We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Borneo Bistro

Borneo Bistro
Ranked #8 of 420 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Popped here for the first time on Saturday, the owner went out of his way to explain the menu and the food is lovely!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank listep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    46
    26
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Give the Guys a chance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Having seen so many positive reviews we headed for the Borneo Bistro for a takeaway buffet and were delighted by the quality and price of the food. To those reviewers who have criticised this place as not being a restaurant, blame Trip Advisor for their inane policy of classing every "Eatery" whether its Michelin 3 star quality or just sells bacon rolls as a "Restaurant"

The Wikipedia definition of a Bistro is " A small restaurant serving moderately priced simple meals in a modest setting". This describes Borneo Bistro to a "T"

So get a life you folks who have slammed the place, and judge it for what it is rather than what it isn't

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank expatpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious take away food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Go here regularly for lunch as I work around the corner. The staff are lovely.. always helpful, and the food is great. I would highly recommend the beef rendang!

Helpful?
2 Thank canttinkof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice food, but it's no restaurant.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We were intrigued to see what all of the fuss was about, so we visited one Saturday at about 12.30. The queue was out of the door as (whether you're eating in or out) you have to queue at the small food bar and order from there. We had to work this out after sitting at a table for 5 minutes waiting for some service!
There's lots of lovely food, explained in detail by the friendly staff. All of the meat we had was lean and high quality. Portions were generous and everything was clean, but it's not a restaurant - more like a takeaway with tables. I wouldn't hurry back, but my teenage son loved it and has had a couple of takeaways from there since our fact-finding mission.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrs_M_Sunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious food, so much choice and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The food and service here are both unbeatable, no matter how busy the shop is Kevin still finds time to go through what dishes they have on and ask about the family. The food is delicious, would highly recommend the Malaysian beef which far surpasses the same dish in any other restaurant I have been in, the prices are also great, can easily feed 7 people for under £30.
highly recommended, the whole family is now hooked!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Charletons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Borneo Bistro also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Borneo Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing