We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”
Review of Queen Vic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Queen Vic
Ranked #14 of 16 Sunderland B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Visited the queen vic back in 2012 and didn't have such a great experience anyways I thought I would give it another shot and I am glad I revisited I took my mother there as they had a mothers day special menu on the food was excellently cooked and great value for money and the bar and function room have been refurbished to a very high standard the staff are very friendly and polite and the bar gives is such a comfy and relaxed environment overall I would defiantly revisit this establishment

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kyleburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielleQV, Manager at Queen Vic, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    11
    7
    3
    14
See reviews for
15
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My son and daughter in law surprised me on Mothers Day !!! We dined at the queen vic the food was beautiful thank you .Lovely surroundings obviously had been newly refurbished looked beautiful June Anderson

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 394june
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielleQV, Manager at Queen Vic, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you June, pleased you enjoyed your surprise for mothers day hopefully we ill se you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Visted the queen Vic twice since done up for drinks and food..

Can get special 3 course for £5.95 on lunch time or £6.95 on tea time, 4 choices for starters and a few main meals then ice cream or coffee for dessert... Then they have a normal menu which we selected as didn't want starters....

first time was fab, hubby had burger and chips, I had chicken soulvaki with salad and chips... All tasted yummy and homemade ..... Was really nice and was surprised how nice 10/10

Second time I got mixed fajitas but wasn't very impressed, tasted very powdery and as if spices not cooked out, not nice with a small salad, tortilla wraps and tasteless salsa and sour cream.. wasn't worth the price of £9.95... Making me doubt if would go back ... 3/10 for mine...
Hubby said his was lovely

Was really gutted as hate thinking pay for food and it's crap....
Think you need to really think at what u pick off the menu!!! Shame really....
Also when waitress cleared the plates she didn't ask if all was okay...don't like to complain but wasn't good to me, others may think it's nice but the fajitas certainly not!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlisonandTommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielleQV, Manager at Queen Vic, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
I apologise on your last visit our food and service wasn't up to our usual high standards, hopefully you and your partner will be joining us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I think this is a beautiful bar with friendly, welcoming staff and is in a great location just a 5 minute walk from the top centre shops. I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants a nice weekend away or even just a nice drink in the bar.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mad-geordies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielleQV, Manager at Queen Vic, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thanks for your positive feedback, we are pleased staff made you feel welcome hopefully we will see you again in the near future.

Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south shields
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Visited in a party of about 30 people and should have guessed what sort of meal we would
experience when we were all crammed into a space in which you could not leave the table
without disturbing about 5 other diners.This apart the meal took at least 30 minutes to arrive and
it was very poor quality.Having said that I think the waitresses were very pleasant,but this is one
restaurant I will be avoiding in future,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dyett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maz177, Manager at Queen Vic, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
We are really spry that on the occasion you visited our standards were not up to our usual high standards for which we do apologise. We have taken everything you have commented on, on board and have taken steps to rectify the issues you have raised in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sunderland hotels

UK
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

rude staff, bad food, not clean, it all looks quite shabby and old. as if it's a ghost building. it doesn't look well-maintained at all and we highly doubt the quality of the food there!!!!! overall: AVOID!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Guys - I use tripadvisor as a honest and useful guide for people hence the write up. I stayed there 2 nights but it was terrible! Its NOT a hotel - its a pub with a rabbit warren of rooms on top! As I walked to the room, I could smell ganga or skunk and then through unlit cooridors to a large room with no soap or chairs! Next morning I made my way out form the pub through a fire exit - no breakfast facility! When I got back, I found my room had not been done. I complained and they came to do it. I complained and did not feel that the money I paid was fair for what I got. they took some off. Overrall - they need to really appreciate that we are their guests and be treated as such. If you are a lone or female - don't stay there - I did not feel safe. Oh-see the attached picture of the stay on all night light in window - did not get sleep as room was well lit. I give up.

Room Tip: choose the Best Western about 500yards down the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iTravel4WorkD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunderland hotels
0.2 mi away
Roker Hotel
Roker Hotel
#7 of 10 in Sunderland
829 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sunderland
719 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
April Guest House
April Guest House
#9 of 10 in Sunderland
44 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lemonfield Hotel
Lemonfield Hotel
#1 of 16 in Sunderland
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Vic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Vic

Property: Queen Vic
Address: Harbour View Road, Sunderland, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Sunderland
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Queen Vic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Vic Hotel Sunderland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing