We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced steaks”
Review of Big horn

Big horn
Ranked #21 of 68 Restaurants in Sandnes
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
81 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Overpriced steaks”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

If you want a decent steak a visit to Big Horn might be appropriate. But if you like me have higher expectations towards 250-300KR meals you'd better stay away. Service is ok but sometimes chaotic, and the steaks are nothing special. The three times i've been to Big Horn i've left feeling unsatsified.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank akyllev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    56
    46
    28
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We went to Big horn in Sandnes for some steaks. We have eaten there before and been more satisfied. The steaks were overcooked, we ordered medium and got well done, the quality of the meat was good, side orders were fine but the sauces were aweful. I would like to recommend Big Horn to start using Toro's bearnaise and pepper sauces because they are much better than the stuff they make.

The only thing that we did like was the service and the kids menu which is reasonably priced.

If you want a good steak visit Salza Steakhouse & Bar in Stavanger.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank palvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good steaks, the rest is edible.”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We went there to eat steak, that was obvious :) The menu is very limited and the site dishes are very small. The potatoes I had were too salty, actually dangerously salty for someone with high blood pressure for example. They were also a bit burned, but when I asked the waiter why the answer was "thats how you ordered them" aka "well-done". I was certain I ordered "well done" the steak. Over all, nice atmosphere, but nothing special. The prices were very high too, we paid about 50 euro per person for steak, potatoes, small side dish and soda.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent food, but greasy.”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

OK place for kids. Decent salad bar. Roasted potatoes tasted 'wet and greasy' - not great. Steaks OK but better at Renaa in Stavanger.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
186 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great food - great service”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

If you´re looking for a good steak, this is the place to go. The mexican inspired steak is simply great. Highly recommended. Great service as well.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jostein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big horn also viewed

Sandnes, Stavanger Municipality
Sandnes, Stavanger Municipality
 
Sandnes, Stavanger Municipality
Sandnes, Stavanger Municipality
 

Been to Big horn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing