We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai Manor Sunderland”
Review of Thai Manor - CLOSED

Thai Manor
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
north east england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thai Manor Sunderland”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Excellent food and great service again. Went on a Wednesday night with a Groupon. The prawn and chicken parcels and duck spring rolls for starters were nice. We had the mussaman curry and lamb in black bean sauce were also very tasty. Overall really tasty food and excellent value. Would highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eddik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    35
    14
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
509 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Booked for Saturday night with a groupon voucher and were the first to arrive, despite getting our arrival time wrong we were accommodated immediately, the prawn crackers on the table were lovely and the staff incredibly attentive, starters arrived quickly, we had chicken skewers with peanut satay and duck spring rolls with BBQ sauce which were gorgeous followed by lamb in Thai herbs with vegetables and rice and Pad Med Mamuang Hinmapan (I think) which consisted of chicken, cashews, peppers, mushrooms, water chestnuts & spring onions in a sweet chilli paste, (see images) it was incredibly well presented and tasted lovely, another enjoyable visit to a hidden little gem, by the time we left at 7.30 the place was a hive of activity which it rightly deserves to be based on the quality of the food provided.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharonJT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food, shame it's so quiet.”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Excellent food yet again at Thai Manor, it's a shame that the place is so quiet. We both had soup starters very tasty with good chilli kick. Poh tag and Tom yum gai. Mmmm. Mains of prawn gang mussaman - loads of flavour, really nice and duck gang pah, again very tasty if not quite as hot as expected, definitely not three chillies hot. also the duck was not up to its usual standard of quality. Overall very nice meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula-Mic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Went here with a voucher, easy enough to find, restaurant very clean and spacious, food was excellent, chicken satay followed by massaman curry which was probably the best I have had for a very long time. Partner had the jungle curry which was very hot and very authentic. Service could not be faulted we would definitely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Burnmoorcricketfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best in Sunderland”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Slightly biased review as I am a big lover of Thai food and I am very easily pleased but this has to be my favourite Thai restaurant in the North East.

Been here many times and the food is always great, never had a bad meal.

The lunch time and early evening specials menu is great value for money, its about £10 for a 3 course meal. Service is always quick and the staff are very friendly.

I have been a few times on an evening when the prices are at their highest. We averaged about £50 for 2 people which was starters, mains with rice (which is charged seperatley), desserts and drinks. For me, I am happy as this is what you expect is most restaurants of this quality.

Nice location as well, not right in the city centre where it would be quite busy but not out of your way.

would really recommend this place to anyone!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wglen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Manor also viewed

East Boldon, Sunderland
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
East Boldon, Sunderland
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing