We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mediocre stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kong Carl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kong Carl
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sandefjord
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A mediocre stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Our room was in a separate building from the charming Norwegian house which is depicted on the website. It was next to the hotel's parking lot which remained noisy throughout the night. The room was adequate enough but the carpets on the floor and in the hallway were a little dirty. As we had to leave early for the airport we could not sample the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristaH262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    35
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
11
31
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corralejo, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Nice receptionist, upgraded us to a "historic room" In spite of the age of the hotel very modern, clean facilities .Free wi fi in the room, free breakfast and delicious complimentary homemade waffles and coffee in the evening. Only negative comments are: no early breakfast, (we had an 8 o-clock flight from Sandefjord Torp airport) and no free parking.
We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: choose a historic room! Very spacious rooms with nice furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SveinG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brokind
Level Contributor
116 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Not a modern chain hotel in any aspect but with very good and helpful service. This is a hotel situated in a charming old building with antique furniture and designs. Perfect choice if you like that! We certainly did. Conveniently situated in the center of Sandefjord. We were in our room, having parked our car and checked in, 15 minutes after leaving the ferry in Sandefjord harbor. Very clean and an excellent breakfast. Very nice and helpful staff. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
169 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

this is a charming hotel right in the middle of center. but when you decide to stay here
please remember that this hotel is very old and historic, so dont expect the same fasilities that you would on other newer hotels.

We loved to stay here and will come back

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I've spent 3 nights at the hotel in a very comfortable room. The breakfast was great and the staff was very helpfull. However the bathroom was very small. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the centre of town and folks there are very helpful. It is also 5 minutes walks from the trainstation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ixou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

This hotel is a small hike from train station but very handy for the centre of Sandefjord itself. From arrival you could tell that this was an old-fashioned place and when we saw our room we both thought it reminded us of staying with grandparents; old furniture, dated fashions etc but ultimately cosy, comfortable and welcoming! Our flight time prevented us from trying the breakfast. Overall, we actually quite liked this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosestreetboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

I love the Kong Karl. It is a 'historic' hotel which perhaps has seen better days, but if you want a taste of what life might have been like in the past then this hotel is for you. It is full of character and you really get a taste of 'old' Norway. If you want something more modern then the Rica Park is just across the way. It was designed by Arnstein Arneberg who also designed the Oslo Town Hall and the interior of the UN Security Council. The problem is that the world is littered with chain hotels, like the Rica Park, which all offer similar standards of service and facilities. The Kong Carl is different. You need the patience of Job to wait for the hot water. If you take on a budget room, then there might not be the room to swing a somewhat stunted kitten, let alone a full sized moggy. There is no evening restaurant but there are plenty of good eating opportunities in Sandefjord.
I had a lovely room at the front of the hotel and it is probably worth paying a little more if you really need some space.
The staff are attentive and friendly and the breakfast, while not the best I have had in Norway ( which oddly enough was at the Best Western West hotel in Skovveien in Oslo several years ago) was still very good.
I absolutely loved it but it may not be for everybody.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room in the older part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerBob8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandefjord
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic
0.2 mi away
Scandic Park Sandefjord
Scandic Park Sandefjord
#2 of 5 in Sandefjord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel Wassilioff
Hotel Wassilioff
#2 of 5 in Larvik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
No photo provided
Sandefjord Motor Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandefjord
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
9.1 mi away
Farris Bad Hotel
Farris Bad Hotel
#1 of 5 in Larvik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
11.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
#1 of 7 in Tonsberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kong Carl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kong Carl

Property: Hotel Kong Carl
Address: Torggata 9, Sandefjord 3210, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Vestfold > Sandefjord Municipality > Sandefjord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sandefjord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kong Carl 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Accommodation in Sandefjord, Norway. Hotel Kong Carl is an adornment to the center of the small town of Sandefjord. The building dates back to 1690, and by 1721 was already functioning as an inn. Today the Hotel Kong Carl is known for its homely and personal atmosphere. The hotel offers accommodation in 25 rooms all. Welcome to a unique historic experience in Southern Norway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kong Carl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kong Carl Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing