We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No level of service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Highland Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highland Lodge
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Geilo
Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No level of service”
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Check in is at 15.00. Eventhough we requested, days before arrival, to be alloved to check in early on account of the children, we had to wait until 17.00 to check in. Considering that the hotel was almost without guests at the time this was rather strange... The following days we experienced several more incidents that in sum left us with a feeling that the management of the hotel had no interest in delivering the level of service a hotel in this pricerange commands.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gitel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    42
    26
    13
    11
See reviews for
31
27
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2007

We stayed at the Highland Hotel in Feb 2007. Our rooms were large, with twin beds plus a separate (screened off) seating area, and were very warm and comfortable. Facilities within the rooms are basic - take a kettle if you like coffee after a hard day, and take your own bathroom supplies - tissues, soap etc (and soft toilet paper!!). Bar area was lovely - usually very quiet with most people gone by 10pm. A nightclub was advertised on the web-site which - fortunately! - we never saw nor heard. The hotel is very quiet despite being on the main road through Geilo.

The only disadvantage we found was having to rely on the ski bus to get us to and from the ski area every day - it was not always at a time that we wanted to leave. Having said that, we are already planning next year's trip ...

  • Liked — The heated bathroom floor
  • Disliked — Some of the reception staff were less than helpful
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank juliefromsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 January 2006

Great hotel with fantastic lounge/bar area, loads of comfy seating/open fires etc. Nice quiet room with shower. Half-board meals included extensive hot/cold buffet breakfast (bags provided if you wanted to make a picnic lunch!) and set evening meal(unfortunately no early option for toddlers). Wine very expensive, more affordable at the off-licence in town. Central location between ski areas & close to shops, although ski bus timetable was hard to work out. Small playroom with toys for all ages plus TV game. The good sized pool could have been warmer & a mixed sex sauna would have been nice. All in all a top choice but not quite as family friendly as I expected from norway.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2006

Stayed in the Highland after Christmas and over New Year 2006. The room's seem varied and the 3 we had all had slightly different decor and facilities, some with showers, some with bath's so ask for what you prefer. All were clean and warm, with under 'bathroom' heating, which was great for warming the gloves for the next day!

All staff were efficient and helpful, if not all with a smile. The 3 course set menu in the evening was excellent, with the food being of very high standard. There was always a 'child' friendly option.

The 'Piano' bar had lots of very comfortable seating, and the pianist had a wide range of music, although it was pumped round the speaker system a little too loud at times.

Make sure you get down for coffee and cakes at 16:00 on time, as the cake goes quickly (no hot drink facilities in the rooms). Drinks were very expensive with 2 sizes of lager available - 0.4l £5, 0.6l (just over a pint) £7.50. Didn't even contemplate bottles of wine or shorts.

There is a computer which is free to use the internet, although you will have to sit in line to get on it.

Overall a comfortable hotel with great food and social areas, some rooms a little tired, and some staff could smile a little more.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarkViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2005

Arrived in Geilo, at the Highland Hotel on Boxing Day 2004. It's centrally located & ideal for the slopes, being about a 20 minute walk from Geilolia slopes if you fancied it, or failing that the ski bus stopped right outside regularly.
The room was on the small side with just a shower in the bathroom, although other rooms had both. However it was warm, dry, clean & perfectly adequate as a place to stay & sleep after a hard day on the slopes.
The staff were all very friendly & helpful, & nothing seemed to be any trouble for them. The food at dinner was pretty much given to you with no menu choices, which takes some getting used to, having said that the standard of cuisine & cooking was very high & children were catered for at a childrens buffet, & there was always 3 courses.
Didn't really have much to do with the entertainment, although it was a chap playing the piano in the piano bar, no less & was inoffensive enough, there was also a projector television there which showed live premiership games & occasional cartoons for children.
It has a pool, gym, & sauna, which we didn't use much, apart from the pool on one occasion & it was adequate enough.
I can have no complaints about the hotel, it's staff, food or standard of rooms & I had the best holiday ever with the skiing too.

I recommend the Highland as a great central location near the slopes & shops, don't let the price put you off, it is Scandinavia after all !!

Helpful?
10 Thank Dannygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 December 2004

Geilo what a place ! A magical way to spend christmas with your family. So much to do Horse Sleigh rides through forests at night, dog sledding, sledging, forest walks.
We stayed at the Highland hotel for christmas week and I can honestly say it was outstanding. The staff were freindly and helpful, we had live entertainment in the piano bar every evening and the food, well I've never seen so much - we ate like kings and queens. The service was impeccable and the atmosphere in the hotel made the best chrismas we've ever had. The children saw father christmas in the hotel with his reindeer and we took a present for both our children which reception took of us when we arrived - secretly of course - they passed them onto father christmas who gave them out on christmas eve, while everyone was dressed up in black tie etc, the children really believe in santa now !!! and I do because I met him !!!!!. Make your own mind up about this hotel but we can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed December 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 December 2003

The Highland Hotel Geilo NorwayTruly awful, disorganised, shabby, unfriendly. Not the traditional hotel it claims to be but a modern barn with tartan trimmings and one room with exposed wooden beams. Bad entertainment. Food awful.Geilo however is fantastic! Just stay at a different hotel.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geilo hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geilo hotels
0.2 mi away
Dr. Holms Hotel
Dr. Holms Hotel
#6 of 13 in Geilo
378 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vestlia Resort
Vestlia Resort
#1 of 13 in Geilo
276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Geilo Hotel
Geilo Hotel
#3 of 13 in Geilo
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bardola Hotel
Bardola Hotel
#2 of 13 in Geilo
189 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ustedalen Hotel
Ustedalen Hotel
#4 of 13 in Geilo
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ro Hotel
Ro Hotel
#7 of 13 in Geilo
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Lodge

Property: Highland Lodge
Address: Lienvegen 11 | P.O. Box 55, Geilo 3580, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Hol Municipality > Geilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Geilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Highland Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Highland Lodge - located in the mountain village Geilo in Norway. The hotel is newly renovated in 2014, with a New lounge area and New hotelrooms and Apartments. The hotell is located right in the middle of Geilo, and the ski buss stops right outside and we are very Close to the cross country tracks in wintertime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highland Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn Geilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing