We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worn out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Grand Farris
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Larvik
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The hotel is "worn". A bit outdated, no hangers for towels in our bathroom as they were all broken, toilet kept running all night long etc. Breakfast was good, but both mornings we stayed there they ran out of several items but did not refill, even though it was more than 1/2 hour till the breakfast ended.

We also had another issue: When we arrived at the room we realized we had been given a room with twin beds instead of the double requested. After a while they had it sorted out and gave ut another room with a so-called double bed - which was just two single beds put together. They kept sliding apart as well. Just not good enough!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dusin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2012

Best hotel we stayed in on our 10 nights in Norway, and definitely not the most expensive. Wonderfully helpful staff, Hege a receptionist is delightful and her help booking a ferry, due to our lack of Norwegian was extremely kind of her. The rooms are large and nicely modernised with views over the sea, the restaurant on the pier is a lovely quirky place and has a lovely menu.
The breakfast was the best I have seen, so much choice from smoked salmon, fresh breads, best homemade strawberry jam ever, lots of cold meats cheeses, the list could go on. Just the best. We checked out hoping to squeeze our motorbikes on the full am ferry (had booking due to Hege for the evening one) but alas it was full. so we came back and they kindly gave us our room back and charged less than full for us to keep the room for the day.
A real gem, and a big thank you, I wish more hotels were like this

Room Tip: Facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jewelly100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed only for one night on our way to Denmark. Nice hotel. Spacious and clean rooms. Staff were very helpful and service minded. Wouldn't mind staying there again.

We arrived late in the evening and left early next morning so we didn't have time to explore the hotel properly, but the impression were very good. Only drawback was the bar just down the street that made lots of noise until 2-3 AM.

Excellent breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrab78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Pretty run-down rooms and outdated bathrooms, but everything is clean and in order. Claustrophobic bathroom. Good food and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjornarhuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed in this hotel 3 days on a business trip. Location of the hotel is excellent with being just next to Larvik train station. The main shopping area is about 15 min walk.

Room was very simple. Bed was very narrow but hotel is very clean. Choices for breakfast are rather modest. Unfortunately some of the cheese choices were rather old and dry.

In overall, it is a tree star hotel, no more no less!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baboo_ghotbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I have previously reviewed this hotel in May 2008. I have since stayed in the hotel several times. Larvik is not very big so there are not many hotel options. The Farris Bad is a great hotel but can be quite expensive. Trudvang Gjestegaard is also a nice hotel but not as close to the bus/train station as the Quality Hotel Grand Farris. I usually stay in this hotel for one night and choose it because it is convenient. The decor is still very dated. I last stayed in June 2011 and was given a room with two single beds which had a view of the carpark. I booked this hotel last minute and it cost just under £70 through Booking.com. I think this is a bit expensive for what you get however the other hotels were more.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muldr4Scly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed in Superior-rooms. They were quite spacious. Bed was excellent, but bathroom was not the standard I expected in a up-greaded room.

The conference-room was nice with windows. Service was OK, not great.

The Spa-department was great. We used the saunaguss. And it was really nice. Recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ghafsaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larvik
0.4 mi away
Farris Bad Hotel
Farris Bad Hotel
#1 of 4 in Larvik
1,143 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Wassilioff
Hotel Wassilioff
#1 of 1 in Stavern
142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trudvang Gjestegaard
Trudvang Gjestegaard
#4 of 4 in Larvik
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic
8.6 mi away
Scandic Park Sandefjord
Scandic Park Sandefjord
#2 of 5 in Sandefjord
571 reviews
14 mi away
Scandic Havna Tjome
Scandic Havna Tjome
#2 of 2 in Tjome
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Grand Farris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Grand Farris

Address: Storgata 38, Larvik 3256, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Vestfold > Larvik Municipality > Larvik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Larvik
Price Range: £97 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Grand Farris 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Grand Hotel Farris is situated in the heart of Larvik. From the hotel you can reach everything from trainstation, cinema, hearbour, beach, museums and shoppingcenter by walking approx. 5 minutes or less. The hotel offers a restaurant and a bar/lounge. Guests are served a complimentary breakfast each morning. Event facilities consist of conference/meeting rooms and small meeting rooms. The staff can arrange business services and currency exchange. Additional amenities include gift shops/newsstands, laundry facilities, and self parking. Quality Grand Hotel Farris has 90 guestrooms. Televisions are equipped with cable channels.Additional amenities include irons/ironing boards and trouser presses. All guestrooms at Quality Grand Hotel Farris are non-smoking. During sommertime we move our restaurant to PAKKHUSET nearby the waterfront! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Hotel Grand Farris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing