We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place, do not rush your visit”

Norwegian Glacier Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Norwegian Glacier Museum opened in 1991, and is an award-winning hands-on museum, situated in Fjaerland at the head of the Fjaerlandsfjord. The museum is the leading centre in Norway for dissemination of knowledge with regard to glaciers and climate. In an entertaining and exciting manner, you will get answers to questions like ‘Why is glacier ice blue?’, ‘Why is the fjord green?’ and ‘How were the fjords formed?’. You can even perform your own experiments with 1000 year old ice from the nearby glacier Supphellebreen. Do not miss Ivo Caprino’s unique and staggering panoramic film from the glacier Jostedalsbreen – the largest glacier on mainland Europe. Another must is the experience exhibition abouft climate and climate changes. opened in June 2007. The glacier Jostedalsbreen and its surroundings is a National Park and the museum is an information centre forthe park. The museum was designed by Professor of architecture, Sverre Fehn, receiver of the 1997 Pritzker award - the highest international award an architect can get. The building has received several awards, including the highest Norwegian award for architecture. All exhibitions have been adapted for the disabled. The museum is a private non-profit foundation established by the International Glaciological Society, different Norwegian research institutions and the Norwegian Mountain Touring Association. H.M. Queen Sonja opened the museum in 1991, and since then more than 1,2 million persons have visited the museum .
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting place, do not rush your visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We visited this museum as part of a tour visiting Fjaerland and the glaciers, Boyabreen and Supphellebreen. The large screen show of the helicopter ride over the glaciers was well put together (we bought a copy) and the other exhibits were all of interest. Do not miss the secondary dark room movie of the glacier calving, fascinating. Our only problem was that we did not have enough time to spend there. If you do visit, do not miss the opportunity to go up the steps on the outside of the building to get some great views and camera shots of the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    44
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“small but wonderful museum.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

great exhibits and movie. friendly staff and with a passion about the glacier and also concerning climate change. take the stairs to the roof for the view.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 76543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“We definitely enjoyed it and would recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I wasn't sure about visiting this museum as the reviews were mixed. However I'm so glad we did! Our 10 and 8 year olds really enjoyed it. It probably helped that we were there off season and pretty much had the place to ourselves. It is pitched at just the right level to be educational and entertaining. We spent a good hour and half - we watched the film, were very impressed with the climate change exhibit, did the hands on experiments, read most if not all the info boards and made several trips through the model glacier! The staff were friendly and helpful. We took the short drive up to Boyabreen glacier and had a lovely 30 min walk in glorious spring sunshine!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rachwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sogndal Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“the best museum ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

If you are just a litle bit interest in glaciers, you have to came and see this museum. They show a panoramic film from the Jostedalsglacier. It is just amazing :-)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JarleFarle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
1 review
“A "must-visit" in Fjaerland and Sogn og fjordane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Very nice museum with a lot of interesting exhibitions, wonderful panoramic film about the Jostedals glacier and cool "walk through time - exhibition". Could spend hours in there! Nice staff and so worth the entrance and I would definately recommend you to go there. :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Camilla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Norwegian Glacier Museum also viewed

Sogndal Municipality, Sogn og Fjordane
Fjaerland, Sogndal Municipality
 
Kaupanger, Sogndal Municipality
 

Been to Norwegian Glacier Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing