We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“meh....”
Review of Montalegre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Montalegre Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montalegre
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“meh....”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Ok. We booked just to see the region and have somewhere to drop our bags. We wanted somewhere basic and this was definitely that. Breakfast was pretty poor and the processed meats and artificial orange juice was expected for the cost this hotel. I'd stay there again if there was no other option.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    61
    57
    18
    8
See reviews for
63
74
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

The hotel is centrally located, close to the old town, the castle etc. in this quaint town. However, it is badly in need of minor repair in many areas - damaged walls, the pool access, the sauna etc. The fitness centre seems to be used strictly as a storage facility.
Our room, quite small, but adequate. Bathtub short, so not really suitable for the average North American male. We have been in 2 star hotels, here in Portugal, which are superior in every respect. Overall, disappointing and hardly worthy of the Quality Inn franchise.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braga, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

This hotel has a great view to the mountains near Montalegre. Good service and a fine restaurant with tradicional dishes at affordable prices. Avoid rooms near the restaurant because fans noises.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank v12ramo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almada, Portugal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2008

Second time in the hotel. It's very well located and the staff is friendly. The bedroom is wide. Very poor breakfast. The swimming pool was overcrowded with hidrogimnastics class. Since it is not a expensive hotel, people in general has no consideration for other guests - when returning to their rooms, late at night, people in general tend to act as if they're at home...noisy (especially children...running down the corridors and shouting...). For the price you pay there's other options in the region. Came back a second time but won't came back a third one.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariobvf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2007

THis hotel was a surprise.

I always leave my city during Christmas holidays, and I tend to go to cold and not touristic places. So, I decided to go to the North of Portugal, to Geres Natural Park.
This Park is something to die for, great landscapes, a visit to rural Portugal, lost in between civilisation.
And lost in it, was teh Quality Inn Montalegre. Montalegre is a small town filled with History and is the setting point to a number of natural paths that allow you to walk into the most natural places in this area.

The hotel is just great. Giant rooms, great closet space, TV satellite, air con. The breakfast is amazing with traditional products of that area, varied and fresh. The staff couldn't be more helpful. There is a large indoor swimming pool and you also have access to the sauna and jacuzzi, all free. There is a parking lot just outside the hotel.

If you want a cheap hotel but top notch acommodation in a beautiful place, go to the Quality Inn. You won't regret it . (ah, Montalegre is 5 km away from the border with Spain).

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shethinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ÓBIDOS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2006

I've been all over the word and I think I do recognize a good hotel
from would-be luxury candidates. I love going to Montalegre after the New Year frenzy, it´s so quiet, peaceful and beautiful! A bit too remote and uneventful for some people - very cold too in the dead of Winter! - but definitely worth the visit. The Quality Inn is a very interesting hotel. Far from being luxurious, it nevertheless transmits a sense of well-being: it has decently subdued furniture, it's confortable, staff members are nice without being intrusive and the indoor pool is a must. There´s no one there in January and you can watch the snow gently falling outside from a very stylish and warm pool. There's a kind of spa, too. Food is nice, but go somewhere else. Breakfast is anonimous and rather boring. They really must improve there. Good quality for money, beautiful setting, and a rather original option for a weekend or a few days off the beaten track.

Stayed January 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank LSR-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montalegre
17.2 mi away
Vidago Palace Hotel
Vidago Palace Hotel
#1 of 2 in Vidago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hotel Casino Chaves
Hotel Casino Chaves
#1 of 12 in Chaves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
17.5 mi away
Forte de Sao Francisco
Forte de Sao Francisco
#2 of 12 in Chaves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Avo Chiquinha
Casa Avo Chiquinha
#2 of 10 in Montalegre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hotel Rural Misarela
Hotel Rural Misarela
#1 of 10 in Montalegre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
8.6 mi away
Residencial Sol Rio
Residencial Sol Rio
#4 of 10 in Montalegre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montalegre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montalegre Hotel

Property: Montalegre Hotel
Address: Rua do Avelar 100 | Distrito de Vila Real, Montalegre 5470-235, Portugal (Formerly Quality Inn Montalegre)
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Vila Real District > Montalegre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montalegre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Montalegre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montalegre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Montalegre
Montalegre Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing