We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location n great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gjovik
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Its a ideal location, you are close to all the facilities. The breakfast is high quality and makes a nice start to your day. The conference facilities are very good as well.
The OLD BUILDING does not have air-conditioning which is a HUGE PROBLEM if you are unfortunate to get a room on that side of the Hotel specially in the summers. There MUST be free parking for the staying guests.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Sarabjit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hi Sarabjit S,

Thank you for your review. You are right that the rooms in the old building does not have the same efficient A/C that the new building does. We will make some changes so that the guest can decide in what part of the hotel he/she wants room. There will be a small premium to be paid for the rooms in the new building.

Thanks again,
Ådne Skurdal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

very good and friendly staff,definitely going the extra mile.
large breakfast buffet to start the day.
dinner choices with 2 restaurants very good
rooms are clean and well modern furnished
reception welcome was very nice

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hi Thomas G,

Thank you for a great review, we really appreciate having you, and you are most welcome back.

All the best.

Ådne Skurdal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Good business hotel with a helpful and courteous staff. The facility is clean and well maintained and located within walking distance to the retail/restaurant area.

It's only two blocks from the bus and train stations so it very accessible from Oslo. From the airport there is a direct bus to Gjovik, you can pay on the bus (@45usd) and it's quicker than the train.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank CRMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hi CRMartin,

Thank you for giving us a review. Please send us an email on how to achieve a higher score, did not see that you were unhappy with anything.

Thanks again and all the best.

Ådne Skurdal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Gjovik is a small town, near Oslo. It is a very nice place, with friendly people. Quality Hotel Strand is in the center of the town, an elegant hotel, with large spaces , a beautiful interior design. Everything looks good, it is a warm place to stay. Lillehammer is at ten minutes distance by car...so, have a nice holiday!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Hi Andreia G,

Thank you for the great review, and nice comments about our hotel.

Have a great day.
Brgs,
Ådne Skurdal
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Had an overnight stay at this hotel and was really pleased with the service from checking to visiting the spa to checking out. The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean as was all the communal areas at the hotel. All staff were very friendly especially the guy on reception when we checked in late on Friday evening. The only slight down side to this visit if you can call it a down side is that the staff who were clearing the tables at breakfast time were a little slow at keeping all the tables clear but I have to say in their defence the hotel was extremely busy. Even though the hotel was so busy all the staff were very friendly and pleasant from the kitchen staff who kept the food topped up at all times (the food was excellent by the way) to the reception staff. My husband and I will definitely be staying at the hotel again when we are next in Gjovik and would not hesitate to recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Hi Gail,

Thank you for your lovely comments and remarks. We really appreciate you taking the time to write these lines about your stay with us.

We hope that your travels back to UK went smoothly, and want to welcome you back later.

Best regards,
Ådne Skurdal
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel was in central Gjovik, which isn't hard, but it was nice with great facilities, including sauna, spa, gym, cinema and food options. Staff were friendly and mostly helpful, considering the amount of people staying at the time.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Good for room, they hotel join with cinema, so little bit crowded in loby if afternoon.. becareful with your belonging.. the breakfast is average..not many choice.. location near the bus station.. nothing to do if you plan for holiday..better go to lillehamer more interesting.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank Bagus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Hi Bagus S,

Thanks for your review. I am sorry that you think that there are nothing to do in our little town. There are several sights that might be interesting, I hope that you tried to talk either to the reception, or the touristoffice. What do you like on a breakfast buffét?

Best regards,
Ådne Skurdal
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gjovik
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Grand
23.5 mi away
Scandic Lillehammer Hotel
Scandic Lillehammer Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lillehammer
445 reviews
10.7 mi away
Honne Hotell og Konferansesenter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Astoria
23.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer
12.8 mi away
First Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik

Address: Strandgata 15 | Entrance elvegt, Gjovik 2815, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Gjovik Municipality > Gjovik
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gjovik
Price Range: £118 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing