We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch out there's a thief about”
Review of Dr. Holms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dr. Holms Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Geilo
Northants
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Watch out there's a thief about”
Reviewed 15 February 2007

I wrote a review last February about our stay at Dr Holms, but it seems to have disappeared.
Small rooms, a bit shabby etc, but the thing that was most upsetting was that my husband has his brand new salomon shoes stolen from the locker room. I hope that they have upgraded their security since last year.

Overall food was great, but we left on a sour note as the hotel staff just were not interested in their lack of security.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoppyParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    114
    104
    39
    33
See reviews for
96
138
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hinsdale, IL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2006

We stayed in the Dr. Holmes hotel for one evening while driving from Oslo to the Bergen area. Our room comfortably accomodated 2 adults and one 12 year old child. The hotel was charming and the staff assisted us with all of our requests. Over the years this place has hosted a number of dignitaries and celebrity guests and also had some interesting history dating from WW II and the German occupation of Norway.

The only drawback was the fact that they are in the middle of a large expansion project. The work didn't disrupt the stay significantly (except for noise when they started work around 7:30 a.m.) but this place will be much better when the project is completed.

For dinner I ate from the buffet and was quite pleased with the selection and quality of the food. My wife and daughter ordered off the menu and their food was fantastic although it took a very long time to get served. The breakfast buffet was your typical fare for most nice European hotels - it was fine.

The spa area was beautiful. The steam room and sauna were first class and the pool was peaceful and extremely clean. Getting to the spa was somewhat treacherous because of the construction. You had to traverse some a couple temporary walkways to get there but once you arrived it was worth the trouble.

Geilo is primarily a winter skiing destination but this town and hotel were perfectly acceptable for a brief summer stay. If we ever travel to this part of Norway again we would definately stay here again - I am sure it will be a first class destination once they have completed all of the construction.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank ThreePuttPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2006

We stayed here for a week in February 2006. Overall it is a lovely hotel. Just a few points to add to other reviews:

The food was superb. One evening there was an excellent buffet, for the rest it was waiter service with a fixed menu (no choice). This was quite honestly the best food I have ever eaten anywhere. Absolutely delicious, beautifully prepared and presented. The only downside was the wine, which we felt was both awful and outrageously overpriced. We had wine on 3 evenings, ranging from £35 - £50 per bottle. Quite frankly, it was nearly undrinkable. At home, I would have been annoyed if I'd paid £5 for it from a supermarket.

Other minor points:

The saunas are in the changing rooms, so, disappointingly, you can't share a sauna with your partner.

I gave up ordering coffee from the bar - the water was barely warm.

I thought the bar and lounge areas were rather gloomy and slightly chilly. There is an outside patio for smokers (no indoor smoking in Norway); this is heated, but the heaters are wall-mounted and appear to be on timers, so they turn off before you've finished smoking - and are only effective if you're right up close. So if you like your cigarettes, you'll always need to have a warm jacket with you!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shivari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2006

Went with my husband and daughter, aged 4. Overall the holiday was fantastic and we were really pleased with the hotel. There is building work going on (an extension) but we can honestly say we were totally undisturbed by it.
The pool is generally very quiet, though the water is pretty chilly when you first get in.
Agree that the changing room is quite small, but do we really care? There was generally never anyone else in there anyway. Showers great.
Our bedroom was also quite small. There was a sofa bed in there for our daughter, so if you go as a couple it will be more than fine.
Food was absoloutely unbelievable. We had three course gourmet meals every night, except for one where it was a sea food buffet with lobsters, oysters, smoked salmon etc. They are also happy to do burgers and chips etc for the kids. The staff were the nicest we've come accross. Genuinely happy to help. Everyones English is perfect. Dinner is served to the music of a pianist on the grand panio!
There are a few stuffed animals here and there but other than that I saw no evidence of the hotel looking tired...it was far from it. It was clean, elegant and really quite special (other than for a few dining room chairs whose arms were getting a bit threadbare).
Alcohol really expensive. £6 for a small glass of house wine! But there is a wine shop in the village. We filled an ice bucket with snow to chill some wine in the room! The cheapest wine at dinner was around just over twenty pound a bottle, so not bad.
Skiing is really good. Runs were shorten than we were used to but as there were no queues at the lifts it didn't matter at all.
We loved this holiday and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 January 2006

We had a great week staying at the Dr Holms hotel. There was some building work and improvements to the hotel but this did not affect the stay. Food was amazingly good and the staff very eager to please. Skiing was good lots of different types of runs to keep most people happy.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2005

We stayed at Dr Holms for a weekend of skiing, and will never, ever return.

The hotel itself has a certain charm, but is looking a bit tired. However, we experienced a lot of problems while there, which the staff failed to deal with at all.

The dinner buffet was absolutely dreadful (you had to stay half board). Both the cold and hot buffets looked like they had been left out for a very long time. The hot buffet contained very dry, tough and unappetising meat. The cold buffet contained a lot of fish and seafood, from which I got food poisoning. When we told reception the next day, their response to that was that no one else had reported getting food poisoning, so it mustn't have been food poisoning.

Also on the Friday night, in our room we could hear the live band almost as well as if we were actually in the bar. Complaints to reception were met with the comment 'everyone else is enjoying the music, why don't you?'. However the music lasted until 2am, and we were there to ski so would have liked to get some sleep.

We moved rooms for the Saturday night and were then overlooking the front of the hotel (well away from the bar), but we could then hear every conversation of the people who had been enjoying the music until 2am, as they left.

I tried to speak to the manager all weekend about the problems (noise and food), and everytime we had 'just missed him, but he'll come and find you when he's back'. Needless to say he didn't. I asked to see him about 5 times.

The pool is quite pleasant if there aren't many people there. There are saunas in the change areas, but they fit about 4 people each and the change areas are really small.

It is also extremely expensive. I know hotel prices in Norway are high (I live in London so am used to high prices), but I think Dr Holms is way overpriced for what you get, and well past it. I would advise anyone thinking of staying there to find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geilo hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 December 2003

Excellent service and exclusive surroundings located near the lifts, railwaystation and airport.See their website.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geilo hotels
1.0 mi away
Vestlia Resort
Vestlia Resort
#1 of 13 in Geilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Geilo Hotel
Geilo Hotel
#3 of 13 in Geilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bardola Hotel
Bardola Hotel
#2 of 13 in Geilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ustedalen Hotel
Ustedalen Hotel
#4 of 13 in Geilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highland Lodge
Highland Lodge
#5 of 13 in Geilo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ro Hotel
Ro Hotel
#7 of 13 in Geilo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dr. Holms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dr. Holms Hotel

Property: Dr. Holms Hotel
Address: Timrehaugvegen 2, Geilo 3580, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Hol Municipality > Geilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Geilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dr. Holms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dr Holms Hotel - for your comfort and well-being. Dr Holms Hotel has been a source of recuperation, comfort and well-being since the beginning of the 20th century. Dr Holms is situated in the heart of the beautiful mountain scenery, and is a starting point for inspiring and exciting adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Dr. Holms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dr Holms Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing