We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Updates But Not All the Way There”
Review of Hotel Kong Carl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kong Carl
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sandefjord
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Kong Carl, about 15 years between visits. The common spaces of the hotel have been renovated since our last visit and are quite charming. The breakfast room was lovely and the breakfast was excellent. Very typical Norwegian breakfast items with many choices that were pleasingly displayed. The location is excellent for exploring the city. I would say our room seemed a bit dated and sparse, especially the bathroom. It was a bit scary getting out of the tub. There was quite a bit of distance from the tub to the floor. I lost my balance and my shoulder fell into the wall, no grab bar, or bath mat. Could have ended badly. Hopefully, they plan to update the bathrooms in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

All in all a great stay - though my room was a little old - and not in the charming way. But considering the size, the location, the hotel atmosphere as such - it is a place I would visit again.
Breakfast was fine - without any surprises.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NielsM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

First (good) point : I've been upgraded, without asking for anything special. It's always pleasant to be treated as a regular customer, even if it was the first time !
Second (good) point : the receptionnist was very helpful, and opened the breakfast 30mn before the schedule, because of early train.
Third (good) point : rooms are clean, convenient, and very charmful.
Last (good) point : breakfast is top !!!
Definitely a good place to stay. Next time, I'll manage to stay there longer !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Groovemasterjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here the night before our flight out of Sandefjord airport, and wished we had stayed here instead of in Oslo over the weekend. This hotel had a great breakfast, friendly staff, warm rooms and lots of ambiance. The town was adorable too. Everything was within walking distance that we needed and wanted. 5 Star Recommendation!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I was greated by the receptionist on arrival, a quite empty place with no bar or restaurant, my room was unfourtenately in a annex with window toward the parking. This is a old hotel and i think the main buildning is nice to stay in. breakfast was very good in a cosy room.the staff is very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwedenMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I was disappointed that for what is supposed to be a decent hotel it looks great from the oustide but inside feels as though its last make over was several decades ago. I was in the anexe to the main hotel and the whole feel of the place was of a tired and worn building . THe curtains didn't fit and I needed the wondows open as was very warm so a poor nights sleep Reading the other reviews here it looks as though I didn't get put in a historic rooms which maybe a lot nicer...The only thing I did enjoy about my stay was breaskfast whjich was good with a wide variety of typical Norwegiand and European food on offer. Overall just diappointing stay in Sandefjord which is a lovelly town.

Room Tip: Avoid the anexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACL1473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

My second stay at the Hotell Kong Carl, and even better this time. They have done some work on the entry hall, very attractive. We were upgraded to a historic room at no extra cost, in the main part of the hotel. A lovely room and comfortable at the same time. Very comfortable bed. Modern bathroom with good bath products, including hair conditioner.
The last time I was there I stayed in an economy room in the building near the parking lot, and that was fine too, but there is a difference.
Free coffee and tea in the reception, free wifi.
5 minute walk from the train station. Quite near downtown and the port area.
The staff is friendly and very helpful.
Breakfast is outstanding in a formal dining setting.
An excellent place to stay for taking morning flights out of the Torp Airport.

I will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swimviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandefjord
0.2 mi away
Scandic Park Sandefjord
Scandic Park Sandefjord
#2 of 5 in Sandefjord
595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic
3.3 mi away
Sandefjord Motor Hotel
Sandefjord Motor Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandefjord
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Hotel Wassilioff
Hotel Wassilioff
#1 of 1 in Stavern
144 reviews
9.1 mi away
Farris Bad Hotel
Farris Bad Hotel
#1 of 4 in Larvik
1,186 reviews
17.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Asgardstrand
Grand Hotel Asgardstrand
#1 of 1 in Asgardstrand
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kong Carl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kong Carl

Address: Torggata 9, Sandefjord 3210, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Vestfold > Sandefjord Municipality > Sandefjord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sandefjord
Price Range: £89 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kong Carl 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Accommodation in Sandefjord, Norway. Hotel Kong Carl is an adornment to the center of the small town of Sandefjord. The building dates back to 1690, and by 1721 was already functioning as an inn. Today the Hotel Kong Carl is known for its homely and personal atmosphere. The hotel offers accommodation in 25 rooms all. Welcome to a unique historic experience in Southern Norway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kong Carl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kong Carl Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing