We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sandefjord
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Good service and location. Included "vafler" in the afternoon. The evening meal was an ok cold buffet type with also a hot dish, which was soup one day and meat balls & mash another! Breakfast quite good. Our room was on the top floor and very hot with skylight windows. but, a fan was supplied. Location very good and overall a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Good view of the church from our 5th floor room but too hot in mid summer with no a/c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari-Ann N, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thanks a lot for your nice review, Carole!

Yes, this summer was really hot, and unfortunately we don't have AC in our rooms. Still, we hope you will visit us again, if you come back to our beautiful city :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Excellent service and location. Included "vafler" in the afternoon and evening meal. The rooms were surprisingly big for being ordinary single rooms. Nice atmosphere. We stayed for two nights during local classical music festival. We also found time for shopping and there are several unique stores.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Kari E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari-Ann N, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thanks a lot for your very nice review, Kari!

A very good thing about old hotels, is that the rooms often are bigger than normal. We hope you enjoyed both the festival and the shopping, in adition to our hotel :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Good Base. Basic Double Rooms & says what it does on the tin.

Comfy beds & Clean

The inclusive dinner was a little dissapointing, however we were tired & I only fancied a salad so my luck was in.

Breakfast buffet was good

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank EMMAJOJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari-Ann N, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thanks for your review!

We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Our eveneing meal buffet is an alternative to dinner, and not included in the rate - it's free of charge :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Excellent location and greate hotel, always coming back to this lovely hotel.
Greate big clean rooms and large bathrooms, comfortable beds and linen.
Good breakfast with lots of choices, vaffels and fruits in reception, evening meal with good choices, all included in roomprice.
No A/C, hot this weekend with this greate weather, but no problem, its a large outdoor terracce with nice furnitures to relax.
Will reccomend this hotel to all trevellers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back, no noice from the street in summer time....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnitaKnights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari-Ann N, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

WOW! What a wonderful review - thank's a lot! We're already looking forward to welcome you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We visited this hotel 3 years ago, and we were then a bit pissed at the staff there because they refused to upgrade us even though they had free rooms.
Now we had to book there again because the other hotels in the area were full.
They did not have familyrooms available so I had to book a standard room and got two extra beds trough email. These extra beds were very expensive.

The room was quite big though. The air inside and outside had the same temperature and it was impossible to cool the room down. This was not the fault of the hotel though. AC would have been nice, but only useful these 2-3 weeks during summer..

The evening meal was very good.. big plus there. Minus for starting breakfast to late.. 8am is way to late. We had to leave for the airport and decided against the emergency breakfast (dry bread with cheese and ham).

A better impression this time than last.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrondM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari-Ann N, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

We are really glad you think we have improved the last three years - we think so too :) we get fresh bread every morning, so the early breakfast is actually a good alternative, even without eggs and bacon. Try it next time, if you have to leave early. We wish you lots of wonderful summerdays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night on my way to Southern Norway. Good location in the city center, but you have to pay a small fortune in parking fees.

The reseptionist was extremely polite and helpful - should be an example for others.

The room was spasious with a large bathroom. However, no aircondition which was a pity as there was 30C outside.

At 0430 in the morning someone decided it was time to lay asphalt outside the hotel. I was furious..., as most of the other guests.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank TeoandTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari-Ann N, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your review with other! Both guests and staff were furious about the workers who started in the early, early morning... We are so sorry about this! And really happy that you even though enjoyed your stay here with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Excellent hotel, large nice clean rooms, good atmosphere. only ting missing was aircondition in the room. Good breakfast, in a very nice setting, with a lot of smaller rooms to eat in. A good Hotel, with very low prices

. Evening food and breakfast included

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Tommy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari-Ann N, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

What a wonderful review - thanks for sharing! We miss the AC too, but are really glad that's the only thing you were missing here :) have a wonderful summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandefjord
0.4 mi away
Scandic Park Sandefjord
Scandic Park Sandefjord
#2 of 5 in Sandefjord
561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kong Carl
Hotel Kong Carl
#3 of 5 in Sandefjord
138 reviews
11.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
#1 of 7 in Tonsberg
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Farris Bad Hotel
Farris Bad Hotel
#1 of 4 in Larvik
1,125 reviews
7.6 mi away
Scandic Havna Tjome
Scandic Havna Tjome
#2 of 2 in Tjome
177 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sandefjord Motor Hotel
Sandefjord Motor Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandefjord
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic

Address: Jernbanealleen 33, Sandefjord 3210, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Vestfold > Sandefjord Municipality > Sandefjord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sandefjord
Price Range: £111 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic is a homely hotel with an excellent location in Sandefjord town centre, 10 km from the airport. The hotel was built in 1914, and has since then played an important role in the history of Sandefjord. This was especially evident during the golden years of whaling, when Sandefjord grew to be the most important centre for whaling in Norway. Naturally they have chosen whaling as their historical theme, and throughout the hotel you will find displays, documents and showcases telling the story of whaling and its impact on the town and community of Sandefjord. The hotel invite their guests to help them selves to coffee and tea at all times, and wafles from 3-6pm. Eveningmeal is included in the roomprice from 6-9 pm everyday. The hotel has 109 comfortable rooms, 2 of which are suites with a fireplace and a jacuzzi bath. All rooms are spacious with minibar, TV, Wlan and private bathroom. Conference facilities The hotel has a total conference capacity of max 285 guests in 8 conference rooms. The largest conference room has a capacity of 90 (classroom lay-out). Recreational facilities You will find a gym, solarium, Turkish steam bath and sauna in the relaxing spa facilities. Location Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic is situated in walking distance from Sandefjord Railway Station and apx. 450 metres from the harbour. Leaving E-18: follow the sign to the railway station, turn right and continue one block towards the center. The hotel can offer indoor parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Sandefjord
Clarion Sandefjord
Sandefjord Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing