We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roker View Guest House
Ranked #8 of 16 Sunderland B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The B&B was average, room 8 right at the top was clean but like a sauna, even keeping curtains closed the room became very stuffy, and to open the only small window was to scramble across the bed, creaky floorboards, having a fridge was a surprise but froze anything I put in there ruining some food as I was not aware how cold it was even on it's lowest setting, and drinks froze solid too, dining room was spotless and good choice of food, English breakfast ok,the B&B needs some TLC as wallpaper coming off walls and holes in wall where sockets were, nice touch with a water dispenser in the hall, needed it after climbing the stairs, being asthmatic got puffed, if I had known I was at top I would have asked to change but no one there when I arrived and had to sort myself out let myself in etc, did not see owner until breakfast next day

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mramallin, Owner at Roker View Guest House, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
We are sorry that this guest had problems with the heat in the room but we were having a great spell with the weather and as the room is on the top floor it was much hotter than normal- we have never had a complaint of this sort before. Our accommodation is over three floors, if the guest had made us aware of health problems on booking, we would never of placed them on the top floor, we have a downstairs room for that purpose that is highly suitable for people with either mobility or health problems.Had we also been aware that the stairs and the heat were a problem during the stay then we would of quite happily moved the guest to another room. We normally also endeavour to meet all of our guests on arrival as we do not live on the premises, however on this occasion we were at a wedding party and could not do so. The standard of our accommodation is very important to us and we can only apologise that the guest felt that they could not contact us on arrival to discuss the circumstances as all of our rooms have contact details, we then would of been able to deal with the concerns during the stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    16
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
19
11
11
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, England
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My partner and I stayed over night at the Roker View after deciding to make a night of it following a matinee show at the Empire.
The Room was perfect.
The breakfast plentiful and very tasty.
Tony, the owner, was very pleasant.
The place was spotless and well decorated.
I couldn't fault it at all.
A real gem of a guest house in a quiet side street near to the marina and seafront.

My partner and daughter are staying over for the Airshow....she can't wait to return!

Room Tip: For that extra bit of comfort....ask for room 1 with it's four poster bed....very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webbyj06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2013

A fabulous B&B. Stayed at Roker View on many occasions for my son to attend swimming competitions and originally chosen for its walking distance to the pool. Always warm, clean, comfortable and cosy with a fabulous cooked breakfast. Tony is always very helpful and friendly. We wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This is a real gem, thanks to trip advisor I found Roker View, This is not your average B & B, This is truly fantastic, very clean and comfortable room with great facilities, and a proper traditional English breakfast in a warm and friendly atmosphere, there is a mini supermarket and ATM (free to use) just across the road, and next door is a really good pub which is freehold and has Sky sports, I would not stay anywhere else when I am in the North East.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I spent five days in Sunderland at the Roker View Guest House and had a wonderful experience. Tony was very nice and helpful throughout my staying and even drove me to the train station the morning I left. What I enjoyed most was my cosy and superwarm room with a gorgeous view on the harbor. I loved waking up early in the morning and seeing the sunrise from my window. If you like watching the sea and taking long walks along the seafront, that's the place to go!

Room Tip: If too much light bothers your sleep, don't get a room with a view because you'll get a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 782ritaf782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I came to Sunderland on a 3-days business trip and picket the Roker View because of its location and it's fair price and i must say it went beyond my expectations! It's a very cute 3-floors guesthouse located just a few steps away from the sea. The place is safe, clean and tidy, breakfast is great and the owner is very friendly and helpful. Definitely a place i'd recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Very nice hotel, close to the water, in a quiet area, a short walk from the center of Sunderland, ideal for families, internet connection in room. I must commend primarily operational, Mr. owners to be very friendly, kind and professional behavior; any service for impeccable service.Super in summer and winter. I highly recommend this pension.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunderland hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Roker Hotel
Best Western Roker Hotel
#7 of 10 in Sunderland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sunderland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
0.2 mi away
The Balmoral & Terrace Guest Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roker View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roker View Guest House

Property: Roker View Guest House
Address: 2 Benedict Road | Roker, Sunderland SR6 0NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Sunderland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tony and Karen would like to welcome you to our friendly guesthouse, located just off the sea front at Roker. We are minutes away for Roker and Seaburn Beaches, Sunderland's Marina, National Glass Centre, University,Empire Theatre and City Centre and near to excellent transport routes to Durham,Gateshead and Newcastle. The nearest metro station and the Stadium of Light are both within a ten minute walk.Roker View is a three storey Victorian terraced house. We have single, double and family rooms including en-suites with sea views and a ground floor superior room with four poster bed and mini refrigerator for special occasions. Each room is centrally heated and comfortably furnished with colour TV including digital free view,tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryer. Laundry, ironing, phone access and early morning calls available on request.Free WiFi is also available. On street parking is covered by CCTV at front and back of building. Cycles can be stored for Coast 2 Coast (C2C) travellers. Prices start at £25 per person per night and include a large full English breakfast. Vegetarian meals and packed lunches catered for if booked in advance.The is a good selection of pubs and restauarants in the immediate vacinity all offering good value food and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Roker View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing