We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Hotel Grand Farris
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Larvik
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Simple but clean hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed in this hotel 3 days on a business trip. Location of the hotel is excellent with being just next to Larvik train station. The main shopping area is about 15 min walk.

Room was very simple. Bed was very narrow but hotel is very clean. Choices for breakfast are rather modest. Unfortunately some of the cheese choices were rather old and dry.

In overall, it is a tree star hotel, no more no less!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baboo_ghotbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    53
    71
    17
    9
See reviews for
41
42
12
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, UK
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I have previously reviewed this hotel in May 2008. I have since stayed in the hotel several times. Larvik is not very big so there are not many hotel options. The Farris Bad is a great hotel but can be quite expensive. Trudvang Gjestegaard is also a nice hotel but not as close to the bus/train station as the Quality Hotel Grand Farris. I usually stay in this hotel for one night and choose it because it is convenient. The decor is still very dated. I last stayed in June 2011 and was given a room with two single beds which had a view of the carpark. I booked this hotel last minute and it cost just under £70 through Booking.com. I think this is a bit expensive for what you get however the other hotels were more.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muldr4Scly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed in Superior-rooms. They were quite spacious. Bed was excellent, but bathroom was not the standard I expected in a up-greaded room.

The conference-room was nice with windows. Service was OK, not great.

The Spa-department was great. We used the saunaguss. And it was really nice. Recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghafsaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed here for our last night in Norway after touring by car for 2 weeks. We were taking the ferry to Hirtshals in the morning. The girl at reception was extremely helpful on arrival and told us what time to be at the ferry and that breakfast was at 6.30 but was usually available from 6.15 for people catching the ferry. She also told us about their waterfront restaurant which was a couple of minutes walk across the road from the hotel. You could charge the meal to the room. We went there for dinner and it was lovely with a great atmosphere. The room was very comfortable with a seaview and balcony and comfortably warm. We spent a very enjoyable evening in Larvik and had a great night's sleep in the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room. It is well worth it. Rooms at the back of the hotel look onto the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarlet-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Stayed here for one night before taking the ferry to Hirtshals the next morning. But the hotel has a great location if you want to explore Larvik.

Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist, and our son received a welcome package and a baloon, which made his day. The room was clean and large with a nice seaview.

One of the conferencerooms in the basement was turned into a childrens playroom for the summer, and had many toys, games etc. The conference area could use a bit of a refresher however, as the walls looked as though they had sustained water damage and the toilets smelled a bit off. This did not bother my son though :-)

The breakfastbuffet was large and delicious, a great start to our vacation! The mood in the room was cozy with candlelight and nice decour.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tursjefen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The hotel has great sea view and is renovated. Line the receptionist was extremely courtiers, helpful and kind. When we asked to change to two rooms instead of the family room she gave us a special rate instead of charging the double price. She made sure we are comfortable and you could see she enjoys her work and cares about the guests. The hotel is great value for money , rooms and breakfast very good.

Room Tip: Be aware there is no A/C so it can get a bit hot in the room. Special rate for two rooms instead of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamar1_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Our coach tour party were on the last part of our Norway tour and were pleased to arrive after a tiring day. We found the staff attentive and our bedroom was clean. The bathroom was also immaculate. Evening dinner and breakfast the following day was ample and varied.
Slept well, view of the car park from the window did not matter as it was a one-night stop.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larvik
0.4 mi away
Farris Bad Hotel
Farris Bad Hotel
#1 of 5 in Larvik
1,023 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Wassilioff
Hotel Wassilioff
#2 of 5 in Larvik
135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trudvang Gjestegaard
Trudvang Gjestegaard
#4 of 5 in Larvik
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Scandic Park Sandefjord
Scandic Park Sandefjord
#2 of 5 in Sandefjord
506 reviews
8.9 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic
10.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Skaergaarden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Grand Farris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Grand Farris

Property: Quality Hotel Grand Farris
Address: Storgata 38, Larvik 3256, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Vestfold > Larvik Municipality > Larvik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Larvik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Grand Farris 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Grand Hotel Farris is situated in the heart of Larvik. From the hotel you can reach everything from trainstation, cinema, hearbour, beach, museums and shoppingcenter by walking approx. 5 minutes or less. The hotel offers a restaurant and a bar/lounge. Guests are served a complimentary breakfast each morning. Event facilities consist of conference/meeting rooms and small meeting rooms. The staff can arrange business services and currency exchange. Additional amenities include gift shops/newsstands, laundry facilities, and self parking. Quality Grand Hotel Farris has 90 guestrooms. Televisions are equipped with cable channels.Additional amenities include irons/ironing boards and trouser presses. All guestrooms at Quality Grand Hotel Farris are non-smoking.During sommertime we move our restaurant to PAKKHUSET nearby the waterfront! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Grand Farris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing