We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old But Good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dr. Holms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dr. Holms Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Geilo
Brighton, East Sussex UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Old But Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

We were booked in here for one night to break our railway journey from Oslo to Bergen.

The hotel was built at the beginning of last century and retains many original features. The receptionist was extremely welcoming and very helpful. The room was ageing but perfectly comfortable with an impressive view over the mountains. The hotel swimming pool (indoors and heated) was a great bonus and of sufficient size to make swimming worthwhile. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant, chose to eat a la carte and had one of the best meals of our time in Norway - and it did not break the bank. (The restaurant was also serving a buffet evening meal that looked to be very good value.) Breakfast was also of a high standard and we very much enjoyed our brief stay in a hotel of character.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 110JOhnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrHolmsHotel, Public Relations Manager at Dr. Holms Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2014
Dear 110JOhnR,

thank you so much for your positive review!

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Dr. Holms Hotel and very thankful that you have shared your experience with us on tripadvisor.

I hope we will welcome you back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Marianne, marketing coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    111
    101
    38
    32
See reviews for
93
135
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night on our way back to Oslo from visiting the fjords. It is an older hotel that is under renovation currently but this didn't interfere with our appreciation of the history or ambiance of the place. Dinner and breakfast buffets were good, although the hot food was barely warm. Rooms were older but although the bathroom was small it was clean and more than adequate.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chloe3836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrHolmsHotel, Public Relations Manager at Dr. Holms Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2014
Dear Chloe3836,

thank you very much for the positive review!

I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and for sharing it on tripadvisor.

I hope we will see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Marianne, marketing coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki Greece
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Having follow a group of travellers , this hote wasn't my choice so I have had to take it. First but not least worst experience was a cold shower. Bathroom was quite dirty with some hair stuck on the tiles, soap was running out and the room was cold with the external temperature nine degrees. Later,while my wife tried to shower, the tap on the shower valve was broken! Room service came quickly and apologized for the mess, the excuse was that our room (217), was in the oldest part of the building. There were no excuses though for the worn towels. Anyways, room was spacious and the dinner was good.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gpissio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrHolmsHotel, Public Relations Manager at Dr. Holms Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2014
Dear gpissio,

I am very sorry for the unpleasant experience you had, I agree, this was unacceptable and I deeply apologise. However, I am very thankful that you shared your experience with us and to make us aware of the areas we must improve in.

Kind regards,
Marianne, marketing coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geilo hotels

Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night.
Helpful staff, plus for early check-in.
Classy, traditional hotel with modern facilities.
Both dinner and breakfast buffé had wide variations with extra gluten-free and lactose-free alternatives.
Make sure to enjoy the jacuzzi outside while you are there, it has a beautiful view over Geilo! The pools inside are also worth a visit.
Short walk to the city center.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carolina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrHolmsHotel, Public Relations Manager at Dr. Holms Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2014
Dear Carolina,

thank you very much for your positive review!

We are very happy that you enjoeyd your stay with us and for sharing your experience on tripadvisor.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards,
Marianne, marketing coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stopped at this hotel on our tour through Scandanavia. Older hotel, nicely kept up, but does show it's age. Enjoyed the pool and spa, closely located to smaller shopping area in ski resort town. Service was good, food was decent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don90_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrHolmsHotel, Public Relations Manager at Dr. Holms Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2014
Dear Don90_12,

thank you so much for taking the time to review Dr Holms Hotel on tripadvisor.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and thankful that you shared your experience and for making us aware of the areas we need to improve in.

I hope we will see you again!

Kind regards,
Marianne, marketing coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Such a pretty location! Yes the hotel is older style but it feels very comfortable and seems to suit the location. Not sure what it might be like in winter as our stay in June was very pleasant as we could even open our window to take in the fresh mountain air.
We had a buffet dinner in the restaurant which was delicious and found the staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was another buffet and very satisfying. Although only one night and then back on our tour to experience the Hardanger fjord I could recommend a stay at this pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrHolmsHotel, Public Relations Manager at Dr. Holms Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2014
Dear Wendy N,

thank you so much for your positive review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us this summer and we really hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Marianne, marketing coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were on our way from Oslo to Gudvangen for a Fjord Cruise and thus spent a night in Geilo at this hotel. This is a popular ski resort but are quiet in Mid July. Quite an old hotel which is shown from the room, bathroom, lounge, restaurant, etc. I would say, however, that it is a classic rather than an old one. The room is quite comforatable and sleep quality is high. Dinner (buffet) is a delight with plenty of choices, esp. Grilled Salmon is perfect. Bathroom is small with only a shower gel provided, and water spill out of the bath tub when showering and thus should be improved. Free wifi available.

I like the hotel. particularly, the decoration in the lobby, the lounge, and dining hall. European classy! The views surrounding of the hotel, however, are the winner. Sitting in the lounge at 9pm with hot tea (or a beer),when the sun is still shining, looking out of the window, I can feel the beauty, calm, and tranquility, very relaxing indeed. Will go back again if I have a chance.

Room Tip: not on a ground floor with no mountain view, please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanchaiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrHolmsHotel, Public Relations Manager at Dr. Holms Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2014
Dear WanchaiS,

thank you so much for visiting ut this summer and for reveiwing Dr. Holms Hotel on tripadvisor!

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and in particular the view. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Marianne, marketing coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geilo hotels
1.0 mi away
Vestlia Resort
Vestlia Resort
#1 of 13 in Geilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Geilo Hotel
Geilo Hotel
#4 of 13 in Geilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bardola Hotel
Bardola Hotel
#2 of 13 in Geilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ustedalen Hotel
Ustedalen Hotel
#3 of 13 in Geilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highland Lodge
Highland Lodge
#5 of 13 in Geilo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ro Hotel
Ro Hotel
#7 of 13 in Geilo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dr. Holms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dr. Holms Hotel

Property: Dr. Holms Hotel
Address: Timrehaugvegen 2, Geilo 3580, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Hol Municipality > Geilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Geilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dr. Holms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dr Holms Hotel - for your comfort and well-being. Dr Holms Hotel has been a source of recuperation, comfort and well-being since the beginning of the 20th century. Dr Holms is situated in the heart of the beautiful mountain scenery, and is a starting point for inspiring and exciting adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dr. Holms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dr Holms Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing