We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quality Hotel Grand Farris
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kong Carl(Sandefjord)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
63
62
82
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
62
82
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationnice hotelbig varietyhotel is locatedamazing breakfastbreakfast buffetspacious roombusiness tripreceptionistbalconywififurniturechannelswaterfrontconferenceseanok
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend while attending a handball arrangement at Larvik HK. The mothers stayed at the hotel, and joined the kids during handball practise once a day. We had read some reviews saying the hotel was a bit "run down", but we found the rooms clean, spacy and the common areas must have been redecorated during the last few years. It has an excellent location close to everything, right on the water opposite the railway station. The receptionist was most helpful with making a last minute restaurant booking on the Saturday, and we also got twin rooms on the higher floors as we called prior and asked for a quiet room. I must admit the doors and walls are a bit "thin" and you will hear the neighbours coming home from a late night out, but if you ask for a quiet room, they will put you in one. Breakfast was one of the best I have had in a Norwegian hotel! Lots of good stuff, nice healthy salads, greens, smoothie, etc. as well as the egg and bacon and traditional stuff, and presented nicely! The highlight of our stay! The value for money is excellent! Will stay there again if we go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you are a light sleeper! You will experience noise from the traffic outside.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my family for only one night on the way to Danmark. In advance, I was a little bit concerned about the room size, because we have 3 children. Fortunately, we got a quite big room. I think it was some kind of family room consisting of 2 parts. In one part there was a double bed suitable for parents and in another part there was a folding sofa that could accommodate 2 our older children. There were enough place for the travel bed for our youngest child.

The hotel looked somewhat "tired". No problem at check in or check out. The hotel has own parking, it costs 60 Krones per day. There is a fancy lift in the hotel, should be quite new compared with the rest. We ate dinner in the Pakkhus, hotels (?) restaurant located several hundreds meters away, at the waterfront. Ok food, but service was not impressive. Choice of food at breakfast was above the average, but I didn't taste a lot due to early ferry.
In summery, little bit tired hotel but quite ok for transit stay. Satisfied with size of hotel room. Nice staff in the reception. Breakfast seemed to be good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Axx75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The hotel is "worn". A bit outdated, no hangers for towels in our bathroom as they were all broken, toilet kept running all night long etc. Breakfast was good, but both mornings we stayed there they ran out of several items but did not refill, even though it was more than 1/2 hour till the breakfast ended.

We also had another issue: When we arrived at the room we realized we had been given a room with twin beds instead of the double requested. After a while they had it sorted out and gave ut another room with a so-called double bed - which was just two single beds put together. They kept sliding apart as well. Just not good enough!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dusin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Best hotel we stayed in on our 10 nights in Norway, and definitely not the most expensive. Wonderfully helpful staff, Hege a receptionist is delightful and her help booking a ferry, due to our lack of Norwegian was extremely kind of her. The rooms are large and nicely modernised with views over the sea, the restaurant on the pier is a lovely quirky place and has a lovely menu.
The breakfast was the best I have seen, so much choice from smoked salmon, fresh breads, best homemade strawberry jam ever, lots of cold meats cheeses, the list could go on. Just the best. We checked out hoping to squeeze our motorbikes on the full am ferry (had booking due to Hege for the evening one) but alas it was full. so we came back and they kindly gave us our room back and charged less than full for us to keep the room for the day.
A real gem, and a big thank you, I wish more hotels were like this

Room Tip: Facing the sea
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jewelly100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed only for one night on our way to Denmark. Nice hotel. Spacious and clean rooms. Staff were very helpful and service minded. Wouldn't mind staying there again.

We arrived late in the evening and left early next morning so we didn't have time to explore the hotel properly, but the impression were very good. Only drawback was the bar just down the street that made lots of noise until 2-3 AM.

Excellent breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrab78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews