We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dr. Holms Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ro Hotel(Geilo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skibyen(Hovet)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (435)
Filter reviews
435 results
Traveller rating
92
131
121
51
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
131
121
51
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseen better daysski bartraditional hotelbowling alleyoutdoor jacuzzimain restaurantstaff on receptionset mealbuffet dinnerrailway stationskiing holidayspamountainsoslosummervariationlounge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 435 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We visited Dr. Holms for a wedding anniversary.
We did not sleep at the hotel, but enjoyed the facilities for a day.

Dr. Holms is known for being one of the more classy and better hotels in Geilo, maybe even in Hallingdal, so the expectations towards the evening was very high.

We started off in the pool. The pool area has the look and feel of a SPA type place.
The water was a little cold in the pools, except for the jacuzzi where the temperature was very high.
The main attraction of the pool was the outdoor pool. Great fun for the kids in the winter.
The pool area was showing signs of not having been renovated for some time.

The restaurant was the main highlight of the evening. The kitchen outperformed our expectations.
The portions had just the right size. We all felt we had enough food, not to much, not to little.
But the taste of the food was the main highlight.

The service in the restaurant was average. Food came on time, and he waiter did not disturb, but was always accessible.

Overall a good day. Just the last small things missing from making it perfect.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank ksvanaasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrHolmsHotel, Public Relations Manager at Dr. Holms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2014

Dear ksvanaasen,

thank you so much for taking your time to review Dr. Holms Hotel.
We are happy that you are overall satisfied with your stay with us and we will try our best to become better and give you and our other guest an even better experience next time.

We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Marianne, marketing coordinator at Dr. Holms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed here on a road trip through Norway with our Norwegian friends. Enjoyed the stay and particular the dinner. Food was VERY good and the decor and ambiance were great. Looking through the old photo album in the lobby was VERY neat. Very quiet place and neat feeling.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vexter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at Dr. Holms for three nights the end of June. Staying in a former sanitarium had a certain charm, and some areas made us feel as if we were in a Gothic novel - the library, for example. The rooms were quite varied, and while ours was large and quite comfortable, other members of our group had much smaller accommodations, so checking out what you are getting into is a good idea. Our meals were part of our travel plan, and we were happy with our many choices for both breakfast and dinner, although beer and wine prices were quite a shock, but that is true of all of Norway. However, beer and wine can be purchased in the village at much more reasonable prices..

Room Tip: Be sure to find out where your room is located and check it out ahead of time.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teacherperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed one night in August and were over charged for our room. We were told our credit card would be reimbursed and it hasnt been done . It is now 4 weeks. We have spoken to reservations so many times and were promised this would be done immediately it hasn't. We are really annoyed as the hotel was expensive to stay in and really expensive to dine in. We are now resigned to the fact that we won't be reimbursed its an absolute disgrace.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claire m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

After staying in a former prison turned hotel in Karlstad, I guess staying in a former sanitarium turned hotel in Geilo seemed appropriate. DHH's layout seemed to be several separate buildings randomly hooked together at various angles, sorta creating a cornfield maze indoors? The elevator had a long waiting line of newly checked in tour bus people so we opted to take the stairs. Little did we realize getting to our 4th floor room would require GPS. When we got to the 3rd floor landing, the stairwell stopped. We had to walk down a hallway, turn right then left and found what looked like normal room door except it had the green exit light above and a plaque that said 'till 4 etg 401 - 422'. Since our room number was 413 we opened the door and saw a long staircase heading up, but was so narrow you had to close the door before you proceed up the stairs. After a couple more lefts & rights we finally came to room 413. I highly suggest dropping bread crumbs to find your way back to the main lobby if you don't take the elevator.

Our room was decent sized with a desk, small couch & stuffed chair by the windows. Our view was of the backside of another hotel and the backside our hotel's original building across what looked like used to be a croquet lawn behind the hotel?

The hotels ski bar consisted of several areas. In front was a large U-shaped wood bar with a variety of stuffed birds and small mammals above it. One bar area contained inviting stuffed chairs around tables with ski equipment, snowshoes and taxidermied European elk (U.S. moose) busts on the wall above them. Another bar area had glass windows around 3 sides for viewing the mountains and ski slopes across town from the hotel. We found our way to their large outside deck with great views of the ski slopes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank OTR_Again_IM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews