We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Grand Farris
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Larvik
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed here for our last night in Norway after touring by car for 2 weeks. We were taking the ferry to Hirtshals in the morning. The girl at reception was extremely helpful on arrival and told us what time to be at the ferry and that breakfast was at 6.30 but was usually available from 6.15 for people catching the ferry. She also told us about their waterfront restaurant which was a couple of minutes walk across the road from the hotel. You could charge the meal to the room. We went there for dinner and it was lovely with a great atmosphere. The room was very comfortable with a seaview and balcony and comfortably warm. We spent a very enjoyable evening in Larvik and had a great night's sleep in the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room. It is well worth it. Rooms at the back of the hotel look onto the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarlet-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2011

Stayed here for one night before taking the ferry to Hirtshals the next morning. But the hotel has a great location if you want to explore Larvik.

Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist, and our son received a welcome package and a baloon, which made his day. The room was clean and large with a nice seaview.

One of the conferencerooms in the basement was turned into a childrens playroom for the summer, and had many toys, games etc. The conference area could use a bit of a refresher however, as the walls looked as though they had sustained water damage and the toilets smelled a bit off. This did not bother my son though :-)

The breakfastbuffet was large and delicious, a great start to our vacation! The mood in the room was cozy with candlelight and nice decour.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tursjefen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The hotel has great sea view and is renovated. Line the receptionist was extremely courtiers, helpful and kind. When we asked to change to two rooms instead of the family room she gave us a special rate instead of charging the double price. She made sure we are comfortable and you could see she enjoys her work and cares about the guests. The hotel is great value for money , rooms and breakfast very good.

Room Tip: Be aware there is no A/C so it can get a bit hot in the room. Special rate for two rooms instead of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamar1_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Our coach tour party were on the last part of our Norway tour and were pleased to arrive after a tiring day. We found the staff attentive and our bedroom was clean. The bathroom was also immaculate. Evening dinner and breakfast the following day was ample and varied.
Slept well, view of the car park from the window did not matter as it was a one-night stop.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I stayed here for a 2 day seminar. Not expecting much, but was surprised on how nice and relaxing this hotel was. The location is great. The beach and view from hotel was great. The room was also very nice and comfortable. I had a view on the beach. Even though this was in March and still cold but the calm ocean breeze was very relaxing and made my stay a very plesant stay. Did not try the spa, but heard it was excellent. Would recommend this to couples!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cramz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Our room was very warm as if the air-condition was not working. In addition we could barely open the window. Apart from the heat it was an overal good experience

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cstrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Stayed here during a conference in room 323. The room had good space, nicely decorated and were spotless clean. Flatscreen TV and Viasat football channel was a big plus for my part. Bathroom was also spotless clean, but a little outdated. Breakfast was were good and staff very pleasant. The hotel could need a facelift though, but as I understand from a note in the elevator the hotel was being updated and redecorated at the moment. The softice and popcorn machine outside the conference room was really nice.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HansenStavern_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larvik
0.4 mi away
Farris Bad Hotel
Farris Bad Hotel
#1 of 4 in Larvik
1,141 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Wassilioff
Hotel Wassilioff
#1 of 1 in Stavern
142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trudvang Gjestegaard
Trudvang Gjestegaard
#4 of 4 in Larvik
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic
8.6 mi away
Scandic Park Sandefjord
Scandic Park Sandefjord
#2 of 5 in Sandefjord
571 reviews
14 mi away
Scandic Havna Tjome
Scandic Havna Tjome
#2 of 2 in Tjome
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Grand Farris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Grand Farris

Address: Storgata 38, Larvik 3256, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Vestfold > Larvik Municipality > Larvik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Larvik
Price Range: £97 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Grand Farris 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Grand Hotel Farris is situated in the heart of Larvik. From the hotel you can reach everything from trainstation, cinema, hearbour, beach, museums and shoppingcenter by walking approx. 5 minutes or less. The hotel offers a restaurant and a bar/lounge. Guests are served a complimentary breakfast each morning. Event facilities consist of conference/meeting rooms and small meeting rooms. The staff can arrange business services and currency exchange. Additional amenities include gift shops/newsstands, laundry facilities, and self parking. Quality Grand Hotel Farris has 90 guestrooms. Televisions are equipped with cable channels.Additional amenities include irons/ironing boards and trouser presses. All guestrooms at Quality Grand Hotel Farris are non-smoking. During sommertime we move our restaurant to PAKKHUSET nearby the waterfront! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Grand Farris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing