We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sverre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sverre
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sandnes
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

Nothing much to say about this place other than everything was just plain average. Only complaint I have is that when we checked in (after midnight) the young man advised us that breakfast was 7:30 onwards when in fact it was from 6:30. This put us behind schedule for our appointment in Haugesund later in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slymeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    23
    25
    10
    5
See reviews for
20
15
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

This is a very basic hotel, in a part of town that is really not very nice to be honest. Room was very basic, but clean. Breakfast area looks really old, not a great deal of options but was ok. No gym/pool, or evening restaurant facilities. Dolly dimples delivers thought!

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandnes hotels

Norway
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We had a large and nice room, a litle run down as the rest of the hotel looked. The Breakfast could been better arranged, it looked like the buffet had been put out in the morning, and that nobody had cleaned around much since. Staff were friendly and helpful. We had a large room and that is maybe why it was a litle expensive. For a hotel like this more than 1000 NOK /night for a family of 3 in one room is on the high side.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Osloboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Wing, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We arrived later in the day and were put in a room facing the wharf (buildings in the way of the view). The ski/shooting festival was happening, so there were loudspeakers blasting the events late into the evening. When that ended, the music started in the bandshell lasting till after midnight. Eh, it was okay, I had to buy some earplugs to sleep. But what bugged me most is the mysterious thumping or door slamming sound every 10 seconds. I concluded it was the elevator door shutting for each floor, it was a very old elevator with a swinging door for each floor.
The room was okay, a double had two separate beds, so no snuggling. The shower was bizarre (like others I've seen in Norge) where the edge to the shower is very shallow, and water gets everywhere outside the shower. This one in our room had a hole in the lip that let the water run out of the shower into a drain under the sink (next to the shower). Even with the water pressure low, it still covered the floor in water and that was a pain.
The beds were pretty cozy, nice bunads and the temperature in the room was good but I didn't see where we could control it. The breakfast was outstanding, much more than any American breakfast at any 5-star hotel. I'm finding this is fairly common in Norway... I feel sorry for any Norwegian that travels to the U.S. and is greeted by the sad continental breakfast at a mid-range hotel. These Norskes know how to do a breakfast well!
Upon check out, the clerk made us wait a couple minutes while she finished a text message on her phone right in front of us. That was pretty rude, she even told us to hang on, wow. Otherwise, the other clerks were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: As far away from the elevator as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpazBme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

The room is sparse, no storage, no cupboards, no (advertised) mini bar, no tea/coffee making facilities in room. No restaurant only breakfast on the premises. It is run down my room has a bare patch where a headboard had been. I will be complaining.

Room Tip: Don't Bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed here on business for 3 nights. The room was ok in size but the bathroom is tiny. As others have mentioned it is difficult to shower with the curtain closed and so end up with a very wet floor. The heating was permanently on full as when I complained I was told to open the window! Fridge didn't work. No plug near a mirror. I can't understand why hotels in this day can't put a plug, mirror and dressing table in sensible places? Hair drier is straight out of the 70s but I had my own. Just nowhere to plug it in near a mirror :/ breakfast is good but not much in the surrounding area for an evening meal. Wifi is free but intermittent on the 4th floor. Tv selection is typical Norwegian ie not much English content.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HazieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elverum, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

The location of this hotel is ok, but the hotel itself is very basic and pretty worn down. We got a room on the 5th floor with a nice view, but it had a very bad odour. The beds were comfortable but we got two singles put together instead of a double, although that is what we requested and were promised. We might have been able to change rooms had we asked though, as there were very few other guests. The bathroom was probably the tiniest I have ever seen and had no complimentaries. The breakfast room was nice and the breakfast good.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tronns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandnes
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Residence
0.1 mi away
GamlaVaerket Hotel
GamlaVaerket Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sandnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
2.7 mi away
Scandic Stavanger Forus
Scandic Stavanger Forus
#10 of 28 in Stavanger
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kronen Gaard Hotel
Kronen Gaard Hotel
#3 of 8 in Sandnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.3 mi away
Thon Hotel Sandnes
Thon Hotel Sandnes
#7 of 8 in Sandnes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.9 mi away
Smarthotel Forus
Smarthotel Forus
#6 of 8 in Sandnes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sverre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sverre

Property: Hotel Sverre
Address: Storgaten 45, Sandnes 4301, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Sandnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sandnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sverre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sverre is centrally located in Sandnes with pedestrian as our nearest neighbour. The last year we have been through a mayor renovation chaning all the windows and fixing the exterior to get a better internal environment. Bus and train station is only 150 meters from the hotel and all the city facilities such as shops, restaurants, and the new Science Center in the immediate vicinity. HAPPY hospitality with its 69 rooms, the hotel exudes a cozy and informal atmosphere, where we do our utmost to ensure you have a pleasant and comfortable stay. We include toilet/shower, cabel TV and free WLAN in all our rooms. Our concept of traditional and pleasant premises, the central location, and our very service minded staff is a good framework for business, accommodation, as well as socializing. We have great faith that you will find the good feeling of being welcomed and be taken care of with warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sverre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing