We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but rooms are outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scandic Sunnfjord Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forde
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed at Rica Sunnfjord Hotel with my wife on our way from Bergen to Geiranger. The hotel was nice, with free wi-fi, friendly and good service at the reception and a good breakfast.

However, the room and the hotelwing we stayed in was rather outdated, and did not match the price of the room - therefore an average rating.

Btw, the city of Førde is rather sleepy - we arrived on a Saturday and the reception recommended us a bar for a drink in the evening. When we arrived at the bar, there was two people besides us and the bartender, and no further people showed up when we was there :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank micmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2012

I have spent one night in this hotel while traveling on holiday with my wife from Alesund to Bergen: it offers free parking and free wifi, plus it has a very nice swimming pool and training fitness room to relax. The spa offers lots of treatments too.
This is a modern, high quality and well maintained structure. Only some complains: no safe was available in our room, no water heater nor mugs for complimentary coffee/tea, and the minibar - albeit present - was completely empty.
Apart from those minor issues our stay has been pleasant and we enjoyed the excellent breakfast buffet. Too bad we couldn't say the same for the dinner buffet, which was indeed limited (some meat, vegetables and desserts) and seriously overpriced - avoid it if it's not included.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DriftSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

we stayed 2 nights in the mote modern wing of the hotel. is seems to be important as there is an oldet one. thr id nice good service quite s long walk to the room until you get to the elevator. very good meals and s very good breakfast. ee enjoyed the hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank litanir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I have read through some of the other negative reviews and can't help but not understanding their complaints. In this review I will give a summary of both the negative aspects as well as the positive.

The Staff:
Friendly and helpful. They even helped us remove the stuff in the minibar so we could use it for our own drinks and food! The only downside of the staff during our stay was not removing all the dirty coffee cups and such from the room while cleaning.

The bathroom:
Poor lightning over the mirror made putting on my make-up an interesting affair! The toilet did not flush very well.
We had both a bath tub and separate shower which were very comfortable.

The room in general:
We had a two bed room as we traveled as friends. Nice size beds which were very comfortable.
Enough space for both my friend and me to sit with our separate lap tops doing some work.
A nice balcony with afternoon sun.

The food:
After a stay at Rica Nidelven (in Trondheim) the expectations may have been a bit high, however I did know that Rica Nidelven has several awards for their totally awesome food and service which it would be very hard to compete against. However I am not disappointed, the food were OK, not awesome, but good.

The Spa:
I must admit I am a bit spoiled when it comes to Spa Hotels as both my friend and I travel several times a year treating our self with nice hotels and spas. This hotel get a plus for their service and helpfulness regarding finding the correct staff for your treatments. As I told them my preference in treatments they were very helpful finding the staff which would do the best job for me.

Room Tip: Use the staff! Tell them your wishes and needs and they are very helpful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I've stayed at this hotel several times, and I tend to come back..

The hotel has a good restaurant, bar, free parking, wifi and swimming pool and a gym.

The staff is polite, and helpful. The rooms are over all good, some of them not as good as the best ones.. But all over, I can't complain.
There are good beds, possibilities to open the windows and good bathrooms.

The dinned buffet is a little bit dangerous, i tend to over eat... The same is with the breakfast, it's "to good".. In good Rica style the breakfast got everything you need!

This hotel is great for business travelers, as well as family traveling.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the never rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

staff fantastic breakfast brilliant,room more like a suite, modern clean, restaurant great food what more do I have to say. If you need to to fjorde STAY THERE

Room Tip: bus stops outside for airport so dont get taxi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharpgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odd Erik G, General Manager at Scandic Sunnfjord Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review, I will pass your reply to the hotels staff for their inspiration.
We hope to see you again as our guest.

Best Regards

Odd Erik Gullaksen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I am very impressed with my stay at the Sunnfjord Hotel. The staff was helpful, attentive, friendly and kind. The breakfast is award-winning – the best in the whole west region of Norway, and the hotel has great ammenities, such as swimming pool and spa area. And the beds are sooo comfortable! I couldn't be happier with this hotel, and I can give it my warmest recommendations.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelittlegoldfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forde
22.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Jolster
0.9 mi away
Efinor Apartments Forde
0.5 mi away
Forde pensjonat
Forde pensjonat
#1 of 2 in Forde
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Forde Hostel
Forde Hostel
#2 of 2 in Forde
8 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Sunnfjord Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Sunnfjord Hotel & Spa

Address: Storehagen 2, Forde 6800, Norway (Formerly Rica Sunnfjord Hotel)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Forde
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forde
Price Range: £97 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Sunnfjord Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunnfjord Hotel & Spa is located in central Forde. The area offers a stunning countryside, culture and nature adventures. Our flexible meeting and conference rooms offer a wide variety of solutions and have a capacity for up to 400 participants. Our restaurant and bars offer different menus and even live entertainment and dancing. Free parking is available and our fitness facilities help you stay in shape. Our well-equipped spa offers different types of treatments, activities and healthy food, all for your well-being. As a guest you have access to free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Sunnfjord Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing