We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chuckle brother chefs” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai China - CLOSED

Thai China
Price range: US$10 - US$24
Cuisines: Brew Pub, Pub, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This Modern Pub, serves a blend of street food and traditional soul food.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Chuckle brother chefs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Many times I have used this hotel and restaurant until this week being a disaster. Tuesday on pasta night we ordered a spaghetti bolognaise which we were told the chef maybe too busy to cook it. Eventually we were told yes we can do it only to find it was not appealing, no garnish or anything to accompany it with and the water that came from it. Tonight being steak night we ordered mixed grills. What the hell came out was greasy and looked like something the homeless wouldn't dig into. My advice is sort your chefs out because the excuse that they are too busy is unacceptable because I'm a chef myself and have to cater for everyone no matter the numbers

Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    16
    8
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marmaris, Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

I visited with my partner and need I say the least it was terrible I received the wrong starter The waiter just blanked us throughout the night. I don't know if it was cause we were young or same sex couple but the blank looks and ignorance wasn't appreciated for the price we payed. I expect some sort of good service for the price they charge yet I received nothing of the sort. I had an empty glass sitting on the table from my starter being finish and with the waiter walking past more than 10 times I expected an offer for another but the glass just sat there throughout my entire main course. I am not happy or satisfied at this in the slightest

Helpful?
Thank Memery1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“ok ish”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

The place has a high finish of decore , a really classy feel. service is quiet good but the standard of food lets it down. A lot of catching up on its neighbour restaurant Italia.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Damian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gutted it's closed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

This was my favourite Thai food I had tasted. The portions were huge and the price was well affordable. I'm gutted it's closed, we have enough Italians in Sunderland but not enough Thai places to eat. Bring it back I say.....

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank livelifetothemax1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Thai China, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry for your disappointment. I must agree with your comments, however, we took the decision to close Thai China and revert the space into a function suite.

The demand for function space has intensified and we took the decision that the space would be better utilised to this use.

We still have our Tavistock Retro Italia and R Bar within the hotel that serves food. Our new bar menu that is due to be launched mid april, will feature some of our Thai dishes.

Once again thanks for your kind comments and we will hopefully see you visit our hotel again soon.

Kindest regards,


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Tavistock Leisure Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mum when's my dinner coming?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

Booked a table for 5 of us as it was my sons birthday. Arrived promptly at 7 pm. We ordered a mixture of banquets and meals. Soups arrived, the hot and sour prawn soup contained 1 prawn per bowl! Starters of thai fish cakes, rather on the small side. Then a mind numbing 45 minutes later the waitress offered us a round of free drinks as an apology for our wait, we were on soft drinks only so not a great deal. Another 15 minutes later about 9 pm we were served our main courses. No explaination about why there had been such a delay, the restaurant definately wasn't busy. Didn't even think about dessert! This has completely put me off this restaurant!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mumski_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Thai China, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry for the experience that you encountered. We pride ourselves on the high level of food standards and customer service we provide all of our guests. Sadly it appears that we have failed to achieve this on your last visit.

I have highlighted all of your concerns to both the Head Chef and Restauarnt Manager, who will fully investigate all of your points.

Once again my sincerest of aplogies.

Kindest regards,


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Tavistock Leisure Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai China also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
East Boldon, Sunderland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing