We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top facilities, great location, couldn't be better!”
Review of Highland Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highland Lodge
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Geilo
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Top hotel just undergone refurbishment. Right in the heart of Geilo with pool, jacuzzi and sauna, and fantastic lounge. Great heated storage lockers for ski kit ( dry, warm gloves and boots each day). Three minute walk from Nordic trails, about ten to ski lifts, ski bus stops outside hotel. Loved our stay, will go again next year !!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grumski56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

This is a very good hotel with excellent service. Good rooms and very good food. The lobby is a very cosy place and this is with no doubt a hotel you will feel at home in.
Check also out Dr.Holms hotel at Geilo, a valid competitor.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Photofredrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Had a very pleasant stay at Highland this weekend. The staff is extremely service minded and make the best effert to make the stay comfortable.

I like the reception area especially good, as this clearly is newly renovated.

Try the restaurant! The food is amazing!! Local food prepared in the best way!

If you want a genuine Norwegian mountain experience, stay at Geilo and Highland!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pål N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I thought I had given this beautiful Hotel a review before now ...but I hadn't and so here goes! Well for one it really is very cosy and very nicely furnished with wonderful unique wooden coffee tables surrounded by velvet luxurious sofas and chairs (this is in the bar/reception area) a really nice comfortable place to sit and relax reading with a coffee or as we did one evening watch a film or the skiing on the huge flat screen tv! Also there was a lovely cosy log fire going too! So as soon as you enter this Hotel it makes you feel welcome and you like it!
Our room was a little small and at the side above the car park, not what we had asked for as we had wanted a nice view. But upon questioning this, the very next morning we were shown two rooms to choose from by the lovely girl in charge of cleaning them and we moved to a bigger one complete with a wooden balcony complete with huge icicles hanging from our roof, with a spectacular view of the Ski slopes and little houses ect! It was warm and very cosy!
Breakfast was without fault and one of the very best! I just could not believe the choice! Delicious!
We used the pool and sauna whilst we stayed which was really good too! Everything was immaculate.
We only ate in the restaurant one evening but the food was extremely good (just a little pricey!) and again the furnishings and ambience was perfect!
Staff were very nice and we even got fetched from the train station with all our luggage when we arrived and at the end of our week we got a ride back to the station! I really did love staying here, it was pretty amazing!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony at the rear of the main building. The views are so wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teena_marina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika E, Reservation Manager at Highland Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear guest, thank you so much for taking the time writing such a detailed and nice review on Tripadvisor. Welcome back to Highland Lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had some very relaxing days at the Highland Lodge. It was our first visit but definitely not the last. Everybody were very friendly and helpful which we appreciated a lot.

The hotel is situated in beautiful surroundings and there are many possibilities for day trips, for example to Hardangervidda, or you can chill out on the terrace (we did!).

Both my husband and I had some lovely treatments at the Spa and the restaurant offered delicious meals. We could go on forever but all in all we are very pleased with our decision to stay at this hotel (lodge).
Yes, Norway is an expensive country but we think it was well worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ForeverTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika E, Reservation Manager at Highland Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear guest, thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review at Tripadvisor, and I happy to read that you enjoyed our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed a two nights stay at Highland Lodge Geilo in the period August 29 to August 31.

The Highland Lodge Geilo has one of the most impressive sitting areas in any Norwegian hotel ! Comfortable chairs and sofas and an easygoing attitude among staff and guests !

We really enjoyed the restaurant meals. The food was excellent and the staff did an excellent job ! As in most Norwegian hotels, the breakfast meals are not so impressive and could and should be improved in some areas.

The hotel rooms have been renovated to some extent. Especially the bathrooms However, the rooms are still too small and not really "cosy". Just have a look at some of the better Bavarian hotels in Germany and the Tyrolean hotels in Austria.. Geilo is one of the "alpine resorts" in Norway. Thereby, it should also be compared favourably to hotels in the Alps. So far so good, but still a long way to go. Especially when it comes to beds and sitting comfort in the rooms. The balconies have a nice view. However, it seems to be a bit risky on the balconies, they seem to be able to fall down at any moment !

The resort of Geilo is situated at the Bergen railway line, one of the most impressive railway distances in Europe. The trip by train from Oslo is about 3,5 hours, and just a little less from Bergen on the west coast. There is a friendly and convenient shuttle service to the hotel and back to the train again.

The name Highland has of course something to do with the Scottish Highlands. At least from an investor from Scotland who made the initial investment back in the 1950's to establish this friendly and comfortably hotel.

A wonderful spa is a great plus at this hotel. Pool, sauna, jacuzzi. Just a bit too difficult for some to enter the pool with some "old fashioned stairs into the pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view to Vestlia !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torolav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika E, Reservation Manager at Highland Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013
Google Translation

Kjære gjest, tusen takk for at du tok deg tiden til å gi mange hyggelige tilbakemeldinger. Alle dine tilbakemeldinger blir registrert slik at vi kan forbedre oss på det som ikke er fullt så bra. Med vennlig hilsen, Erika Eriksson, Bookingsjef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and had a family room for 2 adults and 2 kids. Size of room was good, bath OK and the balcony a nice feature. The most we were impressed was the lobby area. It really invites you for relaxing, reading a book or just to hang around after a day out hiking. Once we had dinner and enjoyed it very much. Breakfast was good but a bit hectic at the buffet because of the many tour guests. The waiters were also a bit overwhelmed at the breakfast, as empty tables were not cleaned up timely. Would we stay again? Defenitly! We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geilo hotels
1 mi away
Vestlia Resort
Vestlia Resort
#1 of 13 in Geilo
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dr. Holms Hotel
Dr. Holms Hotel
#6 of 13 in Geilo
432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Geilo Hotel
Geilo Hotel
#3 of 13 in Geilo
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ustedalen Hotel
Ustedalen Hotel
#4 of 13 in Geilo
184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bardola Hotel
Bardola Hotel
#2 of 13 in Geilo
238 reviews
9.5 mi away
Lia Fjellhotel
Lia Fjellhotel
#9 of 13 in Geilo
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Lodge

Address: Lienvegen 11 | P.O. Box 55, Geilo 3580, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Hol Municipality > Geilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Geilo
Price Range: £116 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Highland Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Highland Lodge - located in the mountain village Geilo in Norway. The hotel is newly renovated in 2014, with a New lounge area and New hotelrooms and Apartments. The hotell is located right in the middle of Geilo, and the ski buss stops right outside and we are very Close to the cross country tracks in wintertime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highland Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn Geilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing