We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but worth the price?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dr. Holms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dr. Holms Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Geilo
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice, but worth the price?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

The hotel is very nice. Dr. Holms hotel expects geusts during the the winter months as it is a ski resort, however, it is comfortable in the summer as well. If you really enjoy hiking, there are a few places to hike near glaciers and on rocks, but they're not that incredibly scenic or interesting and paths often lead up and expect hikers to turn around and return down, rather than leading anywhere or allowing for an alternate route down. The room is small and the hotel is warm in the summer, but you cannot open the window without lifting the entire pullout bed, which someone was trying to sleep on! Serious downgrade was that breakfast only went until 10. The breakfast was good (orange squeezing machine for orange juice yum), but after a long day of hiking and a late night, it was not easy to make it to breakfast on time, and why make travelers (including the jetlagged) rush? We expected the spa to be a bonus, but it was far too expensive to go to at all. Every item on the spa menu was at least 250 kr (over $100!) and there were no cheaper options. The hot tubs (one inside, one outside) were nice, however they only bubbled for 10 minutes and then had a 10 minute cleaning period, so you really couldn't enjoy more than a 10 minute soak in the summer's empty pool area because the jets turned off! There were nice options for dinner- a buffet, a bar-like restaurant, and an american 50s style bowling ally. All the restaurants were expensive, though....

Room Tip: Be sure to specify how many people you want in a room v how many beds. Two brothers want beds separa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    112
    104
    39
    33
See reviews for
94
137
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
98 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

In the more expensive price range. Has atmosphere and is ideally located for hikes in the mountains in summer and for wintersport. Room a bit small. Breakfast buffet very good, in beautiful restaurant. Several options for having a meal. A wondetful swimming pool section wit pools and jacuzis is a huge plus. Only downside are freight trains in the night on track just diwn from hotel. At nok 1300 a night, i consider my stay good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vibek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lokeren
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

One of the best hotels I've ever experienced! Beautiful hotel room with impressive view; nice place, friendly people and delicious food!!!!!! A place to remember!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilde V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

There is NOTHING significantly interesting about Geilo in the Summer ..... if you are going to see the sights of Norway this location should be a 1 night stopover if you are looking for a good rest. Hiking is not scenic and no other Summer action is easily accessible.
The hotel is old, but well kept up and historic. The rooms are not real fancy, but are clean and well kept. Buffet food for breakfast and dinner are very good.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the front side of the hotel that faces the RR tracks that is 3rd floor or highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FOURteener14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

We booked an independent Christmas holiday to Dr Holms and had a wonderful time from beginning to end of the experience.We found that the usual packages were too inflexible with dates and length of stay for what we needed, so decided to do it ourselves, and saved ourselves a lot of money in single room supplements, and were able to choose our own flight times, and how long we wanted to stay.Needless to say booking so far ahead meant that our plans changed unexpectedly, and the hotel were able to juggle our revised dates with no problem.

We booked early on in the year, and were guaranteed the 2010 price for our 2011 stay, and we booked the half board package over Christmas - a real bonus. We had also arranged our own flights to Bergen with the low cost Norwegian.com airline and train from there up to Geilo.

A lovely lady from the hotel met us at the station, and took us round to the hotel where we were checked in to double and single ensuite rooms on the 3rd floor. Both had views over the town and the Vestlia ski area so was rather nice. We had all our meals at "our" table in the restaurant and enjoyed 3 course dinners and a wonderful buffet breakfast each morning. We also had the fabulous Julbord dinner on Christmas Eve which pleased my seafood loving travelling companions no end.

The hotel was very comfortable - and the Christmas decorations were magnificent.

Skiing wise, my husband enjoyed trying out the cross country trails, and my daughter tried just about every alpine sport during her 5 one hour lessons... and like her dad is now a keen cross country skier. The Ski school was almost next door to the hotel with a full ski area to play with for the more experienced skier.

This was our second Chrismaas in Geilo - and it won't be our last. And Dr Holms will be our hotel of choice!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the hotel - the views are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolynUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

You feel at home at this hotel from the handshake at the reseption desk, all thru the bar to the fitness/spa center. With a location at the foot of the mountain range Hardangervidden you are tempted to engage in all sort of outdoor activity, but the view from the bar balcony urges you to stay put and let your eyes explore the valley.
This is a hotel with soul and history, and the peronell are part of it.
The small indoor pool and spa senter is cosy, even though the staff where unable to turn on the tyrkish bath, and gave no answers to whether one should wait og just give it up. And the spa is closed on sundays!
And the food at the restaurant Brasseriet is a disapointment. The fish is plat and liveless and there where no water with the wine. The local cheeses at the dessert meny where interessing, and are recomended. It surprises me that a high cost hotel serve coffee of this low standard. Bring your own.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

My wife and I drove from Oslo to Bergen and we stopped along the way in Geilo. The hotel was charming and historic. We had booked a room in the "old" English-style wing. The room was comfortable, quiet and had a nice view over the valley. There are nice paintings in the hotel lobby and the dining room. Breakfast was very good, they had locally made organic cheese. The bar is full of memorabilia. There is a picture showing famous Austrian skier Günther Mader on his way to winning his 1st world cup slalom in Geilo on 2 March 1986. Also, it shows a picture of Italian Alberto Tomba winning the 1990 slalom.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FM-Copenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geilo hotels
1.0 mi away
Vestlia Resort
Vestlia Resort
#1 of 13 in Geilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Geilo Hotel
Geilo Hotel
#3 of 13 in Geilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bardola Hotel
Bardola Hotel
#2 of 13 in Geilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ustedalen Hotel
Ustedalen Hotel
#4 of 13 in Geilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highland Lodge
Highland Lodge
#5 of 13 in Geilo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ro Hotel
Ro Hotel
#7 of 13 in Geilo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dr. Holms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dr. Holms Hotel

Property: Dr. Holms Hotel
Address: Timrehaugvegen 2, Geilo 3580, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Hol Municipality > Geilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Geilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dr. Holms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dr Holms Hotel - for your comfort and well-being. Dr Holms Hotel has been a source of recuperation, comfort and well-being since the beginning of the 20th century. Dr Holms is situated in the heart of the beautiful mountain scenery, and is a starting point for inspiring and exciting adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dr. Holms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dr Holms Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing