screen tv, balcony with harbor view (in some rooms), ironing facilities + coffee/tea in the room. Bathroom with the shower is also good and has all you need. Heated floor is a plus.
Great variety for breakfast! Different types of warm food, bred, fruits, fresh fruit juices, desserts. Just remember it finishes at 10:00 on weekdays.
The hotel also offers nice bar and conference facilities.
You will enjoy staying there! Ideal for short business trip.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaScorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We were staying at the hotel for a conference. We were the only couple attending the conference (my partner was the organiser, and i was the event photographer) and the hotel put us into a beautiful suite they have. It was very chic! I believe i counted 11 places to sit in one room. But even if you do not get a suite. This hotel is a great location for conferences, weddings and so on. There are many restaurants on site, the staff is all very friendly and multilingual. Would definitely recommend it to people!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johocachia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Large hotell with good staf. Clean bathroom and very good bed. A bit busy during lunch, but the food was good. Nice place near the harbor, short walk to shops. From Stavanger you can tke the boat, and its a short walk to the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mettemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haugesund hotels
0.4 mi away
Scandic Haugesund
Scandic Haugesund
#2 of 8 in Haugesund
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Amanda
0.3 mi away
Banken Hotel
Banken Hotel
#3 of 8 in Haugesund
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Saga
Thon Hotel Saga
#6 of 8 in Haugesund
105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Neptun Haugesund
Hotel Neptun Haugesund
#5 of 8 in Haugesund
71 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson BLU Hotel Haugesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Maritim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Maritim

Address: Aasbygata 3, Haugesund 5528, Norway (Formerly Rica Maritim Hotel)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Haugesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Haugesund
Price Range: £83 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Maritim 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Maritim is an excellent choice of conference, course and business hotel idyllically situated in Smedasundet Sound in Haugesund. With a large conference capacity, good exhibition facilities, an outdoor theatre, and organisation of social events, Scandic Maritim can accommodate the requirements demanded by any type of arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Maritim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Maritim Haugesund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing