We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spa experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farris Bad Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Farris Bad Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Larvik
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spa experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I can really recommend this spa hotel. A great spa experience, great facilities and additional good spa programs included in the price. I really enjoyed the spa aufguss and sauna with a sea horizon view. Delicate rooms and great service. They can improve slightly on the evening restaurant and food, but overall a great hotel experience!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Line V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    236
    125
    38
    13
See reviews for
58
479
36
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vollen, Norge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I can really recommend this hotel. A beautiful beach location and breathtaking views towards Skagerrak. Great location with inspiring art on the walls. Scandinavia's largest spa facilities which were very comprehensive and professionally. The Heyerdahl suite was fantastic, and all the staff was incredibly nice and professional

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayBrittBjerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kjopsvik, Norway
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I have used this hotel twise. The first time I was on business, and the hotel har special rates for the company I was visiting then. My room then was a very good room, but the suite is even better. As expected. The second time I got the "Larvikitt Suite". It was a bit "well used", but still exclusive and nice. The spa area was very nice and clean. The spa closed a bit to early I think. The prices is a bit high I think. I was not able to get massage, so this probably have to be ordered in advance, before you arrive at the hotel. But it was a very nice stay. I really want to go back there soon.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnreewes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

My fiance booked us a weekend here and I was excited as i had heard great things about the spa. The room was nice, facing the sea (although it was low season so not many people) but I was really dissapointed with the spa. Im not a very uptight person, but most Norwegians are not used to nudity in public baths which are more common in other countries. Honestly, if people want to be naked sitting on their towen in the sauna its fine, but in the bubble bath with other people and pubic hair floating around? no thanks.. The only area with clothes is the very boring swimming pool. The spa is divided from this with walls and large signs recommending taking clothes of. I actually felt preassured, and weird wearing my swimsuit. It is even a day a week where it is obligatory to go nudist! Again Im an open minded person, but I did not find this relaxing at all rather the oposite.. Oh, and we ordered room service for dinner as I was tired, and that costs 100 krones extra! wow, it is Norway but that is crazy!!!!

Room Tip: ask for seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Journey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Had a very nice stay at Farris Bad, but expected more exclusivity for that price.

We were there in a particularily busy time of year, and the spa area was a bit crowded and loud for my taste. I was not able to relax 100%. I think that they should only allow hotel guests entrance to the spa area in busy periods of the year. I enjoyed a spa treatment package, which was actually worth the 1600 NOK. The Spa has a variety of pools, saunas, steam rooms, all good quality.

The restaurant was also crowded, but they managed to deliver a surprisingly good 3 course in a reasonable time period. To sum up - Good quality throughout, but probably better to visit outside the busiest parts of the season.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kjersti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I recently treated myself to a weekend at the Farris Bad Hotel & Spa. I had a lovely weekend but there is definitely room for improvement.
The room rate was NOK 1,940 and at that price I wouldn't expect to have a room that really needed a new coat of paint. There was also a plastic orchid in the bathroom. I’d personally rather not have a plant than have a plastic one. I also noted that the plants in the spa were plastic. The toilet paper in the bathroom was cheap as well. I would expect more from such a high-end hotel. The room was nice though, the bed was comfortable and everything I needed was there. I did notice that there was no room safe which I was surprised by although I didn't need one.
I can’t fault the spa and I thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of it. I had a great massage and some lovely treatments. All the saunas and pools were excellent as well.
I think the biggest let down was the food. Breakfast was pretty decent with a wide range of food in the buffet. The coffee was pretty poor though. The lunch buffet was quite disappointing. The prepared food was pretty mediocre. On my second day I opted for a la carte which was marginally better. Dinner was the most disappointing. Nothing I had was bad but it wasn't very good either. I realise it’s a big hotel with lots of guests but it was clear that nothing was made to order and it felt very institutionalised. And the bread at all meals was not great either which is bad considering Norway has awesome bread. It’s a shame that the hotel is really let down by the restaurant.
The service I received from the staff was very good and as stated I had a very nice weekend but there are several areas in which big improvements could be made, especially considering the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We recently had a weekend trip to Farris Bad in Larvik, Norway. This was in general a very nice hotel, with an excellent spa area (in fact one of the better equipped spa we have ever visited). However when it came to the room we were unfortunately a bit disappointed. We booked a deluxe room with sea view. From the pictures on their website it seems like your getting a "spa bath" with a window directly overviewing the ocean. This was not the case. This is actually misleading marketing and should be taken care of by the management. With a room only price of 3000NOK per night you expect to get what you pay for.

The spa area was unfortunately packed with people most of the time. Especially was this the case for Friday evening and Sunday morning/afternoon. One idea would be to give priority entrance for the hotel guests and have an max allowance of people that are not guests at the hotel, especially at peak times in the weekend. We would also like to point out car parking. We paid an additional 180NOK per day for parking, one suggestion would be to include this in the room price, especially if your booking one of the more expensive rooms at the hotel.

Even though we would like to give it "very good" due to the excellent spa area - the overall impression don't reach up this time because of the room versus the price we paid for it. In the end we actually feel like we have been deceived by their marketing on their website in regards to the room specification.

Room Tip: Deluxe room is not worth the price. Choose a cheaper room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vaganor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larvik
3.7 mi away
Hotel Wassilioff
Hotel Wassilioff
#2 of 5 in Larvik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Grand Farris
8.9 mi away
Scandic Park Sandefjord
Scandic Park Sandefjord
#2 of 5 in Sandefjord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic
10.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Skaergaarden
15.2 mi away
Engo Gard Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farris Bad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farris Bad Hotel

Property: Farris Bad Hotel
Address: Fritzoee Brygge 2, Larvik 3264, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Vestfold > Larvik Municipality > Larvik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Larvik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Farris Bad Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Farris Bad in Larvik, Norway's most exclusive spa hotel for both private guests and conferences. This Spahotel has been in operation since 2009 and has a stunning beach- and ocean view. With us you will find the largest and most comprehensive spahotel in the Nordic region. In our spa area you get treatments and wonderful massages by our talented spa therapists and in our restaurant you will find cuisine made with the best local ingredients and daily fresh seafood. For the complete experience we offer spa facilities and package solutions, both single day and for the perfect weekend. Our romantic bestseller "Time for Love" includes a three course dinner, entrance to the spa, welcome drink in the room and breakfast buffet. Book a romantic weekend for two, a weekend with your best friends or play golf at the golf course nearby . All our hotel rooms are tastefully decorated and our suites were renovated in 2014. Make time for yourself and book yourself into a spa break today! Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Farris Bad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farris Bad Hotel Larvik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing