We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change the menu!!!”
Review of mamma italia

mamma italia
Ranked #25 of 427 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Change the menu!!!”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Had another pleasant meal here this evening ....we visit often....BUT... the menu has remained unchanged for A LONG TIME and, frankly, we're bored with it! The food is consistently good and the staff are excellent but we find ourselves ordering the same items each time we visit..... SO time for a change...wake up Mama Italia, don't rest on your laurels and change your menu REGULARLY......or you'll lose your REGULAR customers!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dennymenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    44
    5
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great family friendly restaurant”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

great food, very friendly staff and a real family friendly restaurant. I have been going here for some time now and it never lets me down.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I can't believe we've not tried this restaurant before. Myself & partner went to this restaurant at short notice last week, and although we could not get a table at the time we wanted (totally our fault as the restaurant was fully booked) we were offered a table at a later time and enjoyed a drink in the adjoining bar. On being shown to our table everything from there on was absolutely first class from the very attentive but not intrusive staff to the extensive menu catering for most tastes. All told, it was a very enjoyable evening and excellent value for money and we will most certainly be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GeoffandMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not disappointed!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

What more can I say? Good food, warm welcome, reasonably priced, fantastic atmosphere - will definitely be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pinksam8591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

You must try here its great. Tried here for my 40th birthday and we weren't disappointed. The food was beautiful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vikangus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed mamma italia also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to mamma italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing