We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect”
Review of Eplet Bed & Apple

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eplet Bed & Apple
Certificate of Excellence
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed at this place for 4 nights, which was more than we planned at the begining. If the paradise exists, it is probably there :). Everything was absolutely perfect, rooms are tiny but cleaned, with amazing view. Our host was one of the best host we have ever met, very nice with plenty of good tips for activities all around. Everything is done to you can feel like at home at it was exactly as we felt. You can use free bike, ferry that takes you to the stave church and to the waterfalls is 2 min from the house. We also could visit a glacier the same as to climb the mountain with the magnificent view on fjords. As regards the house, you have several terrase with BBQ to your disposal. You can relax in the hammock in the garden. Or you can too simply hang out in the cosy living room. Kitchen is fully equiped with everything you might need to make your own food. You can also buy some basic food directly from the host with no extra fees in case of the village shop is closed.The village seems to be a place where time stops. The only negative thing to say about this place is that one day you have to get back to the real life :) We would certainly recommend you to stay at this place !!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petulka218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    19
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
35
61
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Humble but amazing. Hotels are for hide-a-ways. Hostels are for culture. Amazing place. Clean, safe and friendly....amazingly cheap. Even free if you want to pick berry's for a few hours a day! Staff is norwegian but the guests are from around the world!

Room Tip: For the socially outgoing explorer!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed a couple of nights in this place during our honeymoon and we really loved the experience.

It is not a hotel but more like a mix of a youth hostel and a B&B, so there some annoyances like no breakfast or shared bathroom, but it is completely compensated by charm of the place, the warm welcoming, the beauty of the village and the number of proposed activities around. We will certainly come back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horidv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We spent two nights here in a double room. The welcoming by Trond and Agnethe was warm and very uncomplicated. We got very useful information for hiking and other interesting activities in the surroundings (together with some stories about the old days), tasted some of the excellent home-made blueberry & strawberry nectar, and spent two relaxing evenings on the couches in the living room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felten_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Eplet has a beautiful setting with views out across the fjord, and is situated within easy reach of an abundance of beautiful, dramatic scenery - snow-capped mountains, glaciers, fjords etc The staff are really friendly and helpful and the general atmosphere is warm and welcoming. The accommodation is extremely clean and comfortable. All this plus the famous krocket-golf, and some resident lambs. We would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed at the Eplet for a couple of nights last August and the incredible memories of the place won't go away. This was one of the nicest places we stayed in Norway. Certainly not for luxury, but for pure ambiance and location. Trond is a wonderful host. This is definitely not the type of place we typically stay, but a friend of ours convinced us to give it a try. We are so glad we did. We stayed in the sparse private rooms and had no issue with shared bath. The shared kitchen is perfect for preparing simple meals. We have happily recommending the Eplet to everyone we know.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank larkau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I came across the Eplet website while googling bus timetables in Norway and was immediately attracted by the fact it sounded a bit different. And Eplet surpassed my expectations! Trond and Agnethe are intelligent, interesting people but above all, extremely kind. They work really hard and somehow cope with sudden influxes of campers and the place still feels calm and peaceful. It seems to attract those who like peace and quiet but also enjoy talking to new people. The rooms in the main house are comfortable (we stayed in the red room), clean and all have a terrific view of the fjord from the balcony. You get a colour coded shelf in both cupboard and fridge which makes life easy. Cooking facilities were good (we bought a bit of food before we arrived and used the village shop during our stay, bought the Eplet raspberry jam too - very tasty) and the shared living room was comfortable and sociable. Hammocks outside, along with friendly "sheeps". The bathroom is shared but this was never an issue for us - we always managed to have showers when we wanted. We did several of the recommended trips - biking to Molden then hiking up (fab views), returning via an exciting route with a birds eye view of Solvorn; taking the (free) bikes across to Urnes stave church then cycling to Feigefossen, what a lovely day; going on a glacier hike at Nigardsbreen (fantastic experience). And just relaxing in a hostel which feels like a home. Don't come here if you want a hotel experience, with meals served and your own bathroom etc. I think it's better than a hotel but it won't suit everyone. If you read the website and feel drawn to the Eplet ethos then I guess you'll love it.

I would love to go back. Could easily spend a week here! In fact I realise we never got round to playing "crocket golf" so a return trip is a necessity one day!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayw294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sogndal Municipality
0.0 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
0.0 mi away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Sogndal
Quality Hotel Sogndal
#2 of 5 in Sogndal Municipality
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kviknes Hotel
Kviknes Hotel
#1 of 4 in Balestrand
717 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Laegreid Hotell
Best Western Laegreid Hotell
#3 of 5 in Sogndal Municipality
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eplet Bed & Apple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eplet Bed & Apple

Property: Eplet Bed & Apple
Address: Eplet, 6879, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Sogndal Municipality
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sogndal Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Eplet Bed & Apple Norway/Western Norway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing