We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Showing its age, but still comfortable”
Review of Dr. Holms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dr. Holms Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Geilo
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
301 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
“Showing its age, but still comfortable”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

A grand older hotel, good sized rooms, although the ensuites are small. Nice views from our upper floor room, opening windows, comfortable bed. A five minute walk to the small shopping area. Courteous helpful staff.
We could hear our neigbours in their bed rooms on both sides which was annoying - very thin walls with no sound proofing.
Usual buffet breakfast, reasonable.

Room Tip: Upper room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gnoleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrHolmsHotel, Public Relations Manager at Dr. Holms Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2014
Dear Down_Under01,

thank you so much for your review! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and for pointing out the areas we need to improve in.

I hope we will see you again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Marianne, marketing coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    114
    104
    39
    33
See reviews for
96
138
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

It is quite old hotel but still keep good standard. The hotel is kept very clean, whole staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are are nice and comfortable. Unfortunately there are some minuses - no minibar and tea/coffee in the room. The isolation of rooms is poor so if you have a noisy neighborhood you have a bad night. And unfortunately the breakfast are no too good, specially the warm ones.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichalK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrHolmsHotel, Public Relations Manager at Dr. Holms Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2014
Dear MichalK74,

thank you so much for reviewing Dr Holms Hotel!

I am sorry that your stay with us was not 100%. However I am thankful that you have made us aware of your experience and therefore given us the possibility to improve.

Kind regards,
Marianne, marketing coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
160 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is one of those older, ultra comfortable hotels. Lounges to pick and choose, one overlooking the beautiful views of Geilo, a dance floor and piano music after dinner, a beautiful library and a massive dining area. There is a spa available to guests, with a Jacuzzi outside and inside, 2 indoor pools, sauna and spaces to relax outside or inside. This was amazing. I enjoyed the stay and in the evening we had their buffet dinner. Most impressive.

Room Tip: It's a very large hotel with many, many rooms but any would be just as comfortable. There are pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manya-ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrHolmsHotel, Public Relations Manager at Dr. Holms Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2014
Dear Manya-ct,

thank you so much for reviewing us on tripadvisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Marianne, marketing coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Coast.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We arrived by train, breaking the trip between Oslo and Bergen. Reception was very friendly but when my husband tried to change the room to a double, he was told all the rooms are twins and the beds would be pushed together while we had dinner. Dinner was OK but expensive for a gristley steak. When we arrived back to the room, the beds were pushed together - but of uneven heights!
The next morning we found one of the towels was so threadbare, it had a hole in it. However, a good night's sleep, and breakfast was excellent in a beautiful room. The other public rooms were amazing. We understand such an historic hotel is expensive to upkeep but an even, double bed and better towels would've made a world of difference to our experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrHolmsHotel, Public Relations Manager at Dr. Holms Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2014
Dear Gahwan,

thank you so much for staying with us this winter and for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor.

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us to the fullest, but I am thankful that you made us aware of your experience and therefore given us the possibility to impove.

Kind regards,
Marianne, marketing coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Had a wonderful stay at this hotel just a couple of days back. Great check in with a award winning smile.
I had a single room as i was travelling just by myself. Room was heated with single bed, Clean, tidy, bedroom with telly, roomservice, the shower was great but small. Bedroom view looked onto the snow dusted mountain as this was early summer hence snow .. Nice coffee shop,nice hotel..just by railway station.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lauga84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrHolmsHotel, Public Relations Manager at Dr. Holms Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2014
Dear Lauga84,

thank you so much for taking the time to review us and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope you would like to come back and stay with us again!

Kind regards,
Marianne, marketing coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here for only one night, but it was problematic.
We arrived at the train station with our bags. We had been told that someone would be there to meet us and take us to the hotel, but there was no one there. We waited around until everyone had left, and then didn't know what to do and went to ask the lady who worked at the train desk. She offered to call the hotel for us, which she did multiple times, but there was no answer. She thought that was strange.

She told us the hotel was very close and we could leave our suitcases and walk up to it, which we did. It was 12:30, and we were told our room wouldn't be ready until 3PM.

The room was small and old. Not awful, but certainly nothing great.

Everything was very expensive. Room, food, bowling, etc. The restaurant only had one dinner choice available. Breakfast was fine.

Nothing much to do in the town unless you're skiing. Otherwise you might as well just stay in the hotel.

We talked to the desk about checking out the next day, and we were told to be downstairs by 11AM and the van would take us and our suitcases to the train station for our 11:30 train.

We were downstairs at 11 and there was no van.

We asked the desk and were told they would call and he would come.

11:10 and still no van.

Asked a different person at the desk again and were told he was coming.

11:20 and still nothing. So we walked to the train station so we wouldn't miss our train.



I wouldn't mind walking so much if we hadn't been told otherwise so we could plan accordingly.

It seems the entire hotel is run by 19 year olds. I didn't see a single adult working there. Maybe that's why the service is lacking.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Huldufolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrHolmsHotel, Public Relations Manager at Dr. Holms Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2014
Dear Huldufolk,

I am so sorry for the unpleasant experience you had with us. I am appreciate that you took the time to review us here on tripadvisor so that we can become aware of your experience and improve.

I hope we will be given the possibility to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Marianne, marketing coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geilo hotels

Lisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, just a weekends vacation.

Personal is fery frandly, everywhere extrimaly clean, was wery few ppl so we felt like all hotel works for us;)

Nice swimpool, jacuzzi outside with a view on a mountains.
Room servies is working perfect.

Only minus is too expensive! Like everything in Norway.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miss h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrHolmsHotel, Public Relations Manager at Dr. Holms Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2014
Dear miss h,

thank you so much for taking the time to review us!
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Dr Holms Hotel and we really hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Marianne, marketing coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geilo hotels
1.0 mi away
Vestlia Resort
Vestlia Resort
#1 of 13 in Geilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Geilo Hotel
Geilo Hotel
#3 of 13 in Geilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bardola Hotel
Bardola Hotel
#2 of 13 in Geilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ustedalen Hotel
Ustedalen Hotel
#4 of 13 in Geilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highland Lodge
Highland Lodge
#5 of 13 in Geilo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ro Hotel
Ro Hotel
#7 of 13 in Geilo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dr. Holms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dr. Holms Hotel

Property: Dr. Holms Hotel
Address: Timrehaugvegen 2, Geilo 3580, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Hol Municipality > Geilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Geilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dr. Holms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dr Holms Hotel - for your comfort and well-being. Dr Holms Hotel has been a source of recuperation, comfort and well-being since the beginning of the 20th century. Dr Holms is situated in the heart of the beautiful mountain scenery, and is a starting point for inspiring and exciting adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Dr. Holms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dr Holms Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing