We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great apartment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Geilo Gaarden

Geilo Gaarden
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Geilo Gaarden
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great apartment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here for half-term week in February. First family ski trip with children aged 4 and 6. Great apartments, very fresh, clean, modern and comfortable. Close enough to shops and ski school (but not possible to ski to door). Ski bus did stop just at the top of the slope though if you'd prefer not to walk. Resort is a good beginner resort, not at all crowded and very pro-children. Easy to get a train from Oslo right into the resort. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shunshinelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    11
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Modern and comfortable appartments in quiet position near ski lift and shops. We stayed in Nr. 12 (2 people). Good underfloor heating, modern furniture (Ikea), good bathroom (shower) and good beds. Also the kitchen was well equipped but with an impractical lay-out. See photo.
The appartment was very clean but near the outside entrance of the building was quite a bit of litter. The bathroom and kitchen had no hooks to hang up towels etc.
N.B. There is no lift in the building and the reception in Ustedalen Hotel is approx. 500 meters away. In this hotel is a swimming pool and sauna which can be used free.

Room Tip: Access, even to the ground floor flats of the appartment building, unsuitable for people with limite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lubertus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIyadh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We from India (me, wife and two daughters) stayed in this hotel for a night while driving from Oslo airport to Bergen. The reception was in a different hotel (Ustedalen Hotel Geilo). We visite4d in August and the weather was good. They have a full fledged kitchen and we made dinner and breakfast. We reached evening left to Bergen morning. The stay was good; they gave one apartment with two bed rooms. we had our own linen and pillow covers. Quilt was provided by hotel.
It is a useful place for someone driving from Oslo to Bergen in summer. It is ski resort and in winter it might be more attractive.

Room Tip: A good choice to stay in Geilo, Norway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musthafa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

This is a great and huge apartment close to the slopes. The ski bus stops close by and it will take you to the slopes if you don't have a car. It only lacks one thing - wifi!! Theres no wifi in Geilo Gaarden, but you can go to the Geilo Hotel nearby and use their wifi for free :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank heinecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

been there for 12 nights this year for ski.
Location is great, 200m from the cable, you can come on your skis from the slope to the door of the loft
basement for ski storage over-night
Poorly organized kitchen. There is no desk space for cooking.
There is no internet at location
In the hotel which is 500m away there is free wi-fi (very poor), pool and sauna for free.
room temp is ok, separate thermostat on all rooms (2 rooms). Beds are split so you want to bring some bindings to tie them together if you are there as a couple.
Super-markets are 3 (about 400m and 600m from the loft).
there is a notice in the room that you have to clean up after yourself, take the trash out, and the sheets, towels are not free (read the fine print on booking).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B_Andrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geilo hotels
0.1 mi away
Geilo Hotel
Geilo Hotel
#3 of 13 in Geilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dr. Holms Hotel
Dr. Holms Hotel
#6 of 13 in Geilo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ustedalen Hotel
Ustedalen Hotel
#4 of 13 in Geilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bardola Hotel
Bardola Hotel
#2 of 13 in Geilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vestlia Resort
Vestlia Resort
#1 of 13 in Geilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highland Lodge
Highland Lodge
#5 of 13 in Geilo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geilo Gaarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geilo Gaarden

Property: Geilo Gaarden
Address: Gjeilegutu 1, Geilo 3580, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Hol Municipality > Geilo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Geilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Geilo Gaarden 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Geilo Gaarden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing