We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roker View Guest House
Ranked #8 of 16 Sunderland B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best guest house”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I was very satisfied, very understanding and very friendly owner, speed of action, simply helpfulness and correctness. A pleasant environment for relaxation. Very good guest house.
I can only recommend it :-)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    19
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
21
16
11
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I have stayed here over several weeks while working locally and have found the rooms to be clean, warm and comfortable. The owner, Tony, is very helpful and provides an excellent full English breakfast, which makes a great start to the day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here to visit family & was very impressed..the owner was friendly, I had a very comfortable stay in a very good sized room & the roker view is highly recommended! Delicious full english breakfast! I would definitely stay again if i have to return to Sunderland.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Paulagama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here one night on the 9th of November for Sunderland Remembrance Weekend. I my self was a participant in the weekends events. After checking most of the local hotels for available rooms we had found most were fully booked up,emailed the Roker Guest house and recieved a swift reply to my enquiry for room availability. I then contacted them by telephone and booked a twin room. Arrived at the guest house late saturday afternoon and was pleaasntly suprised by the friendly welcome we were given by Tony the manager. After we checked in we were taken to our room. A very nice room indeed, very clean and great beds. The room was ensuite which was even better, bedding was crisp and fresh and clean. Shower was realy good with plenty of hot water. Later on the evening we left the guest house to go to the concert I was participating in at Seaburn. Returned to the guest house and had the best nights sleep in ages. Woke up the next morning and went down for breakfast. breakfast consisted of cereal, Maramalade on toast, fresh orange juice, realy good coffee and then a full english cooked breakfast with good portions. Again the breakfast area was well presented and very clean with good attention to the smallest of detail. We checked out pretty early as I had to be in the city centre for the Remembrance Parade. If you are planning on staying in Sunderland for business trip or just staying for pleasure and looking for a nice place to stay then I would book this Guest House.

Pipe Major Swainston.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pipemajorswainston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Always a cheery welcome and hearty breakfast. You won't be disappointed with the hospitality or accommodation; Tony has it sorted! Excellent pub next door, but no noise. The Tavistock Italia Retro Restaurant is only across the road and offers good food at reasonable prices. Looking forward to next years visit!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardmillan2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Yet another great stay at Tony's. We stay every year for the Great North Run as it is not in Newcastle but handy to transport. Tony is very accommodating and a great host - warm welcome, good food, clean beds, reasonable price - what more could you ask for? Will be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurfMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We chose to stay at Roker View after reading reviews and we wasn't disappointed. The room we stayed in with the four poster bed was so comfy and the room was clean and warm. The breakfast was excellent, Tony looked after us so well and we will be going back again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunderland hotels
0.9 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sunderland
728 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
April Guest House
April Guest House
#9 of 10 in Sunderland
44 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roker View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roker View Guest House

Property: Roker View Guest House
Address: 2 Benedict Road | Roker, Sunderland SR6 0NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Sunderland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tony and Karen would like to welcome you to our friendly guesthouse, located just off the sea front at Roker. We are minutes away for Roker and Seaburn Beaches, Sunderland's Marina, National Glass Centre, University,Empire Theatre and City Centre and near to excellent transport routes to Durham,Gateshead and Newcastle. The nearest metro station and the Stadium of Light are both within a ten minute walk.Roker View is a three storey Victorian terraced house. We have single, double and family rooms including en-suites with sea views and a ground floor superior room with four poster bed and mini refrigerator for special occasions. Each room is centrally heated and comfortably furnished with colour TV including digital free view,tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryer. Laundry, ironing, phone access and early morning calls available on request.Free WiFi is also available. On street parking is covered by CCTV at front and back of building. Cycles can be stored for Coast 2 Coast (C2C) travellers. Prices start at £25 per person per night and include a large full English breakfast. Vegetarian meals and packed lunches catered for if booked in advance.The is a good selection of pubs and restauarants in the immediate vacinity all offering good value food and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Roker View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing