We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roker View Guest House
Ranked #7 of 16 Sunderland B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We chose to stay at Roker View after reading reviews and we wasn't disappointed. The room we stayed in with the four poster bed was so comfy and the room was clean and warm. The breakfast was excellent, Tony looked after us so well and we will be going back again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

I'm writing this while still staying in the guest house,my stay thus far has been fantastic,for the price I cannot complain,the room is good,nice and clean,I've slept like a log all week and no bad back from the bed unlike my own at home!. The breakfast is great and is served early which suits me for work. If I'm ever working in the area again I will not hesitate about booking again... Thank you for a great stay.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

A commendation from two seventy plus year olds, we have been visiting this area for well over 50 years on a regular basis staying in a variety of accommodation types. This year due to the nature of our stay we chose a guest house, 'the Roker View', a very wise choice as it turned out. Tony 'mine host' could not have looked after us better, going that extra mile in our opinion for the duration of our 5 night stay. We had the ground floor room thus avoiding any stairs, it was very comfortable and roomy with no noise at all from the adjoining hostelry, breakfast was superb as was the service. Tony and Karen deserve to prosper in this venture, adding those extra touches which make your stay all the more pleasant, 'a true North East welcome. A home from home for us and highly recommended, keep up the good work Albert and Cynthia, Dudley West Midlands.

Room Tip: For romantics choose room 1 with 4 posterbed and fridge, ideal for keeping the champagne in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed here from Fri 30th Aug to Mon 2nd Sept 2013. We were very late arriving on the Friday so our relatives had been to collect the keys from Tony so that we had no problems getting which all went without a hitch.
We stayed in Room 1 on the ground floor, nice sized with a four poster bed and shower ensuite.
On Saturday morning we were up early and Tony provided us with a huge breakfast, everything you could possibly want. If you leave here hungry its your fault !!
The B&B is perfectly located, in a nice quiet street, even though its next door to a pub we heard no noise at all. Handy cash machine and shop over the road, and the added bonus of free WiFi.
Would recommend this B&B to family and friends with no hesitation and would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Room 1 is on the ground floor with no other guest rooms next to it and right next door to the dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlegreybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

excellent rooms top rate food and hospitality clean and tidy the owner tony will bend over backwards to help any1 close to all amenities cash machine and lovely beach. i work locally and stayed here for over 3 months got to know tony well hes a respected person locally

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank will f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I did try to book one triple room for 9 nights on Roker View Guest House and the owners, advised about the requested room unavailability for one night. I did accept the lower room offer for that night. The asking price was GBP 65/night instead of the website displayed GBP 60 and GBP 57 for the lower standard room. NO discount available for stays longer than 5 days as website displays also. Requesting some explanation from the owners, they've replied that the website is 6 years old and discounts are applicable for stays longer than 7 days. However, I've decided to book it, and I did advise them to update the property website accordingly and, about some discount expectation for 9 days of stay. They've replied "if your going to take that atttude youe are better of going somewere else". Now I am puzzled: who's having the wrong attitude. Finally I did apologise if any wrong doing and I did cancel my booking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
5  Thank GIL28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Its been over a year since I visited here prior to this visit. Nothing has changed, Tony is still the perfect host, the house is still clean,very welcoming and quiet.
The rooms are ample and such a comfortable bed.
breakfast et again was cooked perfectly and was large .
Was a pleasure to return .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunderland hotels
0.9 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sunderland
756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roker Hotel
Roker Hotel
#7 of 10 in Sunderland
105 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Chaise Guest House
The Chaise Guest House
#2 of 16 in Sunderland
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Abingdon Guest House
The Abingdon Guest House
#8 of 16 in Sunderland
22 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lemonfield Hotel
Lemonfield Hotel
#1 of 16 in Sunderland
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roker View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roker View Guest House

Address: 2 Benedict Road | Roker, Sunderland SR6 0NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Sunderland
Price Range: £46 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tony and Karen would like to welcome you to our friendly guesthouse, located just off the sea front at Roker. We are minutes away for Roker and Seaburn Beaches, Sunderland's Marina, National Glass Centre, University,Empire Theatre and City Centre and near to excellent transport routes to Durham,Gateshead and Newcastle. The nearest metro station and the Stadium of Light are both within a ten minute walk.Roker View is a three storey Victorian terraced house. We have single, double and family rooms including en-suites with sea views and a ground floor superior room with four poster bed and mini refrigerator for special occasions. Each room is centrally heated and comfortably furnished with colour TV including digital free view,tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryer. Laundry, ironing, phone access and early morning calls available on request.Free WiFi is also available. On street parking is covered by CCTV at front and back of building. Cycles can be stored for Coast 2 Coast (C2C) travellers. Prices start at £25 per person per night and include a large full English breakfast. Vegetarian meals and packed lunches catered for if booked in advance.The is a good selection of pubs and restauarants in the immediate vacinity all offering good value food and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Roker View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing