We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired hotel but excellent view from your balcony on to the fjord”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hofslund Fjord Hotel
Aalborg
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Tired hotel but excellent view from your balcony on to the fjord”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The hotel is tired. One example: nice road maps on the walls in the hotel. Unfortunately they are all from 1982 or before. It tells a lot about the situation of the hotel. Breakfast is dull, dinner is dull.
BUT!!!! Here is the reason why you should choose Hofslund Fjord Hotel: you have your own balcony with the perfect view on the Sognefjord. If you bring your own cooking gear you can prepare the most fantastic and romantic dinners on the balcony. Go for it!!!!

Room Tip: You MUST choose a room with a view on to the fjord!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarsLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    37
    28
    8
    7
See reviews for
17
49
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The very location of the Hofslund Fjord Hotel is its best advantage: Norwegian to the core, practically on the fjord, facing the famed Sognefjell (Sogn mountains). A family run hotel, it has stayed in the family for a few generations and this exudes a sense of pride among the helpful and friendly hosts. Most of the room and corridor furniture are not modern, yet functional, providing a feeling of history and quaintness that comes from knowing that the furniture has served guests for several decades. That the rooms are small, is also perhaps a legacy of the older times when travellers did not use the room for anything else apart from sleeping. The hotel has picture-perfect common sitting areas facing the fjord - excellent use of space. This area is just next to the breakfast/restaurant area, which gives it additional value.

The hotel internal layout is slightly complex to grasp after a tiring journey as it has inter-connected wings. Some rooms above the ground level have balconies, some of which overlook the fjord. Rooms are not sound proof and have 2 main doors. This is perhaps due to expansions and modifications over a period of time, as this is not a fix-ready hotel. Bang in the middle of Sogndal centrum, all facilities are within 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

Breakfast is standard, but the view makes it exceptional. Travel with minimum luggage as this hotel does not have a lift or someone to help with the luggage up and down either.

Room Tip: On the ground floor, opening out into the lawn on the shores of the fjord or on a higher floor with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Hofslund Fjord Hotel has great view over the fjords. The common areas have very lovely and cosy setting. We had a room on the 3rd floor, with balcony overlooking the fjords. The room however is a bit old and not too spacious. The window in our room was broken but the hotel staff fixed it immediately (without delays; bravo to that!). We've received the most welcoming service in Norway in this hotel. As we have to catch the cruise back to Bergen early next morning (before breakfast was served), the receptionist had kindly offered to prepare breakfast for us and took our orders. When we went down to the lobby at 615am the next day, two sets of breakfast were presented nicely on the table in the common area.

The location is convenient; a few eateries and the pier are within walking distance. We had a wonderful stay in Sogndal and we're grateful for the hospitality Hofslund Fjord had provided us with.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SukHui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharey Tikva, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

When we arrived they charge us (in check in) and gave us a very old stinky room. The manager said that we only booked for a yard and if we pay more he will gave us with view to the Fjord. But this was not the case for me to change room. I should need argued with the manager and bring him to the room until he agreed to change the room with another room - less smelly. Still we could not sleep well because of the smell of bed lions.
The breakfast in this hotel was also very poor and miserly. We are in Norway and Solomon (or replacement) fish didn't served. When we finished breakfast at about 8:30 hurry to a boat cruise and wanted to deliver the room key, nobody was in reception. We wait about 5-10 minutes - no service. Finally we leaved the key in the reception desk and left the hotel. We paid for this hotel 1076 NOK (140 Euro) and we were very disappointing and this leaves Bad impression.

Room Tip: Recommend not to approach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinhas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sogndal Municipality hotels

Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This traditional tourist hotel has apparently been expanded and modified several time. The end result is a hotel with varying styles and partly outdated rooms (particularly with regard to bathroom facilities, but also with regard to soundproofing). Location is nice on the shore and convenient in Sogndal village. Breakfast was basic, but OK. Service was friendly. All in all probably too expansive relative to quality of rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OsloViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

The Hofslund Fjord Hotel is located right on the fjord and has great views from the dining and sitting areas. They have fresh flowers and candles lit every day in the common areas downstairs. There is also a swimming pool and a row boat for guests to take out on water. The breakfast buffet had everything

I was expecting a little more modern features in the rooms for the price, but everything was comfortable. The town on Sogndal is a very small place and there isn't much to do there. One evening the only open restaurant was a Chinese place. However, it is a convenient connecting location for people traveling by public transportation from the Norway in a Nutshell trip in Flam up toward the Jostedal glacier.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJ24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The Good sides are the nice exteriour and the nice bar.

The Rest was dreadful. The room tiny and derelict, the bathroom worn and moldy. Very understaffed. Breakfast below average and Nobody there to clear the tables. All this for rather a High price. All in all an unpleasant experience. Do Not go there.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dilworth99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sogndal Municipality
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Sogndal
Quality Hotel Sogndal
#3 of 5 in Sogndal Municipality
312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Laegreid Hotell
Best Western Laegreid Hotell
#2 of 5 in Sogndal Municipality
104 reviews
17.1 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Kviknes Hotel
Kviknes Hotel
#1 of 4 in Balestrand
786 reviews
12.3 mi away
Torvis Hotel
Torvis Hotel
#49 of 54 in Sogn og Fjordane
16 reviews
24.2 mi away
Skjolden Hotel
Skjolden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skjolden
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hofslund Fjord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofslund Fjord Hotel

Property: Hofslund Fjord Hotel
Address: pb 170, 6851, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Sogndal Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Sogndal Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hofslund Fjord Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hofslund Fjord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofslund Fjord Hotel Norway/Western Norway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing