We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious clean rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Laegreid Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Laegreid Hotell
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Spacious clean rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Stayed for 1 night 16th Feb 2013 excellent clean spacious rooms. Friendly staff, tasty pizza in the adjoining pub.Central as you can be.
Good airport bus connections only a 20 minute drive.
I can recommend this hotel without any doubt.

Room Tip: Choose one at the back of the hotel so not to be disturbed by any events at the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bergenmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    55
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
18
43
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sagamore beach
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed here just one night as a quick rest stop during our driving trip. The rooms are really very nice, clean and comfortable. Internet worked fine..
Not totally satisfied with the British Pub down below however. Beautiful decor and very cozy setting but just about NO food choices. We could get Pizza,, or,, Well just Pizza,, Not even any choice of type. ( It seemed suspiciously like a frozen pizza that was reheated) Very little in the way of selections from the bar (wine) and the prices are Norwegian Like Super Expensive for very average Pizza.
A British pub with no Pub food? On a Saturday night !
Breakfast was fine,, the usual breakfast included buffet was included in price.
As a quick stopover its ok

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We spent there for 2 nights in early July. We went to Sogndal so that we could go to the Nigardsbreen glacier. It is closed to the main bus station (about 7 minutes walk). It is also closed to the main shopping center in town (about 7 minutes walk). There are supermarkets and cafe in the shopping center. ATM machines are also accessible in the bank closed to the hotel.

We got a double room and the room size is not bad for 2 adults and 1 child. The room is clean.

We will come back if we have a chance in the future. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seohyun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
277 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We spent one night at this hotel after driving from Flam and around taking the Ornes ferry for a drive around the fjord. Like most Norwegian hotels, there were no toiletries in the bathroom, but everything was clean. Our room included a safe, two chairs with a small table, very small desk area, and wifi. Although one web site states that there is a "guest" laundry, this is only to meet Best Western standards. There is no guest laundry in the sense of being an easily accessible room with machines for guests, but we were able to pursuade the proprietor to let us use her machines to do our laundry. The dining room was not open while we were there but there was a bar for the hotel and a good restaurant serving Norwegian dishes across the road. The municipal parking lot in front of the hotel charges for parking between 8 am and 5 pm, but we did not have to pay as we arrived and departed ouside of these hours.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

There are, unfortunately, not so many nice accommodations around Sognefjord, God knows why. I tried a cabine, which was ok, but with a very busy, noisy road next to it, it spoiled it all - cabine by the motorway -
Hence, I decided to move to Best Western in Songndal city center for 2 nights, following the recommendations from other reviewers.
True, hotel is very clean, from lobby to restaurant to rooms.
Rooms are just fine for that category of hotel - but beds are quie terrible, it feels like sleeping in a hammock - at least in my room, 414, very unpleasant for the bad, but again, besides of that, rooms are very clean, bedsheets perfect.
Breakfast is so-so, dinner was an excellent buffet on the other hand.
Saff is friendly and helpful - although I booked a single room, I was upgraded to a larger double room at no cost just by asking.
Overall, Best Western is not the kind of hotel I really enjoy, but frankly, after checking out this one, my opinion on Best Western hotels had clearly much improved. A good place in Songndal if you want to avoid the headache of a cabine and have more free time to visit or do outdoor activities.

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc-Philippe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We spent three days at the Laegrid in Sogndal, including 17th of May. It was great to see the parades in the town, and the Laegrid was close the the action without feeling turbulent. The hotel itself is just fine. No safe, as a previous reviewer mentioned, but our things were not disturbed. We did lock one suitcase when we were out for the whole day. The rooms at Laegrid are nice, the breakfast was ample and varied, it's close to the ferry stop and the bus station, and also the tourist office (which was mostly closed since hours are short before June, and it was a national holiday after all). If I am ever in Sogndal again, I'd return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We were in back; no fjord view and no pub noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BinColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We had a nice stay in Sogndal in a very large bedroom (322 I think). We slept very well even if we were told that the noise from the pub downstairs could disturb us. Breakfast was very nice

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sogndal Municipality
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Sogndal
Quality Hotel Sogndal
#2 of 5 in Sogndal Municipality
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
17.0 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
7.0 mi away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hofslund Fjord Hotel
Hofslund Fjord Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sogndal Municipality
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
10.6 mi away
Leikanger Fjord Hotel
Leikanger Fjord Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leikanger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
18.8 mi away
Kviknes Hotel
Kviknes Hotel
#1 of 4 in Balestrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Laegreid Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Laegreid Hotell

Property: BEST WESTERN Laegreid Hotell
Address: Almenningen 3, 6856, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Sogndal Municipality
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sogndal Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Laegreid Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your BEST WESTERN Laegreid Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sogndal
Sogndal Best Western
BEST WESTERN Laegreid Hotell Norway/Western Norway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing