We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but needs a bit of refurbishing”
Review of Geilo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Geilo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Geilo
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but needs a bit of refurbishing”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

The staff here were great, helpful, kind and polite. We were given hot chocolate after a cold walk and they lit the fire for us to warm up.
The public rooms are lovely, lots of painted wood. But the bedrooms are a bit tired and really need updating.
Breakfast was very generous.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakradice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    33
    15
    9
    3
See reviews for
18
27
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed for two nights to break up out Bergen to Oslo rail journey. We hadn't planned to go skiing or indulge in winter sports, but also hadn't realised that we were at the end of the season. Only two other people staying in the hotel , which seeemed to be run by teenagers! Very nice teenagers though I must say, very friendly and helpful. Our room was a bit odd, they'd forgotten to give us pillows! Yes, rooms need updating and are a bit shabby but it was clean and the shower was warm. We chose the hotel because we liked the decoration in the lounge and kitchen/breakfast area, and we werren't dissappointed - it was lovely! Lots of old fashioned Norwegian 'things', lots of painted wood, it was lovely! We didn't get a cooked breakfast, but I felt that they wold have made it if we'd wanted it. Nice selection of cold cuts and cheese, lovely hot chocolate, nice bread.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hildegarde12-07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

The oldest hotel in town, and not in a good way. Been there before and found it quirky and charming even though it was in need of updating. This time however, it was really just terrible. Bad food, bad cleaning, no hot water and poor service from the staff, though they were nice most of the time, they were not able to answer any questions, and did not make good on any promises made via email before arriving. Arrived early in the morning, and had been told it would be possible to get the room then, but on checkout realized that we had been charged for full boarding the whole previous day, which the young man behind the desk said he was not allowed to do anything about.
The only good things are the location, just by the lifts in the lovely slopes (hence 2 points instead of 1!), and good wifi-coverage.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ECH_000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

This hotel is very basic which is not a problem but when the showers do not work and it is -22 degrees outside you do not want cold water which was the case for 2 days in a row. The food is very very basic. Especially the breakfast (coffee though is good). The beds need revision. The ski slopes are near which is a plus. This place definitely needs refurbishment.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AP01_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

Very good food, nice after-ski and a really good night club,
freindly personell to take care of you after a day in the slops

Stayed January 2006, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BengtO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Reception and bar area quit nice, but the rooms are a bit out-dated. Good waterpressure in the shower. No lifts in the building but there is only 3 floors and wide staircases.
The bars has got a good selection of local beers. Breakfast is ok.

It's a good 3 star hotel with nice staff. Close to both ski-lifts and the village center.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2008

We stayed there Easter 08, and was fairly pleased.
When we arrived, they gave us a room in the basement, which had a very small double bed, and was more like a single room.
We immidiately contacted the receptionist, and expressed our discomfort, and got a new room which was OK.
The food was included in our stay, and was, if you ask me, very ok for the price we had paid. Very ok with the buffet, and something for everyone to eat. Coffe and tea is also available at all times, which we think is very pleasant.
The staff was friendly and helpful, and our conclusion is:
If you are looking for a OK place to stay, and dont want to spend very much money on it, we recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank SkierBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geilo
0.7 mi away
Vestlia Resort
Vestlia Resort
#1 of 13 in Geilo
323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dr. Holms Hotel
Dr. Holms Hotel
#5 of 13 in Geilo
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ustedalen Hotel
Ustedalen Hotel
#4 of 13 in Geilo
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bardola Hotel
Bardola Hotel
#2 of 13 in Geilo
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Highland Lodge
Highland Lodge
#6 of 13 in Geilo
124 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hotel Finse 1222
Hotel Finse 1222
#1 of 1 in Finse
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geilo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geilo Hotel

Property: Geilo Hotel
Address: Gamlevegen 2, Geilo 3580, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Hol Municipality > Geilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Geilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Geilo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geilo has a central location in Southern Norway, 800 metres above sea level halfway between Oslo and Bergen. With the Hallingskarvet mountain as its backbone and Hardangervidda, Northern Europe’s largest mountain plateau, as its nearest neighbour, Geilo offer unique possibilities for great experiences all year. Geilo is a nice little village, with shops and restaurants and all service facilities in the town center. Geilo is also Norway's most traditional ski resort, having been a tourist destination for more than 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Geilo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norlandia Hotel Geilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing