We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean but a bit of road noise”
Review of Thon Hotel Forde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thon Hotel Forde
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Forde
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed here last week. room nice and clean wifi worked well once connected we had stand in hallway to put passwords in to connect .There is a bit of road traffic noise due to its location next to main road into town. Its very close to shopping centre .Buffet breakfast very good we would stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaxonMidlandsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here for just over 3 days, Have no complaints about coming here again. Room had just been remodelled nice modern colours and with the smell of new carpet in the room and hallways, The spa was great and it also had a hairdressers on the second floor. food and staff where excellent, real value for money.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Darreni1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

In a city the size of Forde, it is important to temper one's expectations. This hotel was priced on par with other similar calibre Norwegian hotels - 1,000kr a niht- rooms are a slight bit larger than we've seen but still on the smaller size. Rooms are clean and have typical ammenities and free wifi works very well. However complaints of noise are well founded. E39 highway indeed generates noise - however what really set us off is the cleaning staff banging around all rooms around us like a pack of elephants at 8am. So don't plan on any kind of sleep in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ardy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Old, run down hotel. Very noisy rooms facing the road. Stuffy and without ventilation. The hotel seems to be neglected since the elevator did not work at times, and worst, there was no hot water in the shower. When complaining the staff just shrugged and said it will be fixed tomorrow! Too late for me, won't go there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 658Hotelguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Of our entire Norway trip (7 different hotels), this one was the least experience. I'm not saying it's terrible, though.

The location is very noisy, along the E39, right at the city entrance. Do ask a room at the back side at least.
We had dinner in the hotel (too tired to go into town). It was a hot buffet with salmon, marinated chicken and porc with vegetables, potatous and 3 different sauces. The food was honest, really, nothing bad to say about it.

The room we had was simple but OK, with wifi and TV. No airco.

I don't know about the rest of Forde hotels, but maybe there's better choice out there.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank LaurentBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityForde, Reception at Thon Hotel Forde, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear LaurentBelgium!
Thank you for taking the time to give us an comment about your stay here.

We're hoping to see you back here on another occasion.

Kind regards
Anders - Reception
Quality Hotel Førde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed here for a small conference. The hotel sure does look old! But the friendly staff makes it a OK hotel. The walls are a bit thin, so you can hear people from the rooms next to you. I had a room facing the back of the hotel, so I didn't hear any noise from the street. The breakfast was nice and the dinner they made for us was excellent!

Room Tip: Get a room facing away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thomfre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityForde, Reception at Thon Hotel Forde, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear thomfre!

Thank you for your nice comment.
We always want to get better, so we appreciate
every comment we get.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards

Anders - Reception
Quality Hotel Førde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Quite possibly! I did not expect a room with an orange carpet and a bathroom in black and gold colors when booking a hotel that belongs to the Quality chain. The rooms do in addition lack ventilation except the old fashioned way of opening the window, not ideal in a country located this close to the Arctic circle. My room was facing the main road, which meant lots of noise from traffic (bring earplugs!).

The reason for my 2 dots out of the 5 possible for this hotel is the spa section. This part looks new and as a guest you have free access to it from 06-22. The breakfast was nice even if I was missing the paper cups most other hotels have for making "coffee to go".

Next time in Forde, I will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jones0500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forde
0.3 mi away
Scandic Sunnfjord Hotel & Spa
22.4 mi away
Thon Hotel Jolster
0.5 mi away
Forde pensjonat
Forde pensjonat
#1 of 2 in Forde
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Efinor Apartments Forde
1.4 mi away
Forde Hostel
Forde Hostel
#2 of 2 in Forde
8 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sande Hotel
Sande Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sande
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Forde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Forde

Address: Hafstadveien 26, Forde 6801, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Forde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Forde
Price Range: £81 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Forde 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Forde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Forde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing