We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roker View Guest House
Ranked #8 of 16 Sunderland B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Very nice hotel, close to the water, in a quiet area, a short walk from the center of Sunderland, ideal for families, internet connection in room. I must commend primarily operational, Mr. owners to be very friendly, kind and professional behavior; any service for impeccable service.Super in summer and winter. I highly recommend this pension.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013

I came to Sunderland last march and needed a place to stay, came across the Roker View Guest House and ended up staying till febuaray 2013. I found the guest house to have a great location for walking into town, football and seafront and handy for public transport. The Landlord is a chef by trade so I always enjoyed a great breakfast each morning and he couldn't do enough for me. Home away from Home.

Room Tip: All good value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Stayed here whilst visiting family in August. Had family room at the top of the house, as our children are teenagers a larger sized room would have been beneficial. Breakfast was adequate. Host was friendly . This B&B offers good value for money, no frills accomodation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at Roker View and would recommend booking especially if you require accomodation for The Great Run, only a short distance from the Metro and in a very nice area close to the sea, the rooms are clean and spacious. Breakfast fine and filling.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRAHAM L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We travelled up from Bristol for the Air show.
The room was very competitively priced and we stayed in the top room which had a sea view.
Tony was very friendly and informative and gave us lots of info regarding our forthcoming C2C trip. He was always on hand for advice!
Breakfast was very good and facilities were clean and suited our needs.
Brilliant loacation as just a few yards to cycle through to the sea front.
Would recommend this to my friends and would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: The top room has a sea view - but only choose if you are fit enough to climb all the stairs :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed at this B&B for 3 nights and had a really good experience. The room was well furnished, well-equipped, very clean and comfortable. As my room was at the top of the house I had a good view of the surrounding area with a glimpse of the sea! I slept extremely well each night which is a measure for me of how comfortable I felt. The range of breakfast choices was extensive with juice, yoghurt and cereal followed by any combination of cooked items plus toast, coffee or tea. The landlord Tony was friendly and helpful. I would recommend this accommodation to anyone who wants a good priced, comfortable, happy stay in wonderful Sunderland!

Room Tip: I looked at the ground floor room which had a four-poster and was en-suite and room 6 which had a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

From the outset,The owner,Tony, was friendly and approachable. He gave excellent knowledge of where to go to eat and drink.The room was warm and comfortable and cleaned to a high standard.Tucked away from the main road kept things quiet for a great nights sleep.
The breakfast was well cooked and ample.
Definately worth a stay anytime. I will be back again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunderland hotels
0.2 mi away
Roker Hotel
Roker Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sunderland
98 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sunderland
753 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Chaise Guest House
The Chaise Guest House
#2 of 16 in Sunderland
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Balmoral & Terrace Guest Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roker View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roker View Guest House

Address: 2 Benedict Road | Roker, Sunderland SR6 0NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Sunderland
Price Range: £46 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tony and Karen would like to welcome you to our friendly guesthouse, located just off the sea front at Roker. We are minutes away for Roker and Seaburn Beaches, Sunderland's Marina, National Glass Centre, University,Empire Theatre and City Centre and near to excellent transport routes to Durham,Gateshead and Newcastle. The nearest metro station and the Stadium of Light are both within a ten minute walk.Roker View is a three storey Victorian terraced house. We have single, double and family rooms including en-suites with sea views and a ground floor superior room with four poster bed and mini refrigerator for special occasions. Each room is centrally heated and comfortably furnished with colour TV including digital free view,tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryer. Laundry, ironing, phone access and early morning calls available on request.Free WiFi is also available. On street parking is covered by CCTV at front and back of building. Cycles can be stored for Coast 2 Coast (C2C) travellers. Prices start at £25 per person per night and include a large full English breakfast. Vegetarian meals and packed lunches catered for if booked in advance.The is a good selection of pubs and restauarants in the immediate vacinity all offering good value food and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Roker View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing