We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check Summer Temps - NO A/C”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Sogndal
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
105 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Check Summer Temps - NO A/C”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were part of three tour groups that checked in to the Quality Sogndal within two hours of each other. It had a nice appearance on the outside and the inside lobby was spacious. Once we got to the room we knew we were facing another day and night in Norway without A/C. Norway and northern Europe were suffering through unprecedented high temperatures.

When we opened the door we read our personal thermometers that the temperature inside the confined space was 83 degrees and there was no ventilation. They brought us a LARGE fan to move the air but through the evening and into the morning the room was never below 76 degrees.There was no screen on the window so leaving it open with bug trying to fly in was not a good choice. Road/path just behind us and eye level had people walking on it all day and all night - bad when the bars closed.

It was a small room, there were no toiletries (liquid soap only) and no glasses/plastic cups anywhere in the room. It was clean, better than any other hotel we had in Norway.

The bed was firmer and better. There were more electrical outlet that helped with our computers and chargers - we are travel writers so we need the power.

At dinner and breakfast there was a mad scramble. Waiters and cooks overwhelmed by so many people eating. Three large groups going to dinner and breakfast at the same time. There was no attempt to stagger the groups. Hotel and group guides were at fault here.

Room Tip: See that your room does not look out to the road/path in the back - NOISE ALL NIGHT. Do not go ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicbrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlend L, Leder  at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback!

We are very sorry about the temperature in the room. Unfortunately it was very hot in the area those days and we were not able to keep the temperature as low as we would have liked. We are working on solutions to improve this for next summer!

Thank you for nice compliments about our bed and room equipment. Even though it was a bit chatoic during breakfast, we hope you enjoyed it.

Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    94
    91
    31
    14
See reviews for
51
85
19
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

A business hotel in the middle of town such as it is. The renovated rooms are comfortable big and specious. Good breakfast spread.

The town itself is small and the hotel is located on the edge of town but within walking distance to the pier and to the downtown area where there are restaurants and shops. Parking was chaotic. We only found parking because there was one left hidden space behind the line blocking space for buses. Otherwise the parking lot was completely full. So if you arrive late take that into consideration.

The check-in was fast and efficient. The check-in area is big and dark and seems to be a lot of wasted space.

We got a room in the newer section of the hotel and it was modern, big, and comfortable with big bathtub and shower. As the usual the beds and pillows were much too soft for our taste.

We did not eat dinner at the hotel, but in town. The breakfast spread was great (probably one of the best we have seen on this trip) with ample choice and variety.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDDCFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlend L, Leder  at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your good review of our hotel!

Regarding the parking issue we try to give all our guests free parking, but it is difficault when the hotel is full. Luckily it is nearby parking facilities which is free during the evening and night.

We take great pride in serving our guests a good breakfast, and we are happy that you enjoyed it!

Welcome back!

Regards,
Erlend Fardal Lunde
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulsteinvik, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel located in the heart of Songdal, is central, clean, up to date and comfortable. Indeed, the midnight temperature on almost 30 degrees was a tough fight. No Air-con. A must for hot summers..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Joar_Odegaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlend L, Leder  at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
We are working to solve the temperature in our rooms during hot summers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesund, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We are a family of 4 people that had a one night stop in Sogndal. The reception was ok, the room was old style (80'ies) and very hot! This day was extraordinary hot, but the room was even hotter (above 30 degrees). There was no mechanical ventilation circulating the air in the room, so even after hours with a full open window the temperature was too hot to sleep in. Under the bed the kids found an empty pillbox, so the cleaning was not perfect either. In the bar we had to go into the kitchen to find a waiter to serve us, and this happened two times on the same evening. When complaining about this the next morning, the receptionist just blew me off with some cheep excuse. Not recommended by me!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank TorE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlend L, Manager at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, although your experience was not as you expected. We are working every day to improve our product, and we are aware of the issue regarding ventilation in our rooms. Unfortunately it has been extremelly hot in Sogndal over the past weeks and eventhough we have made improvements for this summer we could not keep the temperature down on the dates when you stayed at our property. I fully understand that this is not an excuse when you stay at a hotel.

Regarding the cleaining and bar service we follow normal procedure to make sure that this will not happen for other guests.

We would like to get in touch with you, and it would be great if you can contact us per e-mail erlend.fardal.lunde@choice.no

Regards,
Erlend Fardal Lunde
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sogndal Municipality hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Stavanger, Norge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

A good hotel in the city of Sogndal. Good location next to the busstation, where the airport expressbus stops and starts. I stayed in a single room and the room was big for a single room. The standard of the room was fine. Free highspeed WIFI included in the roomprice. TV with a few channels, mainly norwegian channels. Minibar with drinks and snack are available. A sodadrink cost 45 NOK (4.50£/5.00€/8.00$) and beer/wine for a bit more. No A/C can make the rooms very hot in the summertime. the room price i paid was 1140 NOK per night.

Room Tip: This hotel has some rooms with a balcony. some with some views of Sogndal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonearsenal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlend L, Manager at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just arrived room hot only small window, needs blockout curtains room is every sunny and with no sunset at this time of the year going to be extremely hard to sleep, has no floor towel had to ask for extra towel for floor, no soap at handbasin I prefer my own cake of soap, also like tissues in room,room clean bathroom small.well below average for a hotel, the staff did lend me a fan.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from west of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CARMODY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlend L, Manager at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback and suggestions. They will be considered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
411 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

its a Nice Place to stay , but not more than just over avarge . Rooms are normal sized like the rest of the hotel. But one thing was good , the breakfast . A tipical good Norwegian breakfast With all the side engreedience a breakfast should have

Room Tip: the Choices are not so many
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tor Steinar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlend L, Manager at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback, and the kind words about our breakfast.
Welcome back to Sogndal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sogndal Municipality
17.0 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Laegreid Hotell
BEST WESTERN Laegreid Hotell
#3 of 5 in Sogndal Municipality
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hofslund Fjord Hotel
Hofslund Fjord Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sogndal Municipality
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
18.7 mi away
Kviknes Hotel
Kviknes Hotel
#1 of 4 in Balestrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
18.9 mi away
Balestrand Hotel
Balestrand Hotel
#2 of 4 in Balestrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Sogndal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Sogndal

Property: Quality Hotel Sogndal
Address: Gravensteinsgata 5, 6856, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Sogndal Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sogndal Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Sogndal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the centre of Sogndal, only a two minute walk to the Sognefjord. We can offer 115 rooms (of these 3 suites and 6 junior suites), a big business center, three restaurants, bar and free parking for our guests. Sogndal is the perfect starting point for mountain and fjord activities. There are two downhill ski areas close by within a 20 minutes drive. The hotel is located 300 m from the Bergen express boat, it is near to the bus station and only 18 km from the airport. Welcome to Quality Hotel Sogndal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Sogndal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Sogndal
Quality Hotel Sogndal Norway/Western Norway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing