We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ro Hotel”
Review of Ro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ro Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Geilo
Reviewed 6 April 2007

We stayed at the Ro Hotel in March 2007. Slap bang next to the train station and, as noted by other posters, train noise just isn't a problem as there are relatively few trains and they seem quite quiet.

The hotel is small and is not facility driven. There was no option to have your clothes washed, which was a bit of a pain. But the room was pleasant, the radiator was post-nuclear when called upon and the shower room was fine.

Breakfast and dinner were really very satisfactory; we didn't call upon the sandwich thing for lunch. The lounge was not really much more than a couple of extra chairs in the breakfast area.

The Ro Hotel is superb for the station, and it is only a five minute walk to the Slaata ski centre which was very handy indeed. The Geilola ski centre, which was a bit more open plan but had fewer runs, is over the water and requires hopping on the bus.

We had a great time in Geilo and the Ro Hotel was just the ticket for a comfortable stay, not having to worry about food and for proximity to the ski slopes.

I wouldn't say Geilo is throbbing with nightlife. It seems to centre on Dr Holms hotel, where there is a lively bar lounge and a bowling alley. If you are looking to get up, go skiing, come back, have some food and collapse before doing it all again, the Ro Hotel is a great option. I would very happily stay there again - though I would take more clothes on account on the dearth of laundry.

Nb for internet, the best option is the three free broadband computers in the Dr Holms internet cafe, between the Ro and the Slaata skicentre.

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank Brittraveller92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2007

This was our second trip to Geilo for skiing, and we wanted a place with meals provided instead of an apartment as used on our previous trip.
We found the hotel on the Geilo website (--), but went to the hotel website to book.
The rooms are a bit small, but come with satelite TV with BBC, one German and a few Norwegian channels. There is also a coffee table and a couple of good chairs. The pressure on the shower is very good and feels more like having a warm massage. Really enjoyable after a day in the ski tracks.
We paid just below NOK 500 a day. This included breakfast and dinner, plus opportunity to prepare your own sandwiches for lunch at the ski-tracks. The breakfast is traditional norwegian with a varity of breads, cold cuts, cheeses and herrings plus cereals. The dinners consist of soup or appetiser, main course, dessert and coffee/tea . The portions are generous, and the menus well planned, and the food well-made.
For those who arrive by train or bus, and don't have their own transport, there are bus services to the skitracks leaving just outside the hotel entrance. You can get very nice cakes for your tea at the bakery next door. Supermarkets, various cafes and shops are within aproximately five minutes walk from the hotel.
The staff is very friendly, and the room was quiet. You could hardly hear the sounds of the trains.
So if you are going to Geilo and want a affordable and nice place to stay, the Ro Hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ingvald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2006

We managed to get in on a cancellation - we somehow did not think to prebook accommodation over Easter and everything in Geilo was fully booked. We were offered a 3 night stay, longer than we were after but we snatched the opportunity.

Ro Hotel (family run) is situated right on the train line, you cannot miss it when you get off the train. For its location, there is surprisingly little train noise. It is also about 10 min walk to the slopes, has a bakery next door, close to tourism info and supermarket.

The charge was around 750 kroners each per night which we thought was quite a lot - however, this does include breakfast, dinner and you are encouraged to make sandwiches to take up on the slopes with you. Alcohol an expensive addition, but that is expected in Norway. Dinner was always 3 courses, usually soup, main and then desert. All excellent.

Room was fine and clean. Private wetroom with excellent pressure in the shower.

Had tv with BBC channel.

The only downside was our very noisy neighbours. But this could not be helped by owners, and may not happen all the time!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svdtang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lory21021977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Choisir un autre hôtel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sergio34160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silje K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MssIwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geilo hotels
0.2 mi away
Geilo Hotel
Geilo Hotel
#3 of 13 in Geilo
104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ustedalen Hotel
Ustedalen Hotel
#4 of 13 in Geilo
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dr. Holms Hotel
Dr. Holms Hotel
#7 of 13 in Geilo
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bardola Hotel
Bardola Hotel
#2 of 13 in Geilo
238 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vestlia Resort
Vestlia Resort
#1 of 13 in Geilo
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highland Lodge
Highland Lodge
#6 of 13 in Geilo
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ro Hotel

Address: Geilovegen 55-57, Geilo 3581, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Hol Municipality > Geilo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Geilo
Price Range: £83 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ro Hotel Geilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing