We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sandefjord
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We spent one night here this summer(2014). It was nice and clean and we especially enjoyed the free supper. The dining room was cozy and the selection was impeccable. The only thing to complain about was the lack of air condition. It was very hot outside and we weren´t comfortable having the window open, since it was possible for someone to get in. The hotel is located close to the city centre with shops, restaurants and playing ground.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Torunn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    155
    35
    22
    6
See reviews for
69
145
29
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is a Clarion Collection hotel, which means both an evening meal and breakfast is included in the room rate. There are also free norwegian waffles in the afternoon. The hotel has an interesting breakfast area in a maritime style. The hotel is actually a bit of a museum, showing many artifacts from the time Sandefjord was the whaling capital of the world. The stroll from the hotel to the restaurant pier is a lovely one. Sandefjord is a small town, and this hotel is in the middle of it. Our room was basic, but we slept well, as the hotel was very quiet at night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OsloKrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uccle, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel is very nice and very special environment, mainly for breakfast and dinner. Afternoon brunch is possible: you can make for free waffels and have coffee and tea. Dinner has a good selection of differet food and you can seat in a very special tables. The room is confortable, a bit too hot. There are several public parking aroud the hotel, easy to pay by credit card.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Chana-polpetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari-Ann N, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your nice review, Martina!

Yes, this summer was really hot... But wonderful too :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Good service and location. Included "vafler" in the afternoon. The evening meal was an ok cold buffet type with also a hot dish, which was soup one day and meat balls & mash another! Breakfast quite good. Our room was on the top floor and very hot with skylight windows. but, a fan was supplied. Location very good and overall a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Good view of the church from our 5th floor room but too hot in mid summer with no a/c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari-Ann N, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks a lot for your nice review, Carole!

Yes, this summer was really hot, and unfortunately we don't have AC in our rooms. Still, we hope you will visit us again, if you come back to our beautiful city :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brumunddal
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Excellent service and location. Included "vafler" in the afternoon and evening meal. The rooms were surprisingly big for being ordinary single rooms. Nice atmosphere. We stayed for two nights during local classical music festival. We also found time for shopping and there are several unique stores.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Kari E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari-Ann N, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks a lot for your very nice review, Kari!

A very good thing about old hotels, is that the rooms often are bigger than normal. We hope you enjoyed both the festival and the shopping, in adition to our hotel :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Good Base. Basic Double Rooms & says what it does on the tin.

Comfy beds & Clean

The inclusive dinner was a little dissapointing, however we were tired & I only fancied a salad so my luck was in.

Breakfast buffet was good

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank EMMAJOJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari-Ann N, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks for your review!

We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Our eveneing meal buffet is an alternative to dinner, and not included in the rate - it's free of charge :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Excellent location and greate hotel, always coming back to this lovely hotel.
Greate big clean rooms and large bathrooms, comfortable beds and linen.
Good breakfast with lots of choices, vaffels and fruits in reception, evening meal with good choices, all included in roomprice.
No A/C, hot this weekend with this greate weather, but no problem, its a large outdoor terracce with nice furnitures to relax.
Will reccomend this hotel to all trevellers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back, no noice from the street in summer time....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaKnights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari-Ann N, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
WOW! What a wonderful review - thank's a lot! We're already looking forward to welcome you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandefjord
0.4 mi away
Scandic Park Sandefjord
Scandic Park Sandefjord
#2 of 5 in Sandefjord
507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kong Carl
Hotel Kong Carl
#3 of 5 in Sandefjord
120 reviews
9.3 mi away
Farris Bad Hotel
Farris Bad Hotel
#1 of 5 in Larvik
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Skaergaarden
8.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Grand Farris
3.2 mi away
No photo provided
Sandefjord Motor Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandefjord
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic
Address: Jernbanealleen 33, Sandefjord 3210, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Vestfold > Sandefjord Municipality > Sandefjord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sandefjord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic is a homely hotel with an excellent location in Sandefjord town centre, 10 km from the airport. The hotel was built in 1914, and has since then played an important role in the history of Sandefjord. This was especially evident during the golden years of whaling, when Sandefjord grew to be the most important centre for whaling in Norway. Naturally they have chosen whaling as their historical theme, and throughout the hotel you will find displays, documents and showcases telling the story of whaling and its impact on the town and community of Sandefjord. The hotel invite their guests to help them selves to coffee and tea at all times, and wafles from 3-6pm. Eveningmeal is included in the roomprice from 6-9 pm everyday. The hotel has 109 comfortable rooms, 2 of which are suites with a fireplace and a jacuzzi bath. All rooms are spacious with minibar, TV, Wlan and private bathroom. Conference facilities The hotel has a total conference capacity of max 285 guests in 8 conference rooms. The largest conference room has a capacity of 90 (classroom lay-out). Recreational facilities You will find a gym, solarium, Turkish steam bath and sauna in the relaxing spa facilities. Location Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic is situated in walking distance from Sandefjord Railway Station and apx. 450 metres from the harbour. Leaving E-18: follow the sign to the railway station, turn right and continue one block towards the center. The hotel can offer indoor parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Sandefjord
Clarion Sandefjord
Sandefjord Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing